We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for the kids”
Review of Scandic Sorlandet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Sorlandet
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Stavanger
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ok for the kids”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Spent two nights. The overall condition of the room and facilities could have been a little fresher and more modern. The kids really enjoyed the playroom and outdoor pool which held a nice temperature. The distance to Dyreparken was a 10min walk.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank TrondTollefsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik N, General Manager at Scandic Sorlandet, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Thank you for ranking us on Trip Advisor.

Quality Hotel & Resort Kristiansand focus on great guests experiences, and we can read from your comments that you enjoyed our hotel.

We have noted your comments, and we do appologies that we don't have aircondition. We do have fans to borrow, but this year we run out of fans too. All shops in the area was empty, and we are sorry for that.

Again, thank you for giving us your feedbak, without it we can never improve.

We hope that we will have the pleasuer of seeing you all again, next time you visit our area. Until then, have a great autumn.

Yours sincerely,

Erik Nordahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    75
    82
    48
    31
See reviews for
155
19
7
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Plus:Great swimming pool for kids, and free face Paint for kids.
Very Close to the Zoo-park.
Neg: Topfloor was very hot, and there was no air-condition or fan options, difficult to sleep.
The overpriced Corona-beer could be more cold.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 65Family_of_four
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik N, General Manager at Scandic Sorlandet, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Thank you for taking your time to rank us on Trip Advisor.

Quality Hotel & Resort Kristiansand focus on great guests experiences during the stay, and we are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay.

Your remarks have been noted, and we do appologise that we don't have aircondition in the hotel. We do have som fans, that our guests can borrow. But unfortunately not enough for all rooms, after a perfect and nice summer. The fans was sold out from the producers, and we are sorry for that.

Again, thank you so much for your honesty, without your commenst we can never improve our services.
We do hope that we are able to see you next time you visit our area. Until then, have a great autumn.

Yours sincerely,

Erik Nordahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We, a family of five, stayed here for two nights in connection with a visit to Dyreparken. We had a family room. This hotel has a nice location with walking distance to Dyreparken. The staff is also very friendly, and the breakfast buffet has a wide selection with freshmade omelettes and pan cakes. There is also a lot of activities for the children. But all this has a price, the room rate is high, you feel you pay a significant premium just for the location. Food and drinks are also rather expensive, we had a dinner buffet, we felt the value we got for what we paid was low. The hotel is not by any means exclusive or fresh, it is a bit old fashioned. All in all, it is an OK hotel, but the only reason to pay a premium price is the location. Will we stay here again? Maybe, if we are going to visit Dyreparken again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Movi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik N, General Manager at Scandic Sorlandet, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you sor taking your time to rank us on Trip Advisor.
Quality Hotel & Resort Kristiansand is focused on giving great experiences to all our guests.
We read that you where not that happy about the rate we charge under the high season.
There are four 'hotels' close to the Zoo, and among them we are the most reasonable one. We are also the one with most activities for the kids. The price you have paid is the market price during that season.
Again, thank you so much for taking your time to write to us, without your comments we can never improve.
Have agreat summer, and we do hope to see you back with us next time you visit Kristiansand.

Your sincerely,

Erik Nordahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Booked a standard room with teo extra beeds, when we arrived the last bed was not made ready. We tryed to fix it, but it was not possible due to the space at the floor. Personel from the hotel needed to remove some of the furniture from the room to fix this. When you pay NOK 2200 for a night you have higher expectations.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Havard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik N, General Manager at Scandic Sorlandet, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking your time to rank us on Trip Advisor.
Quality Hotel & Resort Kristiansand focus on that all our guests will have good experiences with us.
We can see that you was not happy with the rate and the room.
We have 5 different categories of room, ranging from a moderate room - standard room - family room - junior suite - suite. They all are priced differently, and the room that you booked was a standard room. It is possible to sleep 4 people in that room, but we suggest 3. We inform the guests that reserve directely with us that it will be tight, and sometimes we have to remove a chair to fit in the last extra bed. All hotels situated withing minutes walking distance to the Zoo in Kristiansand are in the high season more expensive. Out of the 4 different ones you can choose from, we are the most reasonable priced and we also are the hotel with most activities for kids.
We are sorry that you feel that the room in the high season is costly, it is just market price during that season.
Again, thank you so much for informing us about your experiences, without your comments we can never improve our services.

Have a great summer!

Yours sincerely,

Erik Nordahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kristiansand hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Made another reservation at this Beautiful Hotel situated close to Kristiansand Zoo. A Place to be know if you have kids. Loads of activities, and a nice and hot swimming pool outside. The food was good - had the buffet. We stayed three days, and our kids nearly didnt want to leave. I highly recommend it - All staff so friendly and service minded

Room Tip: A must in Kristiansand for families - We had a room towards the pool, nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik N, General Manager at Scandic Sorlandet, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking your time to rank us on Trip Advisor.
Quality Hotel & Resort Kristiansand focus on giving all our guests good experiences. We are very happy that we succeeded with you.
Thank you for all your nice comments, our staff appreciated them
We wish you the best summer, and do hope that we will be able to see you soon again with us here in Kristiansand.

Yours sincerely,

Erik Nordahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Nice hotel and very friendly staff. Extremely perfect for families with children:) Very short distance to shopping, animal park just across the street, adventure/pirate park, horse trot racingtrack and not that far from the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Larsbrathen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik N, General Manager at Scandic Sorlandet, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking your time to rank us on Trip Advisor.
Quality Hotel & Resort Kristiansand focus on great guests expectations.
We see that you realy enjoyed your stay with us, and for that we are grateful.
We have shared your information with our members of staff.
Again, thank you so much for writing to us, without your comments we can never improve.

Have a great summer!

Yours sincerely,

Erik Nordahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Front desk very professional and friendly. Very good first impression. Received a good room with swimming pool view, 3 rd floor. Service outside very professional and quick. Was very much appreciated. Inside the staff seemed to be schoolchildren with a summer job. They did the best of their abilities but everything shows lack of proper training and followup. Also there were no info in the room regarding room service, nr to front desk etc. There were a menu in the room, and when I asked to order (had to go to the front desk since no info in the room what nr to call) and they said ordering from that menu was depending of how much the kitchen had to to? I said that that they did not have the a la carte menu available now in the restaurant (only bufee) and one person in the party wanted room service. The restaurant was 10 % full at the time.Asked front desk to check and call back. The call never came. Had to go back to front desk after 50min and ask again. They said the kitchen was making it now. It came after 80 min total. But i general the young staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Top floor deluxe room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan Erik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik N, General Manager at Scandic Sorlandet, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking your time to rank us on Trip Advisor.
Quality Hotel & Resort Kristiansand focus on great experiences for all our guests.
We see that we did not fully succeed with you.
Your comments have been taken up with our members of staff, so other guests dont feel the same.
Again, thank you for writing to us, without your help we can never improve.

Have a great summer!

Yours sincerely,

Erik Nordahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kristiansand hotels
0.6 mi away
Dyreparken Hotell
Dyreparken Hotell
#6 of 19 in Kristiansand
447 reviews
5.6 mi away
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
#2 of 19 in Kristiansand
615 reviews
6.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
#4 of 19 in Kristiansand
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Ernst
Clarion Hotel Ernst
#3 of 19 in Kristiansand
634 reviews
6.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Norge
Best Western Plus Hotel Norge
#7 of 19 in Kristiansand
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Sorlandet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Sorlandet

Property: Scandic Sorlandet
Address: Travparkveien 14, Kristiansand 4636, Norway (Formerly Quality Hotel & Resort Kristiansand/Thon Hotel Sorlandet)
Region: Norway > Southern Norway > Vest-Agder > Kristiansand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Sorlandet 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Sorlandet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kristiansand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing