We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable bed and expensive parking”
Review of Thon Hotel Brygga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thon Hotel Brygga
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tonsberg
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Comfortable bed and expensive parking”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Spent two nights at Thon Hotel Brygga. The hotel itself was nice and the staff were very helpful. We really enjoyed the complementary coffee and cake in the lobby (five to seven).

The bed was very comfortable and I really enjoyed that the bed came with one soft and one hard pillow.

The parking was very expensive, I paid almost 220,- NOK each night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne6730, Manager at Thon Hotel Brygga, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for your resonse! I am glad that you enjoyed your stayt at our hotel and that you appreciated both our staff, the bed and the afternoon coffee especially. Regarding the prices on the municipal parking outside, we apologize, but unfortunately there is nothing the hotel can do! Welcome back the next time you visite Tønsberg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    77
    25
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
41
7
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Drobak, Norway
Level Contributor
334 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I had two days at Thon Bryggen.
The welcome was nice, the receptionit did what he could to help me with my wishes.
The rooms are not that good, they could need a upgrade.
Conference facilities was ok.
Lunsj was actually very good, and breakfast also tasted:)
Minus for expensive parking outside, schould have some kind of arrangement.
Big pluss for the location in the middle of "brygga" in Tønsberg.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joacimnorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne6730, Manager at Thon Hotel Brygga, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for your review! We have tried to get an arangement with the parking company, but with no luck. I am glad that you enjoyed the meals in our restaurant! Welcome back next time you visit Tønsberg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Good location. I can imagine it to be perfect on a nice summerday, with all the outdoor seatings and tourists crowding the board walk.
The hotel is clean and the breakfast is complete and fresh.
But the rooms are smaller than you would expect for the rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arno B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne6730, Manager at Thon Hotel Brygga, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for your response! Hope you enjoyed your stay in Tønsberg!? We appreciate that you liked the location, cleaning and our breakfast and welcome you back the next time you visit our beautiful city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The hotel staff was very pleasing and helpful all the time. Rooms were excellent and clean. Location I would not say pretty scenic but just on the banks of a river. Has got free wifi. Very near to train station, shopping mall and other restaurant. Breakfast buffet is complimentary and it was nice except for the same dishes everyday. Dinner was also excellent especially the cod. We tried all kinds of food as we stayed almost a week. Over all I would rate this hotel very good to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nagaraja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne6730, Manager at Thon Hotel Brygga, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you for your nice feedback. We particularly appreciate the fact that you enjoyed the food, cleaning and our staff! Welcome back the next time you visit Tønsberg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I stayed here while visiting a company in Horten (about 20km to the north). Locals suggested this place. (There are at least 4 hotels very close).
Friendly reception, rooms are clean and the hallways are in the style of a ship. There are a few restaurants along the water very close to the hotel. I stayed in the winter and was told it is a very pleasant walking area in the summer. Definitely a reliable place to say - with a reasonable breakfast

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perlfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne6730, Manager at Thon Hotel Brygga, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you for your feedback! Nice that you enjoyed your stay! Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 474 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Well located in town (2 mins from the train and bus station and shops), next to the harbour. Welcoming staff, very comfortable and clean room and very impressive breakfast with full choice as you would expect. Would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: A one overlooking the harbour offers a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jamsimsafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne6730, Manager at Thon Hotel Brygga, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Google Translation
Hei! Og takk for at du tok deg tid til å gi oss din tilbakemelding! Hyggelig å lese at du trivdes hos oss og spesielt at du var fornøyd med frokost og personale. Hjertelig velkommen tilbake neste gang du tar turen til tønsberg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

A bit expensive but maybe the best hotel in Tønsberg.
Quality level of the hotel is good as in all Thon hotels of th]is category.

I've found only good points:
- Everything is clean.
- Location is perfect - just at the city brygga where all the restaurants and everything are located. If you're lucky - will get the room with the nice view on water.
- Completeness of the rooms is very good - there is everything you can need for a stay.
- Hotel personnel is very kind and helpful.
- Breakfast is good as in all Thon hotels and the view from the restaurant is impressively beautiful.
Can say that the most thing I'd liked - floor with warming in the bathroom. When the weather is really bad - it helps to warm up :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ketlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne6730, Manager at Thon Hotel Brygga, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Google Translation
Takk for hyggelig tilbakemelding! Spesielt hyggelig at du likte både frokost og service. Vi har stort fokus på dette om dagen, så hyggelig at våre gjester er fornøyd! Jentene som vasker setter utrolig pris på din tilbakemelding om at hotellet er rent! Ønsker dere en fortsatt fin høst og hjertelig velkommen tilbake til oss her på Thon Hotel Brygga!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tonsberg
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
#1 of 7 in Tonsberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Klubben
Quality Hotel Klubben
#2 of 7 in Tonsberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
12.6 mi away
Scandic Havna Tjome
Scandic Havna Tjome
#2 of 2 in Tjome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Asgardstrand
Thon Hotel Asgardstrand
#1 of 1 in Asgardstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
11.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic
20.3 mi away
Farris Bad Hotel
Farris Bad Hotel
#1 of 5 in Larvik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Brygga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Brygga

Property: Thon Hotel Brygga
Address: Nedre Langgate 40, Tonsberg 3126, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Vestfold > Tonsberg Municipality > Tonsberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tonsberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Brygga 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Brygga is a small Bed and Breakfast hotel centrally located on the waterfront in Tønsberg. Many shops and swimmingspots, as well as Slottsfjellet, are within walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Brygga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Tonsberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing