We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Budget Hotel Kristiansand
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Budget Hotel”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Me and wife was there friday 04.07 for one night. Was greeted at reception by two polite boys.
A little too much noise and loud music at night.
Alot of young people that night. Was going too Denmark in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayemaker E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rasmus M, General Manager at Budget Hotel Kristiansand, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello Hayemaker E,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel! I am happy to see you were satisfied with the service during your stay. As to the noise: during your stay we had a music festival downtown, and this naturally brings both people and loud music. I still hope we get to greet you once again, preferably during a less noisy stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    29
    22
    17
    12
See reviews for
17
23
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bryne, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel has just what you need at a very low price, as long as you know what you can expect at this price: a nice bed, towel, your own bathroom and wifi. The personnel was helpful, pleasant and polite. It is located right at the city centre, next door to the train station, but I didn´t experience any disturbing noise during my stay, except from the hallway early in the evening (It wash´t a problem. I just thought I should mention it). I think I´ll probably stay here often when I´m in Kristiansand just because I appreciate the place so much.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rasmus M, General Manager at Budget Hotel Kristiansand, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Hello Anne E.

Thank you very much for your great review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and that you intend to come back when in Kristiansand again. I am looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonsberg, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I was staying at Budget hotel from 28th to 29th of April, one night. It was unexpected that I had to make the bed on arrival. I knew there was no breakfast service in advance, I think the price is expensive compared to other hotels. +++ The hotel has a large car park (fee public parking), a few minutes walk to the city center Markens gate, bus and train station. Hotel is centrally located in Kristiansand.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pål K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rasmus M, General Manager at Budget Hotel Kristiansand, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hello Pål K.

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. In response to your comment I would like to point out that we try our best to communicate our product through every channel. Both our website and external booking channels therefore contain information about our hotel and our routines to avoid surprises. I hope we can welcome you back next time you are in town.

Thank you again for taking the time to comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Budget Hotel Kristiansand maybe looks strange and you could think that it might be loud because it is situated next to the railway. But it is not true. It is quiet. Me and my colleague stayed there for two nights. Everything was perfect! Staff is very helpful The only thing I missed (or maybe did not saw) is a coffee machine, specially when you need to leave early when everything is closed. Other than that I would recommend Budget Hostel Kristiansand if you happen to stay in this "super small town" (direct words from the receptionist).

Room Tip: I think any room would be good, because Hotel is very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaijaMuceniece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rasmus M, General Manager at Budget Hotel Kristiansand, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Hello Maija,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write an informative review. We truly appreciate the feedback. I hope we get a chance to welcome you back if you visit Kristiansand again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asker, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Short distance to the ferry,
Very good service at checkin.
No problem to sleep both for me and my partner.
No restaurant, but not needed as we had a dinner with some friends in private.
Will not hesitate to book here next time I need.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SigmundNylund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rasmus M, General Manager at Budget Hotel Kristiansand, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Hello Sigmund,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We would love to welcome you back to Budget Hotel Kristiansand the next time you are in town. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel is clean and warm. I'm not sure if I'd stretch to comfortable. Located in a car park at the top end of a small town the location is fine for most things but it's not really 'close' to much?? Further more you do have to pay to stay in the car park!

In all honesty it may be one of the worst value hostels I've ever stayed in however the alternative accommodation is even more outrageous!

It is at least clean...

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mac_in_a_sack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rasmus M, General Manager at Budget Hotel Kristiansand, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Michael T!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am truly sorry that it did not meet your expectations. We take pride in being a cheap, clean and efficient hotel with great emphasis on service. I believe we offer great value for money compared to our competitors in the area. We are, however, a budget hotel, and therefore lack some of the amenities of more expensive alternative accommodation.

Again - thank you for your response. I hope we get the chance to welcome you back the next time you are in Kristiansand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kristiansand hotels

Opava, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We used this hotel for 1 night stay in Kristiansand before our morning ferry trip to Denmark. At the reception we were given all instruction how to proceed with early morning check-out and about late night entry to the hotel. We have been already informed before that we would have to make up our bed in hotel room, so it wasn't surprise at all. Our hotel room was equiped with double bed, shower/toillet and that was all what we needed. Hotel is close to ferry terminals and you can easily walk to the centre of town in 10 minutes. Car parking is possible for fee on the public parking lot in the front of the hotel and it doesn't cost too much. This hotel is very usefull for short stays, don't expect too much - it is much more something like motel constructed from converted containers. Good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zbyněk N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rasmus M, General Manager at Budget Hotel Kristiansand, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your kind and informative review of our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kristiansand hotels
0.1 mi away
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
#5 of 19 in Kristiansand
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
#3 of 19 in Kristiansand
557 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sjoglott Hotel
Sjoglott Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kristiansand
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Ernst
Clarion Hotel Ernst
#4 of 19 in Kristiansand
611 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Norge
Best Western Plus Hotel Norge
#7 of 19 in Kristiansand
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Hotel Kristiansand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Hotel Kristiansand

Property: Budget Hotel Kristiansand
Address: Vestre Strandgate 49, Kristiansand 4612, Norway
Region: Norway > Southern Norway > Vest-Agder > Kristiansand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Hotel Kristiansand 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Kristiansand with 100 meters to ferry, train, bus and city centre. We are the cheapest accomodation you will find in Kristiansand and our rooms are spotlessly clean. Free WIFI included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Budget Hotel Kristiansand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrum Motell Hotel Kristiansand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing