We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, nice new hotel but serious flaws!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
300 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Nice location, nice new hotel but serious flaws!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The stay started badly, having reserved three rooms and an overbooking meant that they wanted to move one of our party to another hotel in town (by taxi). At midnight, and as a part of a group, this was very bad news as we needed to leave early in the morning together. The reception and the rooms are nice, but the temperature was 23 degrees (celsius) and impossible to open window or get AC to work. The result was a bad nights sleep. Trying to use the telephone was a waist (to get help with the AC) as there was no number to reception, and no answer when I called from my mobile. We needed cab in the morning, which we waited 25 minutes for (reception should have told us to book earlier) and, with the extra pick-up, we almost lost our flights!

Room Tip: Make sure that they have a room for you in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gudleiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havard S, General Manager at Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Gudleiv.
Thank you for your review at TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear that your colleague had to be moved to another hotel. Bring him/her our appologies. All our windows should be possible to opened, so here there must be a broken one. I will get my housekeeping-departement to check all windows, and my technical manager to fix it. Regarding taxies they are normally on time. All-in-all, I am sorry we did not deliver as we wish.
Best regards
Håvard Solum
General manager, Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    221
    67
    22
    9
See reviews for
200
100
17
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I chose this hotel based on location and price. The hotel was located near the home of our cousins. It also offered the best price in town for the weekend. (Scandic Friends price) The nearby Aquarama (Olympic-size pool, workout facilities, rock-climbing wall, etc.) was offered at a reduced price to Scandic guests. My husband wished he had come prepared for swimming and working out in their very complete gym. The hotel offered a nice breakfast on the weekend (served until 10:30), with fewer options on the weekday mornings. However, note that by 9 a.m., both weekdays we were there, dishes of food being served were not replenished, even though breakfast was served until 9:30 (weekdays). Exactly at 9:30 everything was removed. Buffet staff were very quick to remove plates, cups, bowls, etc. from tables where we were sitting, almost before we were finished.

The only reason we would return is if we needed to be at this end of town...or we wanted to spend some extended time in the pool or gym. The rooms were not inviting to us. We are probably too old for dimly lit, darkly-painted cinderblock walls without any softening details (like art) and a tiny closet with three hangers. No kleenex. No bathmat for the shower. I did appreciate two plug-ins available on the desk top, however...and a strange contraption near the closet that became three shelves. Also, the bed could be raised/lowered at the head and foot. A different touch.

The staff was helpful for local details, and there were bicycles and walking sticks available to use. The beach and park area are lovely, and there is a small grocery store across the street. It is a perfectly acceptable hotel, especially for the price we paid,...but I think we need a few more creature comforts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as possible, facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmnt24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havard S, General Manager at Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear cmnt24.
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
Regarding the breakfast-routines, I have discussed with the hotel's F&B manager, and asked him to check that we keep the opening hpurs for breakfast. I am sorry that we did not deliver on this issue,
Best regards Håvard Solum
General manager, Scandic Kristiansad Bystranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
244 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The good: It´s new and it´s clean. They have bicycles in the lobby to use and that was a real plus for getting around and exploring the area. The location on the waterfront is pleasant and convenient. Staff is friendly and they try to be accommodating. They have a well-equipped gym and a decent spa.

The questionable and troubling: I wonder whose idea it was to build a skateboarding rink directly at the back of the hotel? You can hear wheels against concrete and the sounds of skateboards slamming down against the pavement at all hours of the day at night if you happen to have a room facing the water, as we had ;-(
Basic information for hotel guest regarding check-out, use of the phone/internet or any other of the now standard info provided by the hotel are completely missing from the rooms. When we asked reception about this we were told that yes, they are aware of the problem and have been trying to get it addressed for over 1 year...Really?!
Breakfast was ok and there was often an unusually long wait for things to be replaced once they ran out.
Tip: Try to avoid buying anything in the hotel lobby, if possible - or at least try and notice if there´s a wait at reception. You will end up waiting in that same queue to pay for your purchases as there is no separate cashier in the hotel lobby.
Parking in the parking garage at the hotel is available but you pay full price for it.

Room Tip: Buyer beware: Rooms facing the water that receive quite a lot of noise from the skateboarding rink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Volkolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havard S, General Manager at Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Volkolas.
Thank you very much for taking time to give us feedback.
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Regarding your questions and comments about the skateboard rink: The skateboard rink is close to the beach. The problem is that some of the skaters, some times use the publuc area close to the hotel to skate. Earlier this week I send a message to the local authorities that they must do some thing to avoid this, because of noise. Hopefully they will fix this soon.
Regarding info on the room, there should be two pages on every room. I willl ask the house keeoing departement to chech all rooms, ad also inform the reception.
Best regards
Håvard Solum
General manager Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We were looking for a budget stay in Kristiansand and found a good one in this hotel. Parking in parking garage under the hotel. Easy to find from E18. You step out of the hotel and you are on the beach promenade. And just a short stroll into the towns center. Very friendly and helpfull personelle. Large breakfast and lots of sitting room. Rooms are spacious, with super solutions if you have a couple of kids and need two more cots. The cots are easily folded out from the wall. Easy access to a large water and spa facility that is just beside, and a rebated price for hotel customers. Playground, volleyball, tennis tables and other facilities in a park just on the backside of the hotel. Excellent outside sitting possibilities. A littlebit noise from the hall.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and a bit high up. No traffic on this side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vemund F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havard S, Daglig leder at Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Vemund F.
Thank you for your kind review at Tripadvisor. I am really happy you enjoyed your stay at Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda, and we hope to see you again soon.
Best regards
Håvard Solum
General manager, Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Just returned from our second stay at this great hotel in Kristiansand. The location is as good as it gets; situated just a few steps from a nice, clean beach, small boat harbour, city center and historical buildings. Whatever season you visit this hotel, make sure to bring your training - and bathing clothes as there is a huge sportscenter literally right next door. You will also find a spa in the center. Splendid surroundings for those of us who like to go for a run, as well. The hotel itself has an air of stylish, Scandinavian design throughout - and the huge windows lets in beautiful light from the coast. The staff is natural, helpful and forwarding in a pleasant manner. We`ve had breakfast and lunch at this hotel, and both were most satisfactory. The rooms are modern, functional and clean - and the beds are simply the best hotel beds we`ve ever experienced. Highly recommendable!

Room Tip: Go for a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havard S, Daglig leder at Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Anne N.
Thank you for your really nice and pleasant review here on Tripadvisor. I will share your feedback with the team here at Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda.
Thank you again, and we hope to see you again soon.
Best regards
Håvard Solum
General manager, Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Looking for a budget weekend taking whoeverwantstogo to the attractions of Kristiansand (Kristansand Dyrepark, the beaches...), this is a safe bet if you can take 300 families out looking for Captain Sabeltann and chimpanzees. Rooms are clean, location excellent, breakfast really good, the open spaces and eating space outdoors gems. But you have to be able to live with those kids - and the rooms are taken from the manual of sterility.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geirsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havard S, Daglig leder at Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hello Geirsan
Thank you for your review here on Tripadvisor. Like you comment, the hotel and Sørlandet in general, have been packed with children and families this Eastern. So quite busy. I am happy you enjoyed breakfast, clean rooms and our great location.
I hope we can welcome you back.
Best regards
Håvard Solum
General manager, Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My wife and I had a week-end in Kristiansand and got a room in the new Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda Hotel. It was a very pleasant experience with a nice room with a fantastic view over the fjord, nice meals, friendly staff and the location of the hotel was also top. I recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Kristiansand.

Room Tip: You MUST try to get a room on the South side or on the South-West corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Johan Fredrik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havard S, Daglig leder at Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Johan Fredrik
Thank you for your fantastic review on Tripadvisor. I really appreciate your feedback and recommodation and I will share this with my staff. Thank you!.
Hope to see you again soon.
Best regards
Håvard Solum
Genaral manager, Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kristiansand hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
#4 of 19 in Kristiansand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Ernst
Clarion Hotel Ernst
#2 of 19 in Kristiansand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
#5 of 19 in Kristiansand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Norge
Best Western Plus Hotel Norge
#7 of 19 in Kristiansand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
5.6 mi away
Scandic Sorlandet
Scandic Sorlandet
#11 of 19 in Kristiansand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda

Property: Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
Address: Oestre Strandgate 74, Kristiansand 4608, Norway
Region: Norway > Southern Norway > Vest-Agder > Kristiansand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to hotel Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda Our new hotel in Kristiansand, Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda, is the largest hotel in the city and also in Southern Norway. The hotel opened in June 2013.Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda is located on "Bystranda", Kristiansand's city beach. Only a couple of minutes by foot from the hotel you find the town's main street. From the hotel you have an idyllic view across the Norwegian skerries, from the hotel rooms as well as the restaurant. Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda has something to offer everyone. The hotel forms an integral part of Aquarama, which among its many features includes a water park, a training center and a spa. Our guests use the training facilities for free. Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda has 229 rooms, 814 beds as well as conference capacities for approx 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Scandic Hotels, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing