We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite "Quality" standard” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thon Hotel Sorlandet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thon Hotel Sorlandet
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Kristiansand
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not quite "Quality" standard”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

First of all, this hotel is located right next to Kristiansand Zoo and Amusement Park, and its main audience is probably park visitors and families. You should know this beforehand, as it may very well affect the general atmosphere of the hotel. Additionally, it works quite well for conferences and meetings. I was there for a day meeting, but stayed overnight.

The hotel is slightly worn down. Although the hotel was nowhere near full booked, I was given a ground floor room with an extra bed instead of a room more customized to me as a solitary guest. I don't know if all their rooms have extra beds since they probably have many families, but it made the room look a bit like a storage facility. The furniture was 90s cottage pine, and the bed only average.

The service staff were impeccable, but there was no hotel service brochure in my room, so I had to ask about all hotel amenities.

The worst part was breakfast, though. It gave a distinct impression of a hotel that tries to save money on everything, even when compromising service levels. There were way fewer alternatives to choose from than what I am used to on similar hotels, and the alternatives were cheap. The only available fruit and vegetables were four-five large bowls of cucumbers, tomato boats, peppers, melons and grapes, and rather indelicately provided. Various kinds of spread: ham, salami, cheese looked like it had been thrown on the serving tray in chunks from industry packages. They had "run out of" two types of milk. I had to avoid one milk dispenser because it looked like it hadn't been thoroughly cleaned. And I cannot understand why some hotel insists on mixing egg and bacon. Some of us wants our eggs without pork. I realize this hotel is part of the "resort" product line, but this is not Quality hotel standard.

Although my ratings does not include the dinner in the hotel restaurant the night before, I have to mention it since the hotel restaurant doesn't have its own entry on Tripadvisor. I would have given this dinner a 1 point rating. This despite the fact that the service staff were nice - they were only not very competent. They gave the wrong kind of red wine (cheaper than ordered - and, as it turned out, paid for), didn't know what beers were available, etc. Worse, though, was the food. I ordered a medium steak, it was served medium rare, with two slices of squash and a salsa which also included squash - all indelicately mixed together in an ordinary brown sauce which in the menu was called "pepper sauce" and which probably could have worked with another composition of vegetables. There were no potatoes or bread mentioned or offered, and the water tasted like it had been standing in a room for many hours. Extremely weak on a Friday night with rather few guests. And, oh, it was ridiculously expensive.

Am I impressed? That would be a lie. Was it disastrous? I've had worse.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kjartana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik N, General Manager at Thon Hotel Sorlandet, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking your time to rank us on Trip Advisor.
Quality Hotel & Resort Kristiansand focus on good service experiences to all our guest, and we see that we failed with you. We are very sorry for your experiences, and we can assure you that steps have been taken to avoid that other guests feels the same.
Thank you so much for telling us, without your comments we can never improve our service standards.
Wis you a great summer, and do hope that you will come and visit us again next time you are in Kristiansand.

Yours sincerely,

Erik Nordahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    65
    74
    47
    30
See reviews for
132
14
5
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Klofta, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

The restaurant and kitchen offers nice meals and good service. Rooms are a little "old fashioned" and worn, but clean and comfortable. The hotell is located close to an amusement park, and it is a perfect place to stay for family holidays.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank OlaSkynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik N, General Manager at Thon Hotel Sorlandet, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank You so much for taking your time to evaluate us on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. Quality Hotel & Resort Kristiansand focuses on that every guest have good experiences with us during your stay.

This year we are changing all our beds in the hotel, including bedcovers - pillows and duvet's. We hope that this will help our guests to have an even better sleep.

Again, thank you so much for telling us your experiences with our hotel. We do hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Erik Nordahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Close to the airport, and cheap. Ok, free parking... Little old fashion rooms. I just wanted to sleep for some hours before a morning flight, and the hotel is good for that. Too far from the city if that is what you are looking for.


  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank pappa1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik N, General Manager at Thon Hotel Sorlandet, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you soo much for taking your time to evaluate us on Trip Advisor.

Very happy to see that you enjoyed staying with us. Quality Hotel & Resort Kristiansand focuses on good guests experiences for all our guests during their stay.

This year we are changing all our beds within our hotel, including bedcovers - pillows - duvet's. We hope that this will increase an even better sleep for our guests.

Again, thank you for your comments, without them we cannot improve our level of service.

Yours sincerely,

Erik Nordahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed in the Quality Hotel & Resort Hotel in Kristiansand. Very Nice traditional hotell just 10 minutes outside the center of Kristiansand, but so close to all you need. Stayed only one night, but enjoyed it to the full. Thank you all will come back soon

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik N, General Manager at Thon Hotel Sorlandet, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank You so much for taking your time to evaluate us on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us to the full.

Quality Hotel & Resort Kristiansand are focusing on good experiences for all our guests. We are happy to see that you received that from our team members.

Again, thanks for your evaluations without them we cannot become better.
We do hope to see you in the nearest future.

Yours sincerely,

Erik Nordahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

There had been misunderstandings in the booking, mainly thanks to the Skooch booking service. However, the Hotel Director took care of the problems in an excellent way, and made sure we had an unforgettable stay, well above our expectations!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Knut A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik N, General Manager at Thon Hotel Sorlandet, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for taking your time to evaluate us on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to read that we succeded in making your stay pleasant.

Quality Hotel & Resort Kristiansand are focusing on a memorable stay. We can see that we succeded with you.

Again, thank you so much for your comments. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you back with us in the nearest future.

Yours sincerely,

Erik Nordahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

We were greeted by 2 girls on reception who were extremely friendly and helpful with us during our stay. Free wifi at the hotel. Mind it expires around 8am in the mornong so you need to get another free code if your staying longer or later.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrism89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

We met with a group of friends from Europe and the USA. Everything possible was done to help us have a good time, good food and special things to make our group feel special. We also noticed the nice things they did for children staying at the hotel also. Although there were many other groups and families there at the same time they did not interfere with our group at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjh30242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kristiansand hotels
0.6 mi away
Dyreparken Hotell
Dyreparken Hotell
#6 of 18 in Kristiansand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
6.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
#3 of 18 in Kristiansand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
5.5 mi away
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
#4 of 18 in Kristiansand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Thon Hotel Kristiansand
Thon Hotel Kristiansand
#8 of 18 in Kristiansand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
6.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Ernst
Clarion Hotel Ernst
#2 of 18 in Kristiansand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
6.1 mi away
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
#5 of 18 in Kristiansand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Sorlandet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Sorlandet

Property: Thon Hotel Sorlandet
Address: Travparkveien 14, Kristiansand 4636, Norway (Formerly Quality Hotel & Resort Kristiansand)
Region: Norway > Southern Norway > Vest-Agder > Kristiansand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Kristiansand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Sorlandet 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Thon Hotel Sorlandet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kristiansand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing