We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Ernst
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Certificate of Excellence
Kongsberg, Norway
1 review
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Very nice and clean hotel, with a very central location. The break-fast had a good variety and was very tasty! The spa (sauna and steam-bath) in the basement made our day on a rainy, windy day :) I would go back any time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Niri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena G, Chef at Clarion Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hello!

thank you for the nice rewiev to us. You are welcome back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    222
    73
    26
    20
See reviews for
94
176
32
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I've been to Clarion Hotel Ernst on a number of occasions, and I am always satisfied with everything. The rooms are nice and clean, the service is very good and the hotel has a great atmosphere. I can absolutely recommend Ernst when staying in Kristiansand for either business or a holdiay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Kristoffer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena G, Kundansvarig at Clarion Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hello!

thank you for your nice review to us. we are really happy that you like it here.

hope you will visit us agin soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halden, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

It's a bit dark in the design, but it's beautiful. This lovely girl called Stina told us the history of the hotel while serving us food. The breakfast was huge. They had everything one could want, from your own omelet to different types of fresh fruit.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena G, Head Waitress Banquet at Clarion Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you so much for that fantastic review!

We in the restaurantdepartment always tries to do something extra for all our guest.
With such a beutiful hotel with so much history its wonderful for us to share this with our guests.

Thank you again, have a fantastic day

on behalf of my self and the resturantdepartment

/Stine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
517 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Central location and ideal for business meetings and possibly small conferences with the emphasis on small, great catering facilities with professional staff that appear experienced in looking after guests.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seayeaitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena G, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hello!

Thank you for your review to us we really appreciate it.

have a nice day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tau, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Very central location. Stayed 4 nights in a single room facing the atrium, very quiet. The room and bathroom were clean. The bed was wide, but too soft (I found out too late that the other side of the bed was firmer / harder), Minibar in the room, and the WiFi appeared to work perfectly. The staff was VERY corteous, riding the fine balance between "superb" and "ridiculous". The hotel slogan is "Clarion loves you!" Really? LOVES me? Common politeness and friendliness would go a long way - I don't expect the staff to be totally ecstatic just because I check in, order a burger in the restaurant, or pass one of them in the corridor. At ease, please! Breakfast was fine. Parking is available, but expensive. Oh, and the room prices are not the cheapest in town, but probably worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sigmundm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena G, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hello!

thank you for your review to us we really appreciate it.

hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

stayed here for 2 nights - all fine - especially the breakfast was superb !

Did not test fitness etc but it looked to be great equipment

Laundry service worked as planned

But at a price of +200 euro it should also be just fine !

Again this is Norway

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank callelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena G, Chef at Clarion Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hello!

thank you for your nice review of us. we are glad you liked it here.

you are welcome back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skien
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel was the best in Kristansand for 1 to 2 years ago. But now we have 2- 3 hotels in this city who is better. Try the New Scandic Bystranda or Comfort Kristiansand instead. The service level have been poor the last months, the maintenance is leaking and the overall experience is not so good as it should be on a Clarion brand hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new building if you will stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rune K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena G, Chef at Clarion Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Google Translation
Hej Rune K!

Tack för din feedback till oss det värdesätter vi verkligen. Jag beklagar också att du upplever att hotellet var bättre för ett par år sedan. Vi arbetar med att förbättra oss hela tiden och beklagar verkligen att du inte uppskattar de förandringar som varit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kristiansand hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
#3 of 19 in Kristiansand
567 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
#2 of 19 in Kristiansand
605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Norge
Best Western Plus Hotel Norge
#7 of 19 in Kristiansand
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sjoglott Hotel
Sjoglott Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kristiansand
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
#5 of 19 in Kristiansand
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Ernst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Ernst

Property: Clarion Hotel Ernst
Address: Radhusgt. 2, Kristiansand 4664, Norway
Region: Norway > Southern Norway > Vest-Agder > Kristiansand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kristiansand
#5 Family Hotel in Kristiansand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Ernst 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel Ernst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Kristiansand
Clarion Kristiansand
Kristiansand Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing