We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Telemark Canal-Skien to Dalen”
Review of The Telemark Canal

The Telemark Canal
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Skien
Certificate of Excellence
Smyrna, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Telemark Canal-Skien to Dalen”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Reading the reviews on here and knowing we were a five minute walk from the departure in Skien we decided to "go all the way!" It was the first trip of the season and a band played at our departure. The weather was bright and sunny and the scenery was from a fairy book. The locks were very interesting and believe it or not manually operated. Funny but it wasn't till the third lock we realized it was the same crew from lock to lock operating the gates! When we got to Lunde all but two passengers and us got off. From there to Dalen it was like a private ship and the Steward gave us blankets so we could sit outside and enjoy the scenery. It wasn't cold but the wind was nippy. Ronny and his assistant in the Food and Beverage department were great and had all kinds of tips for our future travel. There were more bands and speeches from mayors at more stops along the way and upon arriving in Dalen the band played and everyone was given flowers by girls in native costume as we exited the ramp to our awaiting car to the hotel.
The hotel was all that we read and more. Food of a five star restaurant with great service and a chef who came out and made himself known and shared travel stories. That was a new experience for us and we took a long walk after to ease some of the guilt about indulging in such a large dinner. Village is quaint and picturesque. If you are game and have daylight hike up to where the sisters lived who are pictured on the tourist office door. It isn't far but quite steep so you will need sturdy shoes or hiking boots. The bus ride back to Skien the next day was promptly ontime and picked us up at the hotel door. The switchbacks in the beginning on a bus were not what one is accustomed to when they are from a land below sea level. Bus driver enlightened us with the correct pronunciation of Skien which sounds like "schan."

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank RoyalKitty51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    29
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Short trip with Skarsfos (boat) from Skien to Skotfos”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We chartered the Skarsfos (one of the channel boats) for a short cruise from Skien to Skotfos for my daughter's confirmation party. It was only a short trip, but it was a very nice trip indeed. The view is awsome, The skipper/owner (Asbjørn Lia) is a very knowledgable guide and a good host. After the trip we stayed in the boat for dinner, which was also very nice :-)

This was a good day in all ways, and certainly a venue I can recommend to others.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank la3lma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
965 reviews
435 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 745 helpful votes
“Wish we could have done the whole thing!”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This was a major activity on my wife's wish list, and it was just as good as we read/heard/expected. First, the price was, in my opinion one of the most reasonable in terms of what we got in return for anything we did in Norway. Second, everything we were told to expect, happened as advertised. We showed up at the dock in Skien at the indicated time and parking was plentiful. We got a parking pass in a second, and waited for boarding. Boarding was at the appointed time, as was departure.
As we had been advised by a friend, we got on as quickly as possible - without running over anyone - and got to the bow area on the upper deck. Now, it was a little chilly and damp, having rained before dawn, but trust me, if it isn't unbearably cold or actually raining, get the bow seats! They have blankets, and bringing a rain jacket is usually a good idea. We had the best seats in the house, and enjoyed every minute.
It remained overcast and damp until we were halfway across Lake Norsjo. Then the sun gradually came out and the ride after Ulefoss was sunny and pleasant. At the Eidfoss locks, passengers are given the opportunity to disembark for a hike along to the Vrangfoss locks. My wife took the walk while I stayed onboard. It gave some unusual opportunities to get photos of each other.
The lock operations were interesting and, all too soon, we arrived at Lunde, where we got off. We had to get on with our trip, but we both would have loved to do the rest of the canal to Dalen. For those who consider the leg of the canal from Lunde to Dalen, keep in mind that there are only three more locks, in two locations, so the bulk of the trip is lake and river cruising. We'd do it, but some people are more interested in the locks.
Scenery was great, and it was supplemented by pre-recorded PA narratives that were very informative and were in Norske, German and English.
We went down to the forward dining salon for Norwegian waffles and jam, and it was really enjoyable.
At the landing at Lunde, you can get a bus back to Skien (I think you have to arrange it before leaving Skien (Nkr 150). It is actually about 200 meters from the dock, but there are signs and it's a pleasant walk.
This was really worthwhile, and I hope to return for the rest of the cruise.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank HowlnBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havant, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“No boat at the quay”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We saw a lock in action but had no time unfortunately to take the boat up the canal; however, we visited the arrival point at Dalen, which was also a bit of a non event (apart from the beautiful hotel there is nothing there.). The Norwegians don't make enough of their heritage assets.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LOUIE787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Explore it by kayak or canoe.”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I've spent many weeks exploring the canal between Lunde and Dalen and I would say it is my favourite place on Earth.

The best way to see it is by canoe and there are plenty of places to camp along the way. During the evening you stand a good chance of encountering beavers, whose dam are apparent throughout the canal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ben_Cornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Telemark Canal also viewed

Skien, Skien Municipality
Skien, Skien Municipality
 
Skien, Skien Municipality
Skien, Skien Municipality
 

Been to The Telemark Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing