We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Late check in, perfect service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Ernst
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Late check in, perfect service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

The hotel stands out of a crowd and the welcome from the night shift was perfect. The room with a nice soft bed and quiet. Only problem was a cleening lady knocking on the door every 30 min from 8 in the morning and we checked in at 2 in the morning... Breakfast was a nice experience also. I will stay at the hotel at a later time

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stigoeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    208
    63
    24
    19
See reviews for
83
162
28
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

From the moment my wife and I arrived we were impressed with everything about the hotel. The staff were most helpful and courteous. Their English was impeccable. The housekeeping lady was vietnamese and a delightful person. Whilst there, it was my wifes birthday and when we returned from our day out we were astonished, but delighted, to find a large dish of sliced fresh fruit with the compliments of the hotel. This is a hotel I would have no hesitation of visiting again and recommending it as a gem.
The room we had was large, if a little on the dark side. It did not have an outlook but how much time do you spend in your room? The bathroom was very modern and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was substantial but the hot food could have been a little warmer.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room not overlooing the atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trepassey66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

This hotel is one of the best I stay in. (and I stay in a lot of them around Europe!) The lobby is beautiful and every time I go back there is something new and quirky that I didn't see before. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The corridors are a little confusing as it is quite dark but it all adds to the general ambience I think they are trying to successfully achieve! The rooms aren't huge but are clean and in my opinion beautifully decorated. The only downside is that there isn't much light in the rooms. The bathroom is pleasant and completely spotless! And it's nice to see that they offer complimentary conditioner for your hair as well as shampoo unlike every other hotel I have ever been to! But I think that is just a personal grudge I hold against hotels!! All in all I think the hotel is stunning inside and out and if you are thinking of staying here well worth the money!!! Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyB87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss, Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

Great room, stylish design, great food and excellent staff!
The bed were good to sleep in.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toneklone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

They try hard to be the best...and maybe in a town where there are very few options, this is the best. But...
The people working there are either brilliant, or down right scary ( talking about a night receptionist). The rooms are styled in what I would call a "decadent style", but in the end it's just a really dark soom, and impossible to work in...
The beds are great, I must say that I had a good nights sleep, in the end... But as a business hotell...hmmm... I'm just not convinced.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MimiOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

The hole experience is surreal... The people working there are rude, rooms are small, not clean AND noisy.....

Brakfast could have been ok, was it not for a older woman working there picking her nose ALL the time, discusting !!

And finally, when you cheak out, you are ripped off ! This is NOT a 4 star hotel !!
I``ll be nice to streach myselt to a 2 star.

Hate it Hate it Hate it !!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank marti6936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

Great location and newly renovation. Hotel is stylish and the front desk staff was very friendly! Breakfast is good. Ask for a room with a window to the outside. Some of the rooms are towards the atrium and could be a little warm to sleep in and you might hear some noise from the Lounge/Bar area at Reception level. But, this is a superb hotel and i recommend this to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuckIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kristiansand hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
#4 of 19 in Kristiansand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
#3 of 19 in Kristiansand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
#5 of 19 in Kristiansand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Norge
BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Norge
#7 of 19 in Kristiansand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Kristiansand
Thon Hotel Kristiansand
#8 of 19 in Kristiansand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Ernst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Ernst

Property: Clarion Hotel Ernst
Address: Radhusgt. 2, Kristiansand 4664, Norway
Region: Norway > Southern Norway > Vest-Agder > Kristiansand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kristiansand
#5 Family Hotel in Kristiansand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Ernst 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Ernst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Kristiansand
Clarion Kristiansand
Kristiansand Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing