We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We booked one night at this hotel, with SAS Eurobonus points. We have often stayed at SAS Radisson hotels so expected a high standard of accommodation. The check in was fine and the receptionaist very pleasant. The room turned out to be right opposite the lift on the 7th floor (room 708). I do not know if was a normal size or a room allocated to guests using bonus points. The price of a double room here is usually about 1600 kroner (£160) for one night.

The room was OK but fairly small. The bathroom was very small. For those who have travelled by ferry in the North Sea, the bathroom was of a similar size to those in a cabin. It was well equipped but should have had some protective rubber on the walls of the shower to prevent elbows being bruised. It would have suited Tom Thumb perfectly.

There was a chair in the room, meant for use at the desk. The seat was broken! Come on SAS, you should not let out a room to a guest when it contains a broken chair (see picture).

I had to pay 180 kroner per 24 hours for the car park. This really annoyed me because the car park was just the parking area in front of the hotel. It was not a covered car park but simply a way in which SAS Radisson could extort a little more money out of guests.

The breakfast was very nice. A really good selection of hot and cold foods served in a nice room. The Internet was free and worked well.

The only other comment was that in our room, we could open the window, which is nice. It was hot in the room when we arrived so some fresh air was lovely. However, there is a container park rigt opposite the hotel and the noise of these being moved around by heavy equipment meant that you could not have the window open if you wanted to sleep.

Not impressed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonycStavanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

Carpets and a little old fashioned hotel. Was by the high fasioned in the future but need a little renovation soon. The rooms are ok, breakfast is very good and the staff is gentle. Location is good, and with the view to the harbour this compensate for the interior design

Room Tip: Choose a room with view to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

5 people in 2 hotel rooms means 2 people in one room, and 3 in another. In the room with 3, they gave us a bunkbed for the third person. The bunkbeds were really made for 2 small people, or the 3rd person was expected to split their body in half between the top and bottom bunk. The person in the bunkbed opted to sleep on the top bunk because she hit her head every time she sat up on the bottom bunk (listen, it's pretty low!), but then when she had to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night, she made noise enough to wake up the other two in the room because the ladder was so narrow and vertical! Not a great setup. Furthermore, breakfast was disappointing. The Lobby Bar was decent- good musician at the piano. The room was quiet, too, which is certainly a plus!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed a couple of nights in this hotel and were not impressed. This hotel has seen better days and needs a renewal.

Rooms poorly equipped and with a terrible climate function that keeps the temperature way to warm in a hot summer night. Disturbing noise from both inside and outside of the hotel. Very old and worn out beds, you could feel the old springs pushing upwards in the matrass.

The breakfast was below average norwegian hotel standard and way below the standard you would expect from the brand name Radisson.
The al acarte menu was uninspired and we ate all our meals except breakfast outside of the hotel.

We will not return to this place in the future.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Håkon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Not all that far, though - its location is stil downtown Kristiansand, arguably the best destination in Sørlandet for sheer breadth of offers - from beaches with and without textiles, to an animal park that appeals mostly to the kids, and to endless possibilities involving water.
Mind you, a sea view may depend on a situation high enough to overlook the container harbour ridiculously placed between the hotel and the waterfront. Ugly, rusty freight containers from all over the world stacked five to six high may constitute your harbour view. Across the street, fifty feet away.
The rooms are getting old, and the colours are from the 80's. Ours had a balcony, the use of which was hampered by the weather. Hardly the hotel's fault. To open the door to the balcony, most people would have had to call Engineering. We finally managed without, but not without a lot of swearing. Tip: Open the sliding door all the way to the stop before attemting to close it.
The sign 'Children's play area inside' as we approached the breakfast area had us worried for a while. The kids weren't the slightest bit interested, though, and breakfast was a tranquil affair - and quite superb. We couldn't fault it on any single item we'd have liked to see, unless you expect kangaroo kidneys with your kippers in the morning.
Caution: Do Not indulge in the minibar, or even with the complimentary-looking red wine temptingly placed on top of the minibar, where any six-year-old could get at it. It's an 185 ml bottle, or half a half bottle, and confessing to its consumption will set you back 175 NOK. That's like US$30. For a quarter bottle, Wine charged at US$120 per bottle should at least have a recognisable name and a bit of taiste. This plonk failed on both counts.
Here is a Really Useful tip for car travelers: Before trying the hotel car park, try the street between the hotel and the containers. There is a parking restriction sign there with a down arrow undersign. This means restiction valid up to here - but no restriction is posted onwards to the end of the block. Park for free, for as long as you like.

Room Tip: There is an old tower and a new tower. Your chance of a good view is better in the old wing, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank permorten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The hotel has very good location. Walking distance to most attractions. The rooms are middle-sized and very nice view form my room, 10.th floor facing Noddeviga, where there was walkways, creek and quay. The hotel has been refurbished in the last years. The was a wide selection for breakfast, very good. Room prize is above average.

Room Tip: I had a a room in 10.th floor facing Noddeviga, where there was walkways, creek and quay. Very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odd_Bergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The beds are worn out (when you sit down into them they banana). The shower doesn't have a door so the bathroom floor gets really wet.
Clean hotel and nice enough for work. Don't know how it compares to other local hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jws_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kristiansand hotels
0.5 mi away
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
#2 of 19 in Kristiansand
687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Ernst
Clarion Hotel Ernst
#4 of 19 in Kristiansand
682 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
#3 of 19 in Kristiansand
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Norge
Best Western Plus Hotel Norge
#8 of 19 in Kristiansand
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sjoglott Hotel
Sjoglott Hotel
#7 of 19 in Kristiansand
105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
#5 of 19 in Kristiansand
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand

Address: Vestre Strandgate 7, Kristiansand 4610, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Southern Norway > Vest-Agder > Kristiansand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Price Range: £84 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel is situated by the seafront down town Kristiansand. The hotel is full of atmosphere and reflects a high standard and service throughout. Come and join us. Experience something different. We are not just an ordinary hotel. We can taylor anything from rock climbing to boat trips or salmon fishing. We suggest - You approve - We arrange it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Kristiansand
Kristiansand Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing