We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not think about it” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Havariet

Havariet
Ranked #4 of 72 Restaurants in Tonsberg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$38
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Scandinavian, Norwegian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lillestrom, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Do not think about it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Trying to have a good time with friends we stopped at Havariet (The casualty) for a beer or a drink. We got our well priced drinks, sat outside and where happy until the wind started blowing. They got windows to protect you and we wanted to close a couple of them just to protect against the wind. In the meanti¨me one of the friends bought a new drink mixed with cola. The cola was withaout any bubbles, but they refused to accept this and di not refund it or give a new drink. The windows where opened again by a waiter who probably had lemon or something else tasting sour. No smile, no excuse and now thinking about protecting the costomers from the wind. We went and will not visit again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 50_years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    110
    29
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hvasser
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Havariet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Nice place with outside tables and a view on a pier. Lovely atmosphere inside. Good food and friendly service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Valnika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Outstanding food and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We visited Havariet Saturday 06/7 and had a exquisit meal. The meat melted in our mouths, even the well done steak. The deer was magnificent.

Helpful?
Thank Vidar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonsberg, Norway
1 review
“Favorite place to eat on "brygga"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

As I live in Tunsberg, I happen to know many favorite places, but Havariet is where we (friends) often go for lunch or dinner when we want to sit and have a view over the harbour. If it is cold outside, there are heater lamps on the terrace. A place to go to throughout the year.

The variety of small dishes and salads makes it easy to find something for everyone, with nice portions making it quite affordable. I love the chicken fajitas..The service is friendly and relaxed, but when it is very busy, it can take some time to get the attention of the waiter/waitress. Anyway it is a nice place to be, even just for a cup of tea.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HeGeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
114 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Overprized, popular place. Poor food. Good for beer on a sunny day.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is an expensive place that offers great view of the bay, but the food is rather overprised and boring. What is problematic to some, is that this place, alike many Norwegian restaurants, has a small variety in beer on tap. In summer you might struggle to find a table here, because it is very popular. The beer is amongst the country's most expensive. The - mostly Swedish - waitresses arealways kind and smiling.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Norjanpoika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Havariet also viewed

Tonsberg, Tonsberg Municipality
Tonsberg, Tonsberg Municipality
 
Tonsberg, Tonsberg Municipality
Tonsberg, Tonsberg Municipality
 

Been to Havariet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing