We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, uncosy hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Klubben
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tonsberg
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Really nothing is good and worth of paying even 1 dollar for a night in this hotel. You won't feel welcome, room was not clean, tv did not work, breakfast not very good. Checkout at 11! No safe in the room. Air-condition is very loud and you cannot do anything about it, like switch it off. In my opinion hotel's name is misleading.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 8,182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette C, General Manager at Quality Hotel Klubben, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay in our hotel. This is absolutely not exceptable and I truly appologize. I have never ever received this kind of feedback and I wonder if you actually have been to this hotel?
I would really appreciate if you could contact me so we can go through this together.
This is so far from how we want to be conceived and we take this very seriously.
Hope to hear from you.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2012

We've stayed for a week at this hotel. With the exception of the reception area and the bath rooms, the hotel is a bit on the old-fashioned side but it was the 'cheapest' we found in the area. Given that almost all other hotels in the vicinity were asking for double the price, we expected worse but were pleasantly surprised.
Breakfast which was included in the price was excellent. There was a wide variety of food to choose from which should suit everyone's tastes. The room was clean, the bed very comfortable and the shower quite spacious.
The only missing item which we would have found convenient was an electric kettle. Truth be said we did not ask for one and I'm sure it would have been provided (hopefully free of charge) if we had bothered enquiring.
All in all, we would recommend this hotel even because it is so very close to the shopping centre yet located at a strategic position overlooking the harbour. Being so close to the bus and train station (10 min walk) is also a plus point.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the harbour's view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnalisaScerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

You expect a certain quality when the name of the hotel contains "Quality", but this place is lacking it all. Dirty and very run down rooms, beds with no springs, sound carrying through the hotels concrete construction and the somewhat robocop friendliness of the reception.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpskaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette C, General Manager at Quality Hotel Klubben, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback after your visit to our hotel.
I am truly sorry the stay with us did not meet your expectations. You are right it is an old building but we continuously upgrade and take maintenance seriously.
If your room was not clean I can only appologize because this is not our standard.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to discuss the matter.
Hopefully you will give us another chance to show you we can do so much better.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Recently spent a night at this hotel whilst working on the Slottsfjell music festival.

The room was acceptable, furnished as one might expect of a hotel in this bracket - not fancy but nothing to complain about. Flat screen tv and a sofa. There was a nice view across Tønsberg (room on the 5/6th floor.) WiFi worked well. Free for me but not for a non associated guest.

The lady on the reception desk was pleasant as was the girl working the restaurant where breakfast was served. This breakfast was quite good with a wide choice of items.

I didn't pay for the room but I've checked out the price. You can expect to pay around 1200NOK (£120/$160) for a double room. That would be expensive for what you get most places in the world but this is Norway. Newsflash - everything is expensive here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supadappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Hotel Klubben turned out to be a very nice venue for our conference in August this year. Our conference room had all equipment needed and the staff was very helpful and service minded in accomodating any extra needs we had.

The atmosphere in Klubben, and in Tønsberg overall, is very nice and they have a great restaurant with good food. Rooms are spacious and nice and the location of the hotel is excellent.

However Klubbens biggest asset is a very service minded and friendly staff and you feel really welcome as a guest.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Øystein G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We had a big room with a very nice view over Tønsberg. The Hotel is nearby lots of restaurants and shops. Nice location and friendly staff. Good value for the money!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thoeneie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Stayed at Klubben for the weekend. Enjoyed excellent food in the restaurant and experienced excellent service. The room was big and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiger98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tonsberg
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
#1 of 7 in Tonsberg
626 reviews
0 mi away
Thon Hotel Tonsberg Brygge
20.4 mi away
Farris Bad Hotel
Farris Bad Hotel
#1 of 4 in Larvik
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Wilhelmsen House
Wilhelmsen House
#4 of 7 in Tonsberg
20 reviews
11.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic
0.3 mi away
Tonsberg Vandrerhjem
Tonsberg Vandrerhjem
#1 of 4 in Tonsberg
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Klubben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Klubben

Address: Nedre Langgate 49, Tonsberg 3126, Norway (Formerly Rica Klubben Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Vestfold > Tonsberg Municipality > Tonsberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tonsberg
Price Range: £96 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Klubben 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel Klubben reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn tønsberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing