We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to sleep change hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Taarnby, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If you want to sleep change hotel”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The rooms from the 70´s were a study of architectural history! If you travel alone and have to pay for a double room, you would not expect a room with 3 beds and 2 babies beds and the bath was for disabled. After changing room still a extra bed on the floor so I could not open the window. But you are not in Norway to stay at your room except of sleeping. BUT have ear plugs in your bag - loud music through the night from discos in the same building as the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PLJoergensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    140
    106
    62
    23
See reviews for
81
82
27
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Millbrook, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

While it is down by the waterfront in Kristiansand, it is also beside an ugly busy container port. No free parking, and pay parking lot is tiny.
Checkin and restaurant staff we friendly and efficient. Breakfast was excellent.
The rooms.... ugh. They can't have been remodelled in the last two decades. Loud carpets worn furniture. Musty smells every where. Very tired and not up to Radisson standards.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kristiansand hotels

Wloclawek, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I have stayed several times at the SAS since my last review. Both in the main building and the wing. I still prefer the wing, due to large rooms. A bit of a walk in the long corridors, but worth it. I book through the SAS website. In the weekend you can get a room for 995 NOK. One weekend that price was the cheapest I found in Kristiansand. Yes the hotel is dated, but the beds are good. The breakfast OK.
The Telford Pub is still a quiet and nice pub with mature people. It has CB, Guinness and and Newcastle Brown on tap.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Very expensive for what you get, but that’s Norway, not just this hotel. Staff very helpful and a good experience during the 3 nights that I stayed. Telford’s pub is nothing to write home about, and only CB, the local beer, is on draft, everything else was in cans! The Norwegians build things to last, and this hotel is certainly that, feeling a little dated, very 80’s, especially the bathrooms and corridors, perhaps even a bit “Eastern Europe.”

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PEM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

I travel once a year to Kristiansand, this is my 5th trip. Previous to this I have tried other hotels in Kristiansand-this is the one for me. First, parking is not a problem (although not cheap), a short walk & you are in the center. The room is large, very comfortable, very clean & nicely decorated. Bathroom is also large & I dont have to "squeeze" onto the toilet like in some other hotels in this town, it also has a full size bath. Internet wireless functions perfectly & quickly. Only minus is that the TV is an old CRT & not a new LCD. Small mini bar/fridge in the room. Restaurant is also very good- I have tried it twice on this trip & been very happy. For smokers a covered area outside reception.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akersolinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

one of the worst hotels I've been at. 4* ? A total disappointment.
Don't go there

Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KristianR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wloclawek, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

I visit Dyreparken two/three times a year and usually stay at the Rica Dyreparken Hotel. This time I wanted to stay in the center of town. Booked the Caledonien hotel through the SAS hotel site. Got a price of 960 NOK pr night (weekend rate). Checked hotels.com and others and they had similar rates. I was given an option of various bed types for the same rate. Booked a king size bed non smoking.
There is a parking area outside the hotel (180 NOK pr 24 hours). Looked a bit unsafe regarding the drunk locals walking by at night. Choosed the safer parking house next door (cameras). Parked on the upper most level (180 NOK/day). A two minutes walk to the hotel reception. I was given a room in the wing. It was a large comfy, quiet room. I noticed there were rooms with a business class sign nearby. The furniture and inside doors had a few scratches, but the bed and furniture was practical and comfy. The room was very large. The bathroom was OK, but the floor was cold. There is an water saving shower head. This annoying tool should be replaced with a proper one. There was a mini bar (expensive, 35 NOK for a coke). You can by water and soft drinks in the shopping street (4 min walk) and use the mini bar to store it. I missed a room safe. I think all hotels should have an in-room safe for the lap top, cameras etc.
The hotel serves a nice breakfast in a large (dark) restaurant. The hotel is in general dark inside due to the classic style from the building date. The hotels has several function rooms, restaurants, a popular piano bar and a quiet English style pub. There is a large business room (with printers etc) and free Internet in the rooms (functioned well).
Upon departure I asked if my room was typical. It appears that the main building has smaller, but renovated rooms. The wing has large comfy rooms, but some are a bit worn.
I would recommend to try to get a room in the wing.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kristiansand hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Ernst
Clarion Hotel Ernst
#3 of 19 in Kristiansand
646 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
#2 of 19 in Kristiansand
647 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
#4 of 19 in Kristiansand
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Norge
Best Western Plus Hotel Norge
#8 of 19 in Kristiansand
243 reviews
6.1 mi away
Scandic Sorlandet
Scandic Sorlandet
#9 of 19 in Kristiansand
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sjoglott Hotel
Sjoglott Hotel
#7 of 19 in Kristiansand
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand

Property: Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand
Address: Vestre Strandgate 7, Kristiansand 4610, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Southern Norway > Vest-Agder > Kristiansand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel is situated by the seafront down town Kristiansand. The hotel is full of atmosphere and reflects a high standard and service throughout. Come and join us. Experience something different. We are not just an ordinary hotel. We can taylor anything from rock climbing to boat trips or salmon fishing. We suggest - You approve - We arrange it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Kristiansand
Kristiansand Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing