We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work to do”
Review of Scandic Sorlandet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Sorlandet
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Work to do”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Front desk very professional and friendly. Very good first impression. Received a good room with swimming pool view, 3 rd floor. Service outside very professional and quick. Was very much appreciated. Inside the staff seemed to be schoolchildren with a summer job. They did the best of their abilities but everything shows lack of proper training and followup. Also there were no info in the room regarding room service, nr to front desk etc. There were a menu in the room, and when I asked to order (had to go to the front desk since no info in the room what nr to call) and they said ordering from that menu was depending of how much the kitchen had to to? I said that that they did not have the a la carte menu available now in the restaurant (only bufee) and one person in the party wanted room service. The restaurant was 10 % full at the time.Asked front desk to check and call back. The call never came. Had to go back to front desk after 50min and ask again. They said the kitchen was making it now. It came after 80 min total. But i general the young staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Top floor deluxe room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan Erik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik N, General Manager at Scandic Sorlandet, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking your time to rank us on Trip Advisor.
Quality Hotel & Resort Kristiansand focus on great experiences for all our guests.
We see that we did not fully succeed with you.
Your comments have been taken up with our members of staff, so other guests dont feel the same.
Again, thank you for writing to us, without your help we can never improve.

Have a great summer!

Yours sincerely,

Erik Nordahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    81
    90
    50
    32
See reviews for
177
23
7
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hedmark
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

A very unplanned trip to Kristiansand took us to this hotel because of membership discounts, and it's proximity to the zoo. The room wasn't bad, didn't enjoy hitting my head in the roof thing that came down in the middle of it, but it was clean, and the bathroom was quite nice, with good water pressure in the shower. The breakfast was awesome (even batter and waffle iron on hand!) and I like how they have coffee and tea for free in the reception, and not an old kettle and a few bags in the room. The pool had PERFECT temperature even though it was mid June =) Didn't very much enjoy the noise from a party going on until midnight one night, but the sound of happy, sober teenagers isn't all that bad considering. It could have been raving drunk adults... Friendly staff, good parking lot and other than the party we didn't really hear the other guests in our room. Good speed on the free wifi too!

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor should be avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik N, General Manager at Scandic Sorlandet, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you so much for ranking us on Trip Advisor.
Quality Hotel & Resort Kristiansand focus on great guests experiences.
We are happy to read that you are satisfied with our services.
We shared your comments with all staff members.
Again, thank you for writing to us, without your comments we cannot become better.

Yours sincerely,

Erik Nordahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Son, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had originally booked two deluxe rooms for two families. I sent the hotel an epost asking to have the rooms close by to each other. The reception responded that if I wanted, they could change my booking from two deluxe rooms to four standard rooms, made into one room with a double bed and one with bunkbeds - all for the same price. We accepted.

It turned out to be a good decision, as having the kids in their own room gave us some quality time after the kids fell asleep.

The room was ok but quite worn. The doublebed was comfy. They did not clean the rooms properly during the day. Maybe I am just spoiled from stays abbroad.

The hotel had a pool and playground area that was well kept with warmed up water and a snackbar. We did not bath much, but it was always a lot of people there. The area closed at 9pm, but the last evening we were there the staff had a boomblaster and played LOUD music until 10pm. We had a room towards this area and the music really disturbed us that evening.

The breakfast was good. but why the .. do they not have free bacon? This is a silly new practice in most quality hotels that really annoy me. I want bacon to my scrambeled eggs, not just one piece pr fried egg. BAD BAD!!!!
However, they made omelet and pancaces on order that somewhat made up for no bacon.

This is a prefect place to stay if you want to visit the zoo and park in Kristiansand and in all we were satisifed.

Room Tip: With kids: ask for two rooms with connecting door to a bunk-bed room Without kids: stay away in vac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrondM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik N, General Manager at Scandic Sorlandet, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking your time to rank us on Trip Advisor.
Quality Hotel & Resort Kristiansand are focusing on great guests experiences.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your comments have been shared with our members of staff.
Again, thank you for writing to us, without your commenst we can never improve.

Have a great summer!

Yours sincerely,

Erik Nordahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Low points : Paid about 2,200 Norwegian Kroner (262 Euros) for one night in a room that had a double bed, which can barely fit folding beds for our two kids. They said this is the room for four people. (In our friends' room, their son had to go over the parents' bed to get to the bathroom). Refrigerator can not open because blocked by a side table (same case with our friends' room). My son found two empty water bottles and receipts under the bed when we checked in. Definitely not cleaned well. Our room was located facing the parking lot, which is the entrance to the hotel. (Our friends' room faced the busy highway, and since it's summer, their windows had to stay open during the night.) You can hear people still coming in at 1am coming back from the popular show at dyreparken. Got to sleep at 2am because I can hear other room still taking showers and using their sink. Can also hear people walking and talking in the hallway. The cheapest wine in a glass is 84 kroners (10 euros), which is the same as a draft beer.

Plus points. They have a show for kids at night which was highly entertaining. Kids get a small welcome goodie bag. Pool is heated. Playground wide and nice. Pizza is delicious. Breakfast great, with omelet and crepe stations, on top of varied hot and cold selections.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExpatinDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik N, General Manager at Scandic Sorlandet, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for taking your time to rank us on Trip Advisor.
Quality Hotel & Resort Kristiansand focus on great guest expectations.
We can read that we did not succeed with you.
We have taken your comments with our employees, so other customers do not experience the same. You have choosen to stay in the very high season, and the prices you quote are market prices in this area, even on the lower scale.
We appriate the acknowledgement of what we do for kids, we do more than most hotels in Scandinavia during this period. The kids feel they are joining a party from they come to the leave.

Again, thanks for your comments, without them we can never improve our services.

Have a great summer!

Yours sincerely,

Erik Nordahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kristiansand hotels

Trondheim
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Two nights with two kids at this hotel. Purpose with travel: Wisit to Dyreparken and show with Mr. Sabeltann.Brlliant hotel when traveling with kids: Outdoor warmed swimmingpool, different play rooms, "cinema" for kids, a balloon room, entertainment in the evening, child friendly breakfast, walking distance from dyreparken - saves you the trouble with parking car - alreaddy parked at the hotel.
Clean, nice rooms, empty refridgerator - which is a plus for us, then we can cool down what ever we wish; water etc. Quick check in and out. Helpful, friendly staff. Will absolutely stay here again if comming back to Dyreparken.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mor-t-tre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik N, General Manager at Scandic Sorlandet, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you so much for ranking us on Trip Advisor.
Quality Hotel & Resort Kristiansand focuses on great guests expectations.
We are happy to read that we succeeded with you.
All your comments have been shared with our members of staff.
Again, thank you for writing to us, without your commenst we can never improve our services.
Have a great summer!

Yours sincerely,

Erik Nordahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drammen, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Too much trouble - booking trouble, small room, bad cleaning, they did not change sheets every day. Understaffed restaurant and no good a-la-carte offering. But good buffet food. Elevator outage every day, keycard stopped working a day too early... But excellent kids playground and disco :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank JanHoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik N, General Manager at Scandic Sorlandet, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for taking your time to rank us on Trip Advisor.
Quality Hotel & Resort Kristiansand focus on great guests experiences.
We are sorry to read that you have had some problems during your stay.
We clean our rooms every day, and change the bedlinen every third day.
We have various places for food, from outside to inside covering a la carte to buffets. The a la carte areas is outside, where you can get hot food.
We have shared your comments with our employees, so other customers will not feel the same.

Again, thank you for writing to us, without your commenst we can never improve.

Have a great summer!

Yours sincerely,

Erik Nordahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesund, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed there four nights ( 4 adults and two children ) with the purpose to vistit "Dyreparken i Kristiansand" ( a zoo and amusmentpark).
The hotel was perfect for both the adults and the children.
Besides the zoo/amusmentpark the hotel has several activities for children - and they loved it.
The staff at the hotel is extremely kind and helpful and made this a perfect holiday for both children, parents and grandchildren

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Vidar95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik N, General Manager at Scandic Sorlandet, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking your time to rank us on Trip Advisor.
Quality Hotel & Resort Kristiansand focus on great guests expectations.
We are so happy to read that we succeded with you. We have shared your info with our members of staff.
Again, thank you for writing to us, without your commenst we can never improve.

Have a great summer!

Yours sincerely,

Erik Nordahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kristiansand hotels
5.6 mi away
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
#2 of 19 in Kristiansand
645 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dyreparken Hotell
Dyreparken Hotell
#6 of 19 in Kristiansand
458 reviews
6.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
#4 of 19 in Kristiansand
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Ernst
Clarion Hotel Ernst
#3 of 19 in Kristiansand
646 reviews
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Norge
Best Western Plus Hotel Norge
#8 of 19 in Kristiansand
243 reviews
6.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Sorlandet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Sorlandet

Property: Scandic Sorlandet
Address: Travparkveien 14, Kristiansand 4636, Norway (Formerly Quality Hotel & Resort Kristiansand/Thon Hotel Sorlandet)
Region: Norway > Southern Norway > Vest-Agder > Kristiansand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Sorlandet 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Sorlandet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kristiansand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing