We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - but a little difficult to get to by car”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thon Hotel Kristiansand
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Most rooms if not all have recently been updated, so you will find quite modern and comfortable rooms, best feature of the hotel is however the location right in the center of Kristianssand, and you can almost walk to whereever you might want to go

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mortennielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Typical of Norwegian city hotels expensive parking and small rooms. But nice and clean with friendly staff. Would stay here again. Breakfast in the neighbouring Egon was ok and the free use of a nearby gym very handy when away from home for days.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tri-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

You don't stay at a Thon City hotel for its cosiness and charm, because you won't find much of it - but what you get is a very central location, reasonably clean rooms with good sleep quality and all the essentials. For a short stay (I stayed only 1 night), that is all I ask for. The front desk staff were friendly enough. Had dinner at the Egon restaurant next door (an uninventive chain restaurant, but the food was edible). As I arrived late and left early, there was free parking available on the street nearby. And as I left before breakfast time, a VERY basic take-away breakfast was waiting for me at the front desk. Might stay at this hotel again, as the room prices are not too unreasonable for Norway.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sigmundm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed in a family room that had a queensize bed and a sofa bed. The room was clean, spacious and even had a small balcony. The hotell is located right in the shopping street Markens and is easy to find. Parking is NOK150 pr night in their own parking garage.
The breakfast is served in a restaurant in the basement of the hotell. We might have been very unlucky, but it was not very impressive. If all the food that was supposed to be there had been, it would have been a nice buffet of hot and cold foods. But there was lack of refilling of the foods, they even missed plates and glasses the one morning. They seemed very understaffed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

After spending our first two nights in a Thon hotel, we just hopped from one to another throughout all of Norway -- they were all clean, well kept, had nice staff, good breakfast and a central location -- this one was no exception. To do it again, I would have hopped from one Thon to another every night but some nights they were already full so book ahead of time to stay Thon throughout.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesJOceanside_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Unfortunately Thon Hotel Kristiansand was almost fully booked at the time of my stay, so I was not able to upgrade my room, and had to settle with a standard single bedroom on the second floor.

The room was recently renovated so the overall standard was good. However the room didn't have a good feeling. It felt very unorganized/unplanned, and the space could have been used much more beneficial. The TV was placed to the left of the bed, and felt unnatural watching from the bed. Also there was no AC outlet near the bed, which is really annoying. The single bed really was hard and uncomfortable, resulting in a bad nights sleep.

While checking in the staff was very helpful. Some other guests had some different problems and I noticed how the staff helped them with a smile on their faces.

The overall standard of the hotel is fresh and modern, but it still has that "budget hotel feeling".

The hotel restaurant is a connected Egon Restaurant. This I find incredibly boring and unimaginative. (IMHO finding a restaurang that is less priceworthy than Egon is a real challenge.) Luckily the good location of the hotel makes it easy finding something more eatable in the city center.

The breakfast selection was over my expectations, but sadly the breakfast was not fresh. I arrived at 08:30 and much of the breakfast was almost emptied, but not refilled, giving a bad impression. Also the vegetables was more than a couple of days old.

The price for this experience was 1049 NOK/night, which is a proper price for a hotel of this standard. They also offer parking for 150 NOK/night.

Room Tip: Avoid the single bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pascal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is a nice and comfortable hotel with a great location. The staff is very friendly and willing to go the extra mile for their guests. Decent breakfast and the superior room we stayed in was clean and spacious.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4Excellence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOMARUM, Daglig leder at Thon Hotel Kristiansand, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014
Google Translation

Takk for din tilbakmelding på oppholdet hos oss. Vi setter stor pris på at du har tatt deg tid til dette. Hyggelig at du var fornøy med opplevelsen av hotellet. Vi jobber kontinuerlig med å levere gode opplevelser til våre gjester. Dine tilbakemeldinger vil bli brukt aktivt for å utvikle et enda bedre produkt. Velkommen tilbake!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kristiansand hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
#3 of 19 in Kristiansand
641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Ernst
Clarion Hotel Ernst
#4 of 19 in Kristiansand
719 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
#2 of 19 in Kristiansand
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
#5 of 19 in Kristiansand
359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Norge
Best Western Plus Hotel Norge
#8 of 19 in Kristiansand
262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sjoglott Hotel
Sjoglott Hotel
#6 of 19 in Kristiansand
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Kristiansand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Kristiansand

Address: Markens gate 39, Kristiansand 4612, Norway (Formerly Scandic Kristiansand)
Region: Norway > Southern Norway > Vest-Agder > Kristiansand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Price Range: £105 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Hotel Kristiansand 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Kristiansand is a modern city center hotel centrally located by the main shopping street Markensgate. Kilden theatre and concert hall as well as restaurants, museums and other attractions in Kristiansand are all within short distance of the hotel. Major transport hubs like the railway station and ferry terminal are also nearby. If you are looking for a few relaxing days exploring the gentle Sorlandets countryside, Thon Hotel Kristiansand provides the ideal base. The Hotel has a total of 111 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thon Hotel Kristiansand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Kristiansand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing