We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Thon Hotel Parken(Kristiansand)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$217
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Clarion Hotel Ernst(Kristiansand)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand(Kristiansand)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Sjoglott Hotel(Kristiansand)(Great Value!)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$181
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ansgar Sommerhotell(Kristiansand)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveller rating
153
185
96
34
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
185
96
34
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschildren's playroombreakfast buffetentire familytraveling with kidspirate shiplate at nightplay roomstayed one nightfree parkingtigerfamiliesdyrepark
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 483 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This hotel is right next to the zoo and is decorated really cute with the Noah's Ark theme. If you don't have children and are looking for a romantic retreat, then you should probably find another hotel. If you have children, however, this place is like paradise.

The children's playroom is AMAZING with bounce houses, children's movies, video games, balloon artists, and face painters. I have never seen a hotel with such an amazing playroom for children -- and we have stayed at many places. I tried to tip the balloon artists after they made several balloon animals for my daughter, but they said "no, thank you" -- it's free. My daughter almost didn't want to leave the play area to go to the zoo (which, by the way, is also fabulous -- and is unlike any zoos I've been to previously). Many parents were sitting outside the play area enjoying beverages, that they purchased, at the comfortable seating area outside the play area.

The rooms were comfortable and had an animal theme. My daughter also loved that the room had a bunkbed (and I was happy it had a good safety barrier so she wouldn't roll off the bed).

For dinner, we ate at the "a la carte" section of the restaurant as it made it easier to have the chef make something for a member of our party with food allergies. This chef went "above and beyond" to let the other chefs know our needs. One of these chefs actually told us about each item on the breakfast buffet, the next morning, to let us know what that person could eat (and which food items contained the allergens - in our case, it's gluten and dairy that we have to avoid for this person). Note: We brought a translated allergy card for our trip which made explanations a lot easier for us, as we don't speak Norwegian (beyond some very simple words).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cwpappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The hotel itself was nice, especially the decor, but the service at the front desk was absolutely horrible. Immediately upon arrival the woman at the front desk had a bad attitude towards customers. I have never been treated at hotel the way we were when checking in. I would even go as far as to say that she did not like children at all, which is strange considering that this is a family hotel next to the zoo.

We will never return to this hotel because of the way this woman treated us. Simply having one bad day can't explain her attitude.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mimi914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This hotel is located at the entrance of the animal park and is a perfect choice for people traveling with children. The rooms and bathrooms are tiny but very clean and many of them have balconies with lake and park views.

Friendly staff and a nice restaurant. The included breakfast buffet was also good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The "Dyreparken" hotel's foremost advantage is the proximity to Dyreparken. We got a room with a window towards the lobby area and it was HOT. We had to escalate to a senior employee to get it changed. The buffet is EXPENSIVE - and for a reason: there's no real competition. The second day, we decided to get pizza in the park just before closing day - worked much better. The hotel is "randomly" good - you could get lucky. The playroom is great, my son liked it almost as much as the park..

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the Sabeltann village. It would weigh up for other inconvenience. And rooms are small, may consider upgrading...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinGj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed in the child-friendly hotel for one night while visiting the Zoo with one child. The room we ordered had one regular bed with alot of pillows, and two smaller beds for children.

The room was quite cramped at night, there really wasn't much space to put our belongings, especiallly when we had a child with us.

In the basement there was a large room where children could play, there were plastic balls, slides, jumping castle, video games, air hockey.

Breakfast was really nice with variety.

The things i didn't like too much were:


Over one of the beds for the children there was an electric tea kettle in a compartment easily reachable by children - the placement didn't feel very child safe.

Although it is a children friendly hotel, it also means that you might have to deal with kids running and making noises in the hallways - for some time in the evening.

The restaurant often served a buffet, which the staff at the reception said was good but the cost was 299 NOK per person which would add quite alot to our expenses (in addition to hotel and zoo access). We instead ordered a pizza by phone from a nearby chain which arrived rapidly and the bill for the pizza was charged directly on the hotel bill.

If you prefer something cheaper there is an IKEA quite near (walking distance) the hotel which usually has meals at a very reasonable rate. And if you decide to walk for 20 minutes, or take a hotel bicycle you can easily get to an area called Sørlandsparken which has a shopping mall and large retail chains.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monsterhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews