We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best staff ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Skien
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

One week at this hotel and you really feel like home. The staff is so helpful you almost forget that you are in Norway. The hotel offers free waffles every afternoon and free dinner if you are too tired to go to a restaurant.
The rooms are tidy and neat, though the interior could use an upgrade soon. Every thing else is super duper!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whatimean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorEivindLine, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Whatimean,

Thank you so much for your kind review. Our main focus is to provide good service and make our guests feel as if they are at home.
It is also nice to hear that you appreciated our concepts with waffles and evening buffet. These concepts are available at all the Clarion Collection hotels within Scandinavia.

Hope to see you back in Skien some time in the future. You are welcome back anytime.

Best regards,
Tor Eivind Line
General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

Nice Hotel, with nice rooms.(several with balcony), but its the atmosphere that strikes you. The uniqe staff, and the overall "welcome home" feel you get when you just enter the door to the hotel. For me, the clarion collection hotels are my home away from home. Only so much more comfertable. But don't let yourself fool. They are as professional as any other full service hotel in the world. Only so much better when it comes to hospitality.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
1  Thank Stig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorEivindLine, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Stig R,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review.
Your words are really warming us during these cold winter days. It is very inspiring to hear that our staff give you a comfortable home away from home feeling.
We look forward to see you again soon.

Best regard,
Tor Eivind Line
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I do use this hotel regularly 30-50 times each year for business purposes and only sometimes for leisure. Nice clean rooms, nice staff and complete breakfast. Recommendable.
Perfectly situated for leisure travels on "The Telemark Canal - one of the most beautiful waterways in the world"

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geir J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorEivindLine, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Geir J B,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review and share your experiences from our hotel. It is always nice to have you here as a guest. You are more than welcome every time.

Best regards,
Tor Eivind Line
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Travelling as an actor all over Norway and all over the word i enjoy only the best and the ebst of the best from people and beds and service. Dont we all.....at Clarion Bryggeparken in Skien the friendly staff in the reseption is only the start of the best! Thank you for many great night in your Hotell. Rune Temte, Norwegian actor

Room Tip: higher up is best!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rune t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorEivindLine, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Rune,
Thank you so much for the nice review.
Hope to see you back soon. You are welcome anytime.

Best regards,
Tor Eivind Line
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

hotel is in a good location and i found that the staff were helpful they even lent me an iphone charger . Clean and comfortable. food was ok usual cold buffet but good quality . Price for Norway is standard . i had no problems with parking .

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorEivindLine, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Nick T,

Thank you so much for your nice review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel here in Skien.
Hope to see you back some time in the future.

Best regards,
Tor Eivind Line
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

They have parking, just not as convenient as we would have liked. The space we found was at the back of the hotel, but you can't enter the hotel from the rear for security reasons. It would seem to be worthwhile for them to look into a back door that can be opened by room key.
There appeared to be several rooms with views, but not ours. It was a shame, as the hotel fronts on the river
Other than that, this was the perfect hotel for our needs. It was easy to find, convenient to the Telemark Canal, and easy to find our way out of town when we left.
The lobby is modern, open, airy and clean, and the desk clerk greeted us immediately. Throughout our stay, she and her co-workers were pleasant, professional and helpful.
Our room was a clean, quiet and pleasant double with the surprise of a bathtub! We didn't especially want a tub, but it was the first we had seen in a Norwegian hotel.
The hotel offers a complementary "light" hot and cold evening buffet. With a number of traditional Norwegian offerings, it was anything but light, and we didn't need to bother getting anything else for dinner.
The breakfast buffet was similarly varied Though not the biggest we had seen on our trip, it was plenty and good.
This is probably the best bet for lodging in Skien, especially if you plan on a Telemark Canal cruise, which is about a five minute walk away.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the river, ask for it.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowlnBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorEivindLine, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear HowinBubba,

Thank you for giving us feedback from your stay.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, and that our staff took good care of you.

We will look into the possibility of installing a room key card reader at the back door.

Hope to see you back some time in the future.

Best regards,
Tor Eivind Line
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I had one of the best experiences staying at this hotel. The price is reasonable, the views are pleasant, the staff is super friendly and they feed you constantly. We had a balcony room over-looking the water. It was a bit noisy at night as the room is directly over some bars and restaurants however, you have to expect that due to the location of the hotel. Free coffee/tea all day, waffles at 3:00 PM, free dinner, free breakfast. These elements are non-existent at most hotel chains around the world and it was refreshing to stay at a hotel that offered this. You can walk to the shopping center, bars and restaurants. The only suggestion I have for this hotel is to re-open the spa/sauna/steam room. For some reason, these were all closed. I checked out the spa facilities and they looked really nice, not sure why the hotel choose to close this down. But other than that, everything was amazing and it was great staying here. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorEivindLine, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear kristin r,

Thank you so much for your nice review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We have recently had some extensive technical challenges with the jacuzzi and steam bath in the relax & fitness department. We are working on finding a solution to this.

Hope to see you again some day.

Best regards,
Tor Eivind Line
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skien
0.1 mi away
Thon Hotel Hoyers
Thon Hotel Hoyers
#2 of 5 in Skien
182 reviews
14.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Skaergaarden
0.3 mi away
Hotell Dag Bondeheim
Hotell Dag Bondeheim
#3 of 5 in Skien
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotell Fritidsparken
Hotell Fritidsparken
#4 of 5 in Skien
16 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotell Vic
Hotell Vic
#1 of 1 in Porsgrunn
74 reviews
22.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken

Address: Langbrygga 7, Skien 3724, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Telemark > Skien Municipality > Skien
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Skien
Price Range: £100 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing