We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Haven't eaten like this anywhere else in Norway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maltid - CLOSED

Maltid
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scandinavian, Norwegian, Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Here at Måltid we love to surprise our guests. Inspired by the Nordic kitchen and based on natural and locally sourced ingredients, we aim to create new, exciting and clean tastes.Nature decides our menu. Therefore it changes according to the seasons and the access to fresh produce. The wine menu is tailored to suit the dishes, but we also have a separate wine list for you to choose from.You are most welcome to pop in and have a drink at the bar, enjoy some light meals or chose all the dishes on the menu. The choice is yours!
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Haven't eaten like this anywhere else in Norway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Dining at Maltid is a taste explosion.

We went for the full 8 courses plus wine selection. These came with 5 mises en bouche and 2 digestif dishes. It was not cheap, but it was worth it.

The service was attentive, the food was overwhelmingly wonderful, and the wines. Oh, the wines! Since moving to Norway I have often yearned for fine wines in restaurants. I found them at Maltid. Given the quality (and the cost of buying wine in Norwegian restaurants), the 'vinpakker' offered at Maltid are very reasonably priced.

What makes Maltid excellent is not just the locally, ethically produced food, but the thoughtfulness that goes into the flavour combinations. The chefs should be proud. The presentation and service do justice to the food.

Go with an open mind and a hunger for good things. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALTID R, Eier at Maltid, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Kate M,

Thank you!
We really appreciate good reviews!
We are working really hard to give our guest an experience not only good food. So thank you for enjoying our work :)

Have a good easter!

Yours sincerly,
Linn Mjelde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    18
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Like brown cheese served on a stone infused with pine-tree? Dine here.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

The thyme has a pedigree to show to, the stones on which food is served on are seemingly hatched out from Erik the Reds own private mountain, and the pine-tree ice cream tastes like... pine tree. My pallet at least, does not care for brown-cheese infused fish deconstructed with red tea leaves and local crab filled with hoof- reduction. Just because it´s different and exotic, does not make it tasty no matter how extravagant and exotic they make it sound or how adventurous they make you feel. They´ve been on TV. And in Norway, that´s quite something.

The deer they serve, for example, is bred. Meaning bred, like on a farm, behind a fence! Just… how is does that match the "authentic, using local environmentally friendly ingredients"- image?

We asked for some eco-meat. No options. The vegetarian among us was served the blandest mushrooms he´d ever had.

And the prices are juuuuuuuuuuuuuust thievery. Even for upscale dining. In Norway.

Our waitress was a russian model who spoke neither English or Norwegian, moved like a robot. And if you DARE ask for something a little different, like "why would you serve in-bred deer and moose instead of real game meat?" Or "why does this clam come with goat cheese from France instead of Norway?"They will just ignore you.

They won't hear your real questions. Because some famous people were there once and said it was so extravagantly great, so they now they can. Because it´s Måltid. If Janteloven was a person, this would be his restaurant of choice.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Cee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALTID R, Leder  at Maltid, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Cee F,

Thanks for your review, we appreciate all kinds of feeback we can get. It is the only way to get better.

Anyway, in this matter we wish you at least could be honest. The dishes explained is nothing we have ever served in our restaurant. Yes, we have served both brown cheese and pine-treee ice cream, but never in combination with fish. Red tea is not used in our restaurant at all because of the use of only Norwegian products, the same with French cheese.
Neither do we have models hired as waitresses, russian or not. I could go on...

We understand our restaurant was not for you, but your review is not very polite and I can not take it serious.

I hope you are honest in the future.

With Regards,

Linn Mjelde
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Norway?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Excellent local food, great service and warm atmosphere. Certainly the best restaurant, by far, in Kristiansand maybe even in Norway.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALTID R, Leder  at Maltid, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Kyllen,

Thanks a lot for your great review!

Welcome back any time :)

Yours sincerly

Linn Mjelde
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Maltid is my favourite restaurant without question.
Delicious, seasonal and locally sourced food perfectly matched to a wide selection of fine wines or beers.
A regularly changing menu with fabulous in between course treats and extras. Even the homemade bread and local butter is devine...
To top this the service is outstanding. The waiting staff have a genuine interest and passion for the food and drink they are serving and it is not surprising that one of their staff recently won Norway's young sommelier of the year.
Any visit to Kristiansand should include a visit to Maltid. As locals we are extremely proud to of this restaurant. It is a truly fantastic experience to go there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Funkiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALTID R, Leder  at Maltid, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you, Funkiem,

We are looking forward to seeing you again:)

All the best,

Linn Mjelde
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

One of Norways celebrity chefs considered this restaurant to be among the top ten best i Norway.
It is simply wonderful; food, service and atmosphere adds up to a very special evening. Go there!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HiBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maltid also viewed

Kristiansand, Vest-Agder
Kristiansand, Vest-Agder
 
Kristiansand, Vest-Agder
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing