We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faded elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Ernst
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Faded elegance”
Reviewed 16 August 2007

As a regular Summer visitor to Kristiansand and the Ernst Hotel, it is sad to see the gradual decline in the general decor of the rooms. The single rooms are generally very small - one could definitely not take a cat let alone swing it! Carpets in the corridors are in some areas very thin and dangerous as there are gaps on the edges of some stairs. As this is a hotel for children in the Summer this could be a trip hazard.

I noticed that the foyer had been redecorated but the rest of the hotel is in desperate need of a make-over. Generally, the furniture in the hotel is dark, out of date and needs a good clean - some of the chairs in the dining room had food stains.

Staff are generally very pleasant and helpful. However, the hotel's website is not exactly user-friendly, as I had to 'phone the hotel direct to make a booking because the website showed the hotel to be fully booked when it was not. In addition the website does not make clear that Choice Club membership benefits must be claimed at the time of booking, neither was this made clear when I made my reservation.

Breakfasts were quite good with adequate choice..

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Durnovarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    207
    63
    24
    19
See reviews for
83
161
28
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2006

Nice location, took me all of five minutes from the train station to actually being in the suite. For a tired soul - priceless.

However - right off the bat. Seeing as it is a four-star hotel and i was lodged in a suite, you'd expect to at least have a bathrobe? The shower cabinet drain was faulty. Shower floor flooded for 15 minutes after showering.

The cleaning ladies keep knocking on the door from 9 in the morning, interrupting a lot of kodak moments between me and my partner.

Not good...

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Cycy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 July 2005

Lousy bed.
No Air Conditioning. Now some might say that it's not needed, but something needs to drown out the music that plays in the courtyard till the wee hours of the morning.


I won't stay here again.

The afternoon staff was nice though

  • Stayed July 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oyvindeikaas, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, 31 January 2009
Thank you for your review!

You are of course not the only one who have complained about the noice from our nicht club "NightCap" and "Africa Bar".

From the 1st of January 2009, these night clubs is closed permanently. During this year, the hotel will be renovated, and the areas will be converted into conference facilities.

Hopefully we will see you again in the future:)

Best Regards
Mr. Eikaas
General Manager, Clarion Hotel Ernst
oyvind.eikaas@choice.no
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 March 2004

The hotel is situated within walking distance of the port and is first class in all departments, the only fault it has is lack of drawer space in the well appointed bedrooms. The food is excellent, if a little expensive, but no more so than the rest of Norway. It is well worth a visit and I would have no second thoughts about returning to this hotel and to Kristiansand.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 August 2003

4**** central hotel with interesting atrium. Rooms are standard, very clean, air-conditioning. Rooms have a minibar(expensive) and tv - lots of US sitcoms with Norwegian subtitles. Hotel noisy at the weekend until about 2am. Breakfasts are excellent and plentiful: everything from cereal to herring to salad to waffles. Other meals available. One we had was very good. Staff all spoke very good English and were couteous and helpful. You can walk from the port to the hotel and all the local amentities are just round a corner.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kristiansand hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
#4 of 19 in Kristiansand
536 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
#3 of 19 in Kristiansand
550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
#5 of 19 in Kristiansand
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Norge
BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Norge
#7 of 19 in Kristiansand
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Kristiansand
Thon Hotel Kristiansand
#8 of 19 in Kristiansand
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Ernst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Ernst

Property: Clarion Hotel Ernst
Address: Radhusgt. 2, Kristiansand 4664, Norway
Region: Norway > Southern Norway > Vest-Agder > Kristiansand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kristiansand
#5 Family Hotel in Kristiansand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Ernst 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Ernst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Kristiansand
Clarion Kristiansand
Kristiansand Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing