We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WWII history preserved -- great views”

Kristiansand Kanonmuseum
Oceanside, CA
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“WWII history preserved -- great views”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My dad was the one who wanted to go to Møvik fort and I tagged along. I was very surprised by the gun, the museum and the preservation of the Nazi fort. This huge gun protected almost half the distance from Norway to Denmark. One caution -- there is lots of walking with not too many places for my dad (78) to stop and rest. The paths to the rest of the fort could use a few more signs as we wandered off the path a few times but overall Very Good.
Great views from the fort.
Take a water bottle (no drinking fountains) and a coat as it can get windy

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesJOceanside_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva H, Front Office Manager at Kristiansand Kanonmuseum, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We are happy to see that you found the canon interesting.

It can be quite a walk, but we do hope it was worth the effort.

Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    41
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Kristiansand Norway..........you need to visit”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Arrived in Kristiansand Norway after leaving a dank and dismal Southampton weatherwise, and wow, what a pleasant place to end up. Our Cruise ship berthed a few hundred yards from the town Center in Kristiansand, and we hopped on the 'Hop On/Hop Off' bus service for a tour of the town. An excellent investment these Hop On Hop Off buses, for 20 krone, you can Hop On and Hop off for 24 hours, everyone is given a headset to listen to the commentary in English or whatever language you need. You are taken around the top ten tourist sites in Kristiansand, and you literally Hop Off.......visit.......and Hop back on and then travel onwards to the next place of interest.
What a place, it's clean, tidy and a very nice place to be. Loads of shops and cafe's in the town center selling everything you could want, and with no weight restrictions on a Cruise ship my wife shopped til she dropped, a word or warning though, it can be expensive to shop there, so shop around. Lots of interesting places to see hence the pre able about the Hop On Hop Off service.
Great place to visit......................go and have a look for yourself

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva H, Front Office Manager at Kristiansand Kanonmuseum, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We are happy to see that you enjoyed your visit.

Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Huge cannon and a great view”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

I always take visitors to Kristiansand to this cannon museum. The cannon itself is impressive, and the city has done a nice job with the museum. You get a great view of the coast and the small islands from the top. It is a must-see for anyone interested in World War 2 history. I just wish the museum's opening hours were better. The cannon and the view are always open, though. And they are free.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Clare J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva H, Front Office Manager at Kristiansand Kanonmuseum, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for your nice review.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoy the museum and the view.

Best regards,

Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traralgon, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Kanonmuseum”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Spent 3 hours at this historic site. Well set up with a lot of original equipment. We were able to explore all around. Items numbered to match commentary on paper. Short film also to see, in Norwegian, but you can tell what is going from just the pictures. Guy selling tickets was very knowledgeable and happy to chat and answer questions about the site. Views from the top were fantastic. The site is maintained by volunteers who do a great job.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva H, Front Office Manager at Kristiansand Kanonmuseum, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review.

We will keep up the good work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“History of the 2nd World War”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Artillery instalations constructed by German Wehrmacht shortly after the invation of Norway in 1940. a similar battery was built in Hanstholm, Denmark to prevent British warships to approach Norway, Denmark and the Baltic.Ranging about 55 kilometres the batteries in Hanstholm and Kristiansand covered most of the Skaw passage. The Fortress is well kept and will give you a good information of 2nd Worls War history.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Torbjorn42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kristiansand Kanonmuseum also viewed

Kristiansand, Vest-Agder
Kristiansand, Vest-Agder
 
Kristiansand, Vest-Agder
Kristiansand, Vest-Agder
 

Been to Kristiansand Kanonmuseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing