We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Norge
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Oxford
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 3 December 2011

My room was high up overlooking the street and unlike another reviewer I found it absolutely quiet. Comfortable room though like many other hotels in Europe there is no kettle or tea making facilities in the room. At the end of a long flight to get to the destination I really do want to be able to make a cup of tea or coffee without having to leave my room. The desk staff/reception were most friendly and charming. I thought the hotel rate very fair as it included a good breakfast in a pleasant venue with plenty of fresh fruit in addition to a delectably diverse range of breads - as well as the usual eggs and other breakfast fare. As a vegetarian I was well catered for. The hotel is within walking distance to the harbour but even closer - around the next block is a road ful of a variety of eateries. But even better is that if you turn left out of the entrance and turn right at the next road DO have a look at the decorative basement Mother India Restaurant. They rate their dishes from 1=Norwegian mild though 3=British bland to 5 and up=Madras etc. (Keep in mind if you are from the UK that food though is pricey in Scandinavian countries).

Room Tip: I had a road front room but quite a few floors up and it was totally quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Safaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    108
    56
    14
    4
See reviews for
38
53
17
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Søgne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I think it`s the best location in Kr.sand.
Have nice rooms and super breakfast.

The resturant can be very full in the weekends.

The hotel does not have a disco, but there are a great disco/pub/resturant over the street, so ask for a room not facing the disco and you will sleep all night long.

You dont ned a taxi to get anywhere in center, because you are there.....

In Kristiansand in the summertime there are "Sommer på torvet" at thursdays from about 16.00 til 23.00, dont miss it, great music, drinking and dancing!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, not facing the front (They know what you mean) Go to see: Fiskebrygga - lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

A boutique hotel by most standards, this is one place that is apt for most business travelers to Kristiansand due to its proximity to Markensgate area. Excellent food is served in the restaurant - though absence of room service is a let down . The rooms are a bit small - but I believe this is a feature throughout Europe. If you are coming from a warm country, please ask them to give you a room where the temperature can be individually controlled

Room Tip: Top floor is the only one that will give a view. Rest look into other buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahul400076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This is a nice hotel - located in the city center of Kristiansand. Nice and friendly staff,clean and
large rooms. The hotel restaurant is also good - with excellent service. Breakfast is also very nice and with lots of choices.

Check in and check out went very easy and quick. The staff managed to get the guest to feel welcome. Some other Rica hotels might have something to learn from this hotel :-)

Room Tip: Ask for and try to get a room on the back side of the hotel. This as there in week-ends might be som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norberg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamble
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

No one said that there was a night club beside the hotel, tried to change the room but it was to late. Couldn't sleep much. When we tried to complain about it in the morning (we are on our honeymoon on our way to danmark) the girl in the resepcion just blew us of as rebel youth wanting a lower price. This is i hotel for old people, having street noise for young people. No kids was made

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianN133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sola Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Visited Kristiansand and Hotel Norge for a night's stay. Had been to the hotel some years back, and it was a pleasant feeling to recognise the ambiance when entering the reception area. It still appears as a well organised hotel with good room and restaurant facilities. Free fruits supply in the reception. The bed was very comfortable with proper duvet, i.e. not the hotel style blanket/sheets combination that is cramped on to to the furniture and usually is a p.i.t.a. to release before going to bed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank q-lay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We arrived to the hotel after the airline lost our luggage. The receptionists did basically everything to assist us. We arrived at the hotel exhausted and after 2 days without a shower. They gave us these small toothbrushes and toothpastes, and when we found out an extra bed was missing, we immediately got an extra room in order to spare us the wait for an extra bed. In the morning they called the airport and made sure the luggage arrives ASAP. The hotel itself was excellent, especially the rich and tasty breakfast.
This has changed our poor mood to a happy one, and for all that we will forever be grateful.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yinon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kristiansand hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
#4 of 19 in Kristiansand
557 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
#2 of 19 in Kristiansand
582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Ernst
Clarion Hotel Ernst
#3 of 19 in Kristiansand
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
#5 of 19 in Kristiansand
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sjoglott Hotel
Sjoglott Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kristiansand
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Norge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Norge

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel Norge
Address: Dronningensgate 5, Kristiansand 4610, Norway (Formerly Hotel Norge)
Region: Norway > Southern Norway > Vest-Agder > Kristiansand
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Norge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Norge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Kristiansand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing