We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location by the North Sea” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Kristiansand
Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
198 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice location by the North Sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel in Kristiansand Norway is a nice business hotel within a short walking distance to the town center and a small fishing harbor by the North Sea. You will also find the beautiful Concert Hall just around the corner from the harbor.
The price is reasonable for Norwegian standards, rooms are clean, bed is okay and the staff was attentive.
The restaurant in the hotel has excellent food (a little expensive) but even better is a walk to the harbor where you will find many specialty restaurants, from fish to steak to pizza.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickadolfsen, Sales Manager at Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Chris P,

Thank you so much for your nice review after your stay with us.
We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and our food.

I hope we can welcome you back when your travels brings you to Kristiansand.

Kind Regards
Patrick Adolfsen
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    138
    97
    56
    16
See reviews for
75
74
25
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansand, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

A wellknown Hotel in the Centre of Kristiansand, close to Kilden Concert Hall and Top-Rated Restaurants. Also close to Airport Transport and Ferries to Denmark. The Hotel can offer all kind of Emusement if You want to stay Close. Recommendable !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Dag J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickadolfsen, Sales Manager at Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Dag J,

Thank you so much for your nice review. I'm glad you liked our central location in the city center.

Me and my team look forward to welcome you back next time you visit Kristiansand.

Best Regards
Patrick Adolfsen
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Amenities of the hotel is like any Radisson Ble, with a nice restaurant and near the city centre. It is just a minute walk to the city centre and also there are many restaurants in front of the hotel.

Some of them has very good Fish dishes and should be tried.

Overall Very Good

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Companytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickadolfsen, Sales Manager at Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear companytraveller,

Thank you so much for the nice review after your stay with us. We totally agree that the fish restaurants in front of the hotel serve good fish dishes. I'm also glad you tried our restaurant and that you liked it.

We look forward to welcome you back when you visit Kristiansand next time.

Kind Regards
Patrick Adolfsen
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

The hotel is expensive. It has slow internet. There is no place to store clothes like socks or shorts, only a small closet to hang up shirts and pants. The shower is horrible and sprayed less than 5 inches / 127mm. the mattress is nothing more than a small 2" / 50 mm thick pad with no top sheet and a comforter that does not cover the entire bed. The heater is blocked by the curtains and the room is freezing. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Louis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickadolfsen, Sales Manager at Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Louis L,

Thank you for taking time to write a review after your stay with us.

I regret to read that your stay with us was not satisfying. Every day we do our outmost to provide the guests with the service and comfort they expect. In your case I see that we not succeded with that and I'm really sorry for that.

I have forwarded your comments to the correct department and they will take action to prevent this from happening again.

I do hope we can welcome you back the next time you visit Kristiansand so we can show that we can do better.

Kind Regards
Patrick Adolfsen
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I needed a room at short notice and they were helpful. Room was comfortable, facilities excellent, especially as I needed pc internet access. Friendly staff, breakfast good, close to the port and transport services.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickadolfsen, Manager at Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Roz H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review after your stay with us.
I'm glad to read that you enjoyed our Yes I Can service, our breakfast and our location.

I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Patrick Adolfsen
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Normally I use Radisson Blu as the best hotel concept, but I will advice all of you not use this hotel in Kristiansand. When we arrived they had not changed the pillow and it was blood - on it and good for me I hade my wife with me because the house keeping on this hotel accused us for this problem. She had not done the job - but the girl in reception did a very good job to fine out that the house keeping on this hotel is fare below a normal standard.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Svein E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickadolfsen, Sales Manager at Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Svein E,

Thank you for taking time to write a review after your stay with us. I'm so sorry to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.

We do our outmost to ensure that our guests are met with a clean room and high quality. In this case we did not reach that goal and I'm very sorry for that.
Your review has been discussed internally with the department head for the housekeeping staff and actions has been made to make sure this will never happen again.

Please contact us on sales.kristiansand@radissonblu.com the next time you stay in Kristiansand and I will make sure that if you stay with us again we will exceed your expectations.

On behalf of the staff here at Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel we are very sorry for your experience and we hope that we can welcome you back again.

Kind Regards
Patrick W. Adolfsen
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kristiansand hotels

kristiansand, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Nice, friendy personell, practical according to parking Place, good rooms, excellent Food in the restaurant, good breakfast. Nice stay. We would like to come back! What else to say? Nothing to declare or claim about.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Vigdis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick W A, Sales Manager at Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Google Translation
Kjære Vigdis S.

Tusen takk for den utrolig hyggelige tilbakemeldingen din.
Det gleder meg å lese at du er fornøyd etter oppholdet hos oss.

På vegne av alle ansatte på Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel ønsker jeg deg hjertelig velkommen tilbake.

Med vennlig hilsen

Patrick Adolfsen
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kristiansand hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
#3 of 18 in Kristiansand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
#4 of 18 in Kristiansand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Ernst
Clarion Hotel Ernst
#2 of 18 in Kristiansand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Norge
BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Norge
#7 of 18 in Kristiansand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
#5 of 18 in Kristiansand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thon Hotel Kristiansand
Thon Hotel Kristiansand
#8 of 18 in Kristiansand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand

Property: Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand
Address: Vestre Strandgate 7, Kristiansand 4610, Norway
Region: Norway > Southern Norway > Vest-Agder > Kristiansand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Kristiansand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel is situated by the seafront down town Kristiansand. The hotel is full of atmosphere and reflects a high standard and service throughout. Come and join us. Experience something different. We are not just an ordinary hotel. We can taylor anything from rock climbing to boat trips or salmon fishing. We suggest - You approve - We arrange it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Kristiansand
Kristiansand Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing