We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stars on season” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dyreparken

Dyreparken
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kristiansand Dyrepark is the number one tourist attraction in Norway, attracting close to 1 million visitors each year. It consists of more than 150 different animal species, entertainment, shows, amusement park as well as a seperate water park called Badelandet.
Kristiansand, Vest-Agder, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stars on season”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

It IS a great place but it depends too much on the seasons, since unlike ordinary zoos, much of it its exposed to the elements.

So, in the Winter I would give it two stars. Restaurants and a lot of attractions are closed, including merchandising. It's beyond disapointing. You will NOT see many animals. Remember Jurassic Park (the first and only real good one), when they don't see a single dinossaur? Yeah...it's like that...

And don't get fooled into buying a ticket to the water park section. They will sell it to you shamelessly (if you are a tourist from outside Norway), when you cannot see a damn thing since everything is closed.

On summer though...awesome for everyone!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruben_Alexandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    222
    52
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cupra Marittima, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Best park I ever visited!!!
Animals have so much space, everyone seems just comfortable and calm in its space, which is the best thing you could see watching animals <3

Amazing time spent over there!!

I visited it in Sept. 2006

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arlissia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“You never too old for a trip to the zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

You never too old for a trip to the zoo, and Dyreparken in Kristiansand are probably the best there is. Lot of animals in beautiful surroundings and the staff is very knowledgeable and friendly. Over the years we have been here quite a few times and we have always enjoyed our visit. The only negative thing is the prices for food etc in the park which are quite high, but this is Norway so that is to be expected.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank samuul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Høvåg, Aust-Agder, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“If you are in Kristiansand, you must wisit this exellent park:)))”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is The best Zoo i have ever been in. The animal is taken good care of and have lot of space. Manny other activity for children. You need at least 5 houers to see it all. Have fun:)))

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GreteFjermerosLund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Much more than a zoo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Wow! We were expecting a typical zoo where one goes to view a variety of animals and what we experienced was so much more. There are many activities for children (and adults) including carnival games, a bobsled-type ride, towns with characters, a "haunted house" in pirate town, adventure areas with swings, slides, and climbing areas, among other activities. Of course, they also have a variety of animals at the park also. For the best viewing of the animals, visit during feeding times. We only visited this park for one day. We originally planned for a few hours, but we ended up spending the whole day. We could have easily spent another day at the zoo/park. We did buy a combined pass that included the waterpark, but we never visited the waterpark. Thus, save some money and only buy the combined ticket (zoo and waterpark) if you are absolutely sure you are going to visit the waterpark.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cwpappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dyreparken also viewed

Kristiansand, Vest-Agder
Kristiansand, Vest-Agder
 
Kristiansand, Vest-Agder
Kristiansand, Vest-Agder
 

Been to Dyreparken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing