We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not convinced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Ernst
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not convinced”
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Of course it goes without saying that this was a very expensive stay for us... for the most part everything was wonderful... The hotel is very grand and almost offensively opulent - it has nothing of the traditional about it and has been recently modernised to resemble any hotel anywhere in the world.

The room was clean and well equipped however the shower temperature was inconsistent, there was no plug on the sink.
Our room overlooked the hotel reception/ lounge area - on our last night they had a live rock band perform in the bar - which is attached to the reception/ lounge and so our room overlooked this too... unfortunately this rather heavy rock band didn't stop until about 4am and could clearly be heard in our room.

Dinner was poor - waiting time was long, service was not terribly enthusiastic and the food overcooked and lacking in flavour - obviously overpriced - eg)£24 for a burger.

Breakfast was excellent with a broad selection available.

Leisure facilities were good - although no pool.

We happened to be there for a conference and the facilities there were also wonderful, the dinner provided as part of that was great too.

Parking facilities are available (at extra cost), the car park is located below the hotel but access is not easy - in order to get into the car park you have to pull onto the wrong side of the road whilst the door opens (this is a taxi rank and we did upset a few drivers doing this). Pedestrian access to and from the car park is only through the same route as vehicles which is a little inconvenient.

Although it wasn't a bad experience I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxibillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    222
    73
    26
    20
See reviews for
94
176
32
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Don't try this cheap CopyCat style if you like the experience of Sanderson's on Berner St. But if you are spending a weekend in Kristiansand it is a reasonable treat. The position is central, there is parking underneath and the town could be a gem if they gentrified it... The new culture palace is an out-of-scale and out-of-position thingy, but the acustics is supposed to be good.

Room Tip: Not towards the atrium...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pharaonics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Clarion Ernst is a new and luxurious hotel in the heart of Kristiansand.
The new rooms (333) are equipped with A / C, these it is not possible to turn off, but reception can regulate the temperature for you if desired. The room is totally recently been renovated and appears very good.
We were upgraded to a superior room (277) in the old wing. These rooms are spacious and quiet with a small sofa and bathtub. The view is a backyard, but it's fine since you then avoid all the noise from the street.
Clarion Ernst is the natural choice of hotel in Kristiansand.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NO1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

A decent quality hotel, and no doubt the best in lovely Kristiansand. Slight niggles around the seemingly constant a/c, but very helpful reception staff, especially the super-smiley girl on night duty who shifted my room without question at midnight. The reason for the shift - some of the outer rooms have a bit of traffic noise and noise from a nearby karaoke. For a quieter stay, request a room around the main hotel atrium or (for daylight) around the external atrium. I had two good nights' sleep, was able to work in my room, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dashworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Service was very good at the front desk except for one receptionist who seemed hostile and not cooperative when we mentioned that we had a lower price offer online than the price she stated for a room.

Room temperature was quite cold and there was no thermostat in the room. When I called Reception the line was permenantly busy.

Breakfast buffet was a generous display of good quality food and the service was impeccable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wubbrur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed here four nights/five days while visiting family in Kristiansand. It was adequate for our stay, but the room was VERY small with a slit window looking down into the lobby. We had a lot of luggage, as we were just beginning a month-long trip, and the room felt quite close. Hallways went up and down, and I tripped more than once. (Might want to have striping where floor changes 'elevation.') Breakfasts were fabulous. Many, many choices. There was a Scandinavian bus tour booked into the hotel at the same time we were there, and breakfast offered good "people watching" opportunities as well. Kind of strange decor in the hotel, but overall, a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmnt24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southend
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this Hotel which was for a family Wedding Sept 2011. The rooms did vary in size and whilst we were there some work was going on but it was okay. We thought the breakfasts were excellent and I must say their pillows were something really special, so comfortable. I would use this Hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodpeckersouthend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kristiansand hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
#3 of 19 in Kristiansand
567 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
#2 of 19 in Kristiansand
605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Norge
Best Western Plus Hotel Norge
#7 of 19 in Kristiansand
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sjoglott Hotel
Sjoglott Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kristiansand
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
#5 of 19 in Kristiansand
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Ernst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Ernst

Property: Clarion Hotel Ernst
Address: Radhusgt. 2, Kristiansand 4664, Norway
Region: Norway > Southern Norway > Vest-Agder > Kristiansand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kristiansand
#5 Family Hotel in Kristiansand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Ernst 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel Ernst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Kristiansand
Clarion Kristiansand
Kristiansand Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing