We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Skien
Certificate of Excellence
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“central location”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Very pleasant hotel in what is a bit of a hotchpotch town. Reception staff very pleasant; room clean and comfortable but the window faced a wall! We arrived past 6 pm and, after a long drive, much appreciated the 'light supper' which in fact turned out to be a generous cold buffet. This is worthwhile taking into account whilst travelling in Norway where restaurant prices are considerable (at least for average British travellers like us). Just a pity the car parking was expensive - in a public car park round the corner.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOUIE787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorEivindLine, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear LOUIE787,

Thank you for your nice review. We appreciate it.

Unfortunately some of the rooms face the rock wall at the back of the hotel. I would suggest to request one of the rooms facing the river next time you visit us.
It is nice to hear that you liked the complimentary light evening buffet.
Our hotel offer about 20 parking spaces free of charge on a "first come, first served" basis. All spaces were probably already taken by the time you were here.

Hope to see you back at our hotel some time in the future.

Best regards,
Tor Eivind Line
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    100
    40
    13
    5
See reviews for
44
64
14
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Good location, quiet. Comfortable room with a balcony overlooking the water but unfortunately we couldn't use as it was raining and windy. The breakfast buffet was good. With the high price of food in Norway, the free evening buffet was a welcome option. The hot food was mediocre but we enjoyed the bread, salads and cold meats and cheeses. The free waffles in the afternoon were a nice treat too. We were lucky to get one of the free parking spots.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Zedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorEivindLine, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Zedtraveller,

Thank you so much for your nice review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
You are welcome back anytime. And hopefully next time the weather is more cooperative so that you can use the balcony.

Best regards,
Tor Eivind Line
General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Forget about the free parking. Its only some few spots and it is always filled up. I had to pay 100 nkr in a neighbourhood parking.

The gym is a joke. The hotel wrote about weights at their website. Well....it is only two of them and they are only 1 kg each. I got thrown out of the gym and had to quit my treadmill workout because they closed at 23pm. I asked why....no answer, just a mean looking guy who told me to get out.

The breakfast is ok, but the worst I have had at a Choice hotel. And I am gold member with a lot of both business and leasure stays every year in Scandinavia.

The maid did not clean my room properly.

Stay away from this hotel if you can. Much better Choice hotel in Langesund, only 20 minutes from here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgentXc70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorEivindLine, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear AgentXc70,

Thank you for giving us feedback from you stay. I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations.
The hotel has 20 parking spaces free of charge for hotel guests. This is quite much for a downtown hotel of 100 rooms. It is not possible for us to guarantee a parking space for all guests, especially not when the hotel is fully booked.
Our fitness room is not fully equipped. We have now removed the information about free weights on our website. Due to security matters our fitness room is open until 11pm. The opening hours are listed on a sign just outside the door.
We normally receive a lot of positive feedback for our breakfast and room cleaning. But sometimes things can go wrong. We have gone through our routines to make sure that all service concepts are being followed.
I really hope that you will consider to try our hotel again sometime in the future.

Best regards,

Tor Eivind Line
General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Was stayed at this hotel several times during my work around Dalen. Overall from the room and service was very good and the location was great, huge parking lot so easy for me to found park for a large working van, close to the water/pier, fresh air and very good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nohero_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you for your nice review and I'm happy to hear that you had a nice stay here with us at Bryggeparken.

We look forward to wish you welcome back the next time you visit Skien!

Best regards,
Johanna Hellström
General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bollington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Lovely little hotel with a homey feeling. It's very anonymous with only a small sign outside so it was a little difficult to find. I stood right outside and didn't realize it at first.. :) Inside is a warm and cozy atmosphere with staff that makes you feel welcome. The evening buffet is varied so even if you don't like the warm food you can get your fill on different salads and bread. There's also a room with a fireplace that is just the perfect place to relax with a cup of tea or coffee - they provide it for free :)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front were a little noisy on weekend nights. Be sure to check out the fitness room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tesche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review and I'm happy to hear that you had a nice stay here at Bryggeparken. I'm so pleased to hear that you experienced a homey feeling - our goal is that all of our guests should "feel at home" when staying with us.

We look forward to welcome you back the next time you visit Skien!

Best regards,
Johanna Hellström
General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arendal, Norway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Best in town. Good service, nice staff. One of the better small hotels in southern-Norway. I use it every time when i Skien, and that is often. My staff use it also every time they are at work i Skien. This is a place I highly recommend,

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lunsjmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to rate us on Tripadvisor! I'm happy to hear that you are frequently staying here at Bryggeparken, our frequent travelers are so valuable for us and we always strive to make your every day a little bit better and for you to feel at home here.

We look forward to welcome you back and your staff the next time you visit Skien!

Best regards,

Johanna Hellström
General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agder
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2012

As a frequent traveller and guest at this hotel, I realize I should have written a review earlier, but anyway: this place has everything you can ask from a descent hotel. Wonderful staff ! Torill, Silje and the other girls in the reception are proffesional in every aspect, and they make you feel at home the moment you enter the door. Plus, they seem to be able to provide "that little extra" .
Rooms are clean, comfortable and well appointed. Descent breakfast, free evening meal and afternoon coffee with waffels, cake++.
Without a doubt the best hotel in the region.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony. They are popular, so book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin3357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skien
0.1 mi away
Thon Hotel Hoyers
Thon Hotel Hoyers
#2 of 5 in Skien
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotell Dag Bondeheim
Hotell Dag Bondeheim
#3 of 5 in Skien
31 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotell Fritidsparken
Hotell Fritidsparken
#4 of 5 in Skien
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Skaergaarden
4.8 mi away
Hotell Vic
Hotell Vic
#1 of 1 in Porsgrunn
69 reviews
22.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken
Address: Langbrygga 7, Skien 3724, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Telemark > Skien Municipality > Skien
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Skien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing