We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family with children”
Review of Scandic Sorlandet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Sorlandet
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Nice location close to Kristinansand Dyrehage. Nice rooms. Lots of activities for the children. Warm outside pool. Playing room with many activities for all our children in the age of 2-10. Easy parking.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik N, General Manager at Scandic Sorlandet, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you so much for ranking us on Trip Advisor.
Quality Hotel & Resort Kristiansand focus on very good guests experiences for all our guests.
We are very happy to see that you enjoyed our hotel to its full.
We have shared your views with our staff.
Again, tahk you for sharing your thaughts, without them we can never improve our level of service.

Have a great summer!

Yours sincerely,

Erik Nordahl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel has the potensial to be exillent. It has a perfekt lokation (walkin distance from the animal park & shopping).The room was great(we hade a family room). The breakfast & plate of fruit was perfekt, but the backyard needs a uppdate. It is a little bit worn down and it can be a little bit bigger( we were there with 3 children). The pool was not clean and the water was a little bit to cold for our 3-year old. The inside of the hotel is in a great shape and the service is good. The next time we need to stay in Kristiansand we will go to the same hotel and hope they have fixed the backyard.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Ulf A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik N, General Manager at Scandic Sorlandet, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking your time to rank us on Trip Advisor.
Quality Hotel & Resort Kristiansand focus on great experiences for all our guests, and we are happy to read that we succeded with you. We have already made som changes to the swimming pool area. This year we invested in new out door furniture, and made som changes to the kids playground. We also repaired what was not working.
All this was done by the end of june.
Thank you so much for your comments, without them we can never be better.

We wish you the best summer, and do hope we will have the pleasuer to see you again soon with us.

Yours sincerely,

Erik Nordahl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Only minus, was that the ventilation in the room could have been better. Great location - walking distance to the zoo and very close to one of Norways largest shopping malls! I love the fact that they think enviorment and use ecological products!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank 48MaryO48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik N, General Manager at Scandic Sorlandet, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking your time to rank us on Trip Advisor.
Quality Hotel & Resort Kristiansand focus on good experiences for all our guests, and we are very happy to see that we succeded with you.
We will show our staff your gratitude, thanks.
We do hope that you will come back to us on your next visit to Kristiansand.
Again, tahnks for your comments, without them we will never get better.

Have a great summer!

Yours sincerely,

Erik Nordahl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Enjoyed the stay very much. Great hotel for kids. Nice playroom, and great service. Good atmosphere and close to Dyreparken Kristiansand. Great value for the money. Especially pleased with the cleaning of the rooms.


  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik N, General Manager at Scandic Sorlandet, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Glenn,

Thank you so much for taking your time to rank us on Trip Advisor.
Quality Hotel & Resort Kristiansand are focusing on good experiences for all our guests, and we are happy to see that we succeeded with you.

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments, they will bve shared by our staff.
Wish you a great summer, and we do hope that we will see you again with us in the nearest future.

Your sincerely,

Erik Nordahl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

First of all, this hotel is located right next to Kristiansand Zoo and Amusement Park, and its main audience is probably park visitors and families. You should know this beforehand, as it may very well affect the general atmosphere of the hotel. Additionally, it works quite well for conferences and meetings. I was there for a day meeting, but stayed overnight.

The hotel is slightly worn down. Although the hotel was nowhere near full booked, I was given a ground floor room with an extra bed instead of a room more customized to me as a solitary guest. I don't know if all their rooms have extra beds since they probably have many families, but it made the room look a bit like a storage facility. The furniture was 90s cottage pine, and the bed only average.

The service staff were impeccable, but there was no hotel service brochure in my room, so I had to ask about all hotel amenities.

The worst part was breakfast, though. It gave a distinct impression of a hotel that tries to save money on everything, even when compromising service levels. There were way fewer alternatives to choose from than what I am used to on similar hotels, and the alternatives were cheap. The only available fruit and vegetables were four-five large bowls of cucumbers, tomato boats, peppers, melons and grapes, and rather indelicately provided. Various kinds of spread: ham, salami, cheese looked like it had been thrown on the serving tray in chunks from industry packages. They had "run out of" two types of milk. I had to avoid one milk dispenser because it looked like it hadn't been thoroughly cleaned. And I cannot understand why some hotel insists on mixing egg and bacon. Some of us wants our eggs without pork. I realize this hotel is part of the "resort" product line, but this is not Quality hotel standard.

Although my ratings does not include the dinner in the hotel restaurant the night before, I have to mention it since the hotel restaurant doesn't have its own entry on Tripadvisor. I would have given this dinner a 1 point rating. This despite the fact that the service staff were nice - they were only not very competent. They gave the wrong kind of red wine (cheaper than ordered - and, as it turned out, paid for), didn't know what beers were available, etc. Worse, though, was the food. I ordered a medium steak, it was served medium rare, with two slices of squash and a salsa which also included squash - all indelicately mixed together in an ordinary brown sauce which in the menu was called "pepper sauce" and which probably could have worked with another composition of vegetables. There were no potatoes or bread mentioned or offered, and the water tasted like it had been standing in a room for many hours. Extremely weak on a Friday night with rather few guests. And, oh, it was ridiculously expensive.

Am I impressed? That would be a lie. Was it disastrous? I've had worse.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kjartana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik N, General Manager at Scandic Sorlandet, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking your time to rank us on Trip Advisor.
Quality Hotel & Resort Kristiansand focus on good service experiences to all our guest, and we see that we failed with you. We are very sorry for your experiences, and we can assure you that steps have been taken to avoid that other guests feels the same.
Thank you so much for telling us, without your comments we can never improve our service standards.
Wis you a great summer, and do hope that you will come and visit us again next time you are in Kristiansand.

Yours sincerely,

Erik Nordahl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The restaurant and kitchen offers nice meals and good service. Rooms are a little "old fashioned" and worn, but clean and comfortable. The hotell is located close to an amusement park, and it is a perfect place to stay for family holidays.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank OlaSkynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik N, General Manager at Scandic Sorlandet, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank You so much for taking your time to evaluate us on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. Quality Hotel & Resort Kristiansand focuses on that every guest have good experiences with us during your stay.

This year we are changing all our beds in the hotel, including bedcovers - pillows and duvet's. We hope that this will help our guests to have an even better sleep.

Again, thank you so much for telling us your experiences with our hotel. We do hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Erik Nordahl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Close to the airport, and cheap. Ok, free parking... Little old fashion rooms. I just wanted to sleep for some hours before a morning flight, and the hotel is good for that. Too far from the city if that is what you are looking for.


  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank pappa1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik N, General Manager at Scandic Sorlandet, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you soo much for taking your time to evaluate us on Trip Advisor.

Very happy to see that you enjoyed staying with us. Quality Hotel & Resort Kristiansand focuses on good guests experiences for all our guests during their stay.

This year we are changing all our beds within our hotel, including bedcovers - pillows - duvet's. We hope that this will increase an even better sleep for our guests.

Again, thank you for your comments, without them we cannot improve our level of service.

Yours sincerely,

Erik Nordahl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kristiansand hotels
5.6 mi away
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
#2 of 19 in Kristiansand
719 reviews
6.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
#3 of 19 in Kristiansand
635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dyreparken Hotell
Dyreparken Hotell
#7 of 19 in Kristiansand
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Ernst
Clarion Hotel Ernst
#4 of 19 in Kristiansand
713 reviews
6.1 mi away
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
#5 of 19 in Kristiansand
358 reviews
6.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Sorlandet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Sorlandet

Address: Travparkveien 14, Kristiansand 4636, Norway (Formerly Quality Hotel & Resort Kristiansand/Thon Hotel Sorlandet)
Region: Norway > Southern Norway > Vest-Agder > Kristiansand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Price Range: £83 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Sorlandet 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Sorlandet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kristiansand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing