We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average - but better...”
Review of Hos Naboen

Hos Naboen
Ranked #18 of 125 Restaurants in Kristiansand
Cuisines: Norwegian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Lillesand, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average - but better...”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Located in the middle of the pedestrian shopping street of Kristiansand. Light and friendly mood. Somewhat loud ambience and just average food. Ok to drop by - but will not be a super memorable experience.

Helpful?
Thank jpskaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    69
    42
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lindesnes Municipality, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“In the middle of the pedestrian street”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

It is a great great place to meet friends. Its location in the middle of the pedestrain street makes it one of the best places to "see and be seen", and where your friends always pass by. Good service and good food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Periscope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Shelter from the Sun”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Having walked for half an hour in downtown Kristiansand, searching for a place where we could avoid the blazing sun, we opted for "Hos Naboen", located in the midst of this city's main shopping street, Markens. We were there only to order coffee and we found a nice spot in the shade of their tarpaulin.

We wanted ice-coffee, but since the place insisted on 60 kr. for an ice-coffe drink, we ordered two lattes and a cortado. It took extremely long time for them to make the drinks, but we were in no hurry and enjoyed sitting in the shade on such a warm day. When my boyfriend wnet to use their toilets, he was asked on the way back to bring the drinks for us. That was a bit unusual and not so easy to do without a tray, but that was OK. Aparently they use very good quality coffe there, but they should definitely work on their milk steaming. For us, Oslo-people, a 2 millimeter foam does not count as a foam at all.

Since we did not get to taste any of the food items on the menu, I'd conculde that it's not a bad place, especially teking into consideration the placement, the tarpaulin and the coffee.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marija C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
449 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“a fiendly atmosphere to enjoy an evening”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

the atmosphere is exelent and we just went in for Our dessert and a good glass of wine. This was a Perfect end for the evening

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tor Steinar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terribly bad”
Reviewed 8 February 2013

The restroom was really dirty, sink had dirt left from many weeks. Food was under all decency - the fish smelled raw fish, vegetables burned and potatoes not cooked through. The service was clumsy and confused. Tables not cleaned off and trash from previous guests still left on tables even after cleaning the table. A really bad choice of restaurant - wouldn't recommend it to anyone!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotta Eleon... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hos Naboen also viewed

Kristiansand, Vest-Agder
 
Kristiansand, Vest-Agder
Kristiansand, Vest-Agder
 

Been to Hos Naboen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing