We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding vacation place for groups and families”
Review of Scandic Sorlandet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Sorlandet
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
“Outstanding vacation place for groups and families”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We met with a group of friends from Europe and the USA. Everything possible was done to help us have a good time, good food and special things to make our group feel special. We also noticed the nice things they did for children staying at the hotel also. Although there were many other groups and families there at the same time they did not interfere with our group at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjh30242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    75
    82
    48
    31
See reviews for
155
19
7
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I will highly recommend staying at the Quality Hotel & Resort in Kristiansand. We were in a group of 40 women and felt well taken care of the entire time of 4 days. Very warm atmosphere with numerous meeting rooms and sitting areas. The rooms were very clean with heated bath room floors and comfortable beds. The breakfast buffet was enormous with lots of different kinds of fish, breads, fruit, omelettes, etc. Children must like the ample play area in the basement. The pool is heated. The friendly staff made all the difference with their constant smiles and willingness to accommodate us. Management and staff were introduced to us. They even surprised us with a special cake they had prepared for our last gathering.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from entrance may be quieter when windows are open
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I took my 1.5 yo and 4 yo to Dyreparken. I initially want to book and Rica hotel, but unfortunately they are fully booked. So, the only choice is Quality Hotel which is the next closet hotel to the park. The room is quite small as we expected. The basement playroom is a big hit for our kids! They love playing there as much as the park! The breakfast is superb, too much choice to choose from! They even has hot buffet which is indeed a lunch menu for me! The crowds is about average, when I pass the Rica hotel the parking lot is full there.... If I will go again, I would choose Rica which is just at outside the entrance to Dyreparken and looks modern and new.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

Easy to reach, close to Kristiansand. Rooms Are very clean but not modern. The bed is luxury. Quiet rooms. Small bath. Funny smell in halls and hotelroom. Stale? Dampens the overal impression from 4 to 3.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night and that was one night too long!!!! Starting with the positives, the rooms were clean and there was ample parking. The reception staff were freindly and got us to our rooms quickly and efficiently, unfortunately thats where the positives end! The restaurant staff are awful and service is not in thier vocabulary! They were informed of our arrival and were not ready for our 7 o'clock booked dinner, they were only gong to serve a 2 course meal instead of the 3 courses that were ordered. once they had argued for a while they conceaded to serving 3 courses. They had been told about dietry requirements in the group 2 hours before the sitting, one being an allergy to fish, not only ignoring these requests when they served a rather late fish soup for a starter they forgot about the lady with the allergy! The waiting staff were only interested in selling glasses of wine at £10 per glass!!! there as no sense of any customer care from any of them, the duty manager when confronted went into the kitchen to gee things up but alas 2 hours later still no desert! Breakfast was just as bad, earwigs crawling out of the cereals, coffee machine not working and poor service! I would rather sleep rough on the street than spend another night in this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eurotraveller262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kristiansand hotels

Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Goodness this hotel was busy, we had stayed at a sister hotel in Oslo, the difference was remarkable, from the reception we got on arrival to the room that we eventually got. Like chalk and cheese with the Kristiansand losing out to it's Oslo sister. Whilst I admit that we got to check in very early 1:00 we were told that normal checkin was 3:00 please could we come back, we did at about 2:30 hoping that our room would be ready. at 4:15 we got the keys to our room this was our sixth hotel room in 8 nights, the smallest of them all, smaller than the Ibis that we had stayed at previously on our trip. So small that the double bed was pushed up against the wall! However the rest of the stay was good the food and service in the resturant was very good, we were travelling as part of a group and a special effort was made to start breakfast early (very gratefull) so that we could get to the ferry on time, the breakfast was good and plentifull all in all a good hotel but very busy and parking is a problem.

Room Tip: No ideas here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank middle53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

As with most Quality Hotels, the rooms are excellent and comfortable and the quality of the food served is good.
However this hotel, particulary in the summer months, appears to cater for families and children and the hotel staff have a lot of events organised to keep children entertained and amused. There is a Zoo right next door to the hotel. Sometimes you find the hotel pool is closed as it is being used for childrens activities.

I understand the town/port of Kristiansand has a lot to offer the tourist who wants to explore further, but I and my friends were just staying one night before catching the ferry to Denmark.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik N, General Manager at Scandic Sorlandet, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you so much for taking your time to inform us about your stay.
It is with pleasure we read your comments, and you have so right. During the period you where staying the hotel focuses on children and their families. We have a wide program for the kids and everything ends between 2300 - 00.00 every night. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and we wish you and your family a continuos good vacation.

Yours sincerely

Erik Nordahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kristiansand hotels
0.6 mi away
Dyreparken Hotell
Dyreparken Hotell
#6 of 19 in Kristiansand
445 reviews
5.6 mi away
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
#2 of 19 in Kristiansand
614 reviews
6.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
#4 of 19 in Kristiansand
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Ernst
Clarion Hotel Ernst
#3 of 19 in Kristiansand
633 reviews
6.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Norge
Best Western Plus Hotel Norge
#7 of 19 in Kristiansand
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Sorlandet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Sorlandet

Property: Scandic Sorlandet
Address: Travparkveien 14, Kristiansand 4636, Norway (Formerly Quality Hotel & Resort Kristiansand/Thon Hotel Sorlandet)
Region: Norway > Southern Norway > Vest-Agder > Kristiansand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Sorlandet 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Sorlandet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kristiansand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing