We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Klubben
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tonsberg
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
“Charming hotel”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

To me price, food, service and cleanliness is the most important when staying in a hotel. All these elements are more than satisfying at Klubben. Location is also perfect, and I find the old-fashioned style charming. It tells me that this hotel has a history.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    85
    62
    27
    10
See reviews for
26
87
15
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Hotel Klubben has a history to its name as the place to stay in Tønsberg. This aspiration has now left the hotel. It is matter of fact and somewhat worn. We had a spacious room, but the size of the bathroom was shockingly small. Balcony facing the quay, but a lot of heavy traffic in the road blow. How come?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thauken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Really nothing is good and worth of paying even 1 dollar for a night in this hotel. You won't feel welcome, room was not clean, tv did not work, breakfast not very good. Checkout at 11! No safe in the room. Air-condition is very loud and you cannot do anything about it, like switch it off. In my opinion hotel's name is misleading.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 8182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette C, General Manager at Quality Hotel Klubben, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay in our hotel. This is absolutely not exceptable and I truly appologize. I have never ever received this kind of feedback and I wonder if you actually have been to this hotel?
I would really appreciate if you could contact me so we can go through this together.
This is so far from how we want to be conceived and we take this very seriously.
Hope to hear from you.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naxxar, Malta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We've stayed for a week at this hotel. With the exception of the reception area and the bath rooms, the hotel is a bit on the old-fashioned side but it was the 'cheapest' we found in the area. Given that almost all other hotels in the vicinity were asking for double the price, we expected worse but were pleasantly surprised.
Breakfast which was included in the price was excellent. There was a wide variety of food to choose from which should suit everyone's tastes. The room was clean, the bed very comfortable and the shower quite spacious.
The only missing item which we would have found convenient was an electric kettle. Truth be said we did not ask for one and I'm sure it would have been provided (hopefully free of charge) if we had bothered enquiring.
All in all, we would recommend this hotel even because it is so very close to the shopping centre yet located at a strategic position overlooking the harbour. Being so close to the bus and train station (10 min walk) is also a plus point.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the harbour's view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnalisaScerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillesand, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

You expect a certain quality when the name of the hotel contains "Quality", but this place is lacking it all. Dirty and very run down rooms, beds with no springs, sound carrying through the hotels concrete construction and the somewhat robocop friendliness of the reception.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpskaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette C, General Manager at Quality Hotel Klubben, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback after your visit to our hotel.
I am truly sorry the stay with us did not meet your expectations. You are right it is an old building but we continuously upgrade and take maintenance seriously.
If your room was not clean I can only appologize because this is not our standard.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to discuss the matter.
Hopefully you will give us another chance to show you we can do so much better.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Recently spent a night at this hotel whilst working on the Slottsfjell music festival.

The room was acceptable, furnished as one might expect of a hotel in this bracket - not fancy but nothing to complain about. Flat screen tv and a sofa. There was a nice view across Tønsberg (room on the 5/6th floor.) WiFi worked well. Free for me but not for a non associated guest.

The lady on the reception desk was pleasant as was the girl working the restaurant where breakfast was served. This breakfast was quite good with a wide choice of items.

I didn't pay for the room but I've checked out the price. You can expect to pay around 1200NOK (£120/$160) for a double room. That would be expensive for what you get most places in the world but this is Norway. Newsflash - everything is expensive here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supadappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asker, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Hotel Klubben turned out to be a very nice venue for our conference in August this year. Our conference room had all equipment needed and the staff was very helpful and service minded in accomodating any extra needs we had.

The atmosphere in Klubben, and in Tønsberg overall, is very nice and they have a great restaurant with good food. Rooms are spacious and nice and the location of the hotel is excellent.

However Klubbens biggest asset is a very service minded and friendly staff and you feel really welcome as a guest.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Øystein G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tonsberg
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
#1 of 7 in Tonsberg
550 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thon Hotel Tonsberg Brygge (Brygga)
6.1 mi away
Thon Hotel Asgardstrand
Thon Hotel Asgardstrand
#1 of 1 in Asgardstrand
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Scandic Park Sandefjord
Scandic Park Sandefjord
#2 of 5 in Sandefjord
507 reviews
12.7 mi away
Scandic Havna Tjome
Scandic Havna Tjome
#2 of 2 in Tjome
159 reviews
11.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Klubben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Klubben

Property: Quality Hotel Klubben
Address: Nedre Langgate 49, Tonsberg 3126, Norway (Formerly Rica Klubben Hotel)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Vestfold > Tonsberg Municipality > Tonsberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tonsberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Klubben 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel Klubben reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn tønsberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing