We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
Nearby Hotels
Scandic Sorlandet(Kristiansand)
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Comfort Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sjoglott Hotel(Kristiansand)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dyreparken Hotell(Kristiansand)
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand(Kristiansand)(Great Value!)
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Clarion Hotel Ernst(Kristiansand)
US$166
Clarion Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Abra Havn(Kristiansand)
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kristiansand Feriesenter Dvergsnestangen(Kristiansand)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (762)
Filter reviews
762 results
Traveller rating
327
296
90
36
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
296
90
36
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity beachindoor waterparkfree accesswater parksame buildingmodern hotelfamily roomfitness centerhotel guestswould highly recommend this hotelsea viewexcellent hotelthe breakfast areanice locationgreat roommin walknice hotell
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 762 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Only a brief stay unfortunately, but a very high standard of architecture and facilities make this venue a joy to visit. Our room was luxurious and well appointed, but it's not clear why a room for disabled should be sited furthest from the lifts. Also, rather curious was the fact we had coffee and tea in the room but no hot water making facilities!
The hotel is large and somewhat impersonal but staff are friendly and helpful.
Will be staying there again soon and looking forward to it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lancerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havard S, Daglig leder at Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Lancerlot.
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I hope your next stay will last longer and wish you welcome back.
Best regards
Håvard Solum
General manager, Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The stay started badly, having reserved three rooms and an overbooking meant that they wanted to move one of our party to another hotel in town (by taxi). At midnight, and as a part of a group, this was very bad news as we needed to leave early in the morning together. The reception and the rooms are nice, but the temperature was 23 degrees (celsius) and impossible to open window or get AC to work. The result was a bad nights sleep. Trying to use the telephone was a waist (to get help with the AC) as there was no number to reception, and no answer when I called from my mobile. We needed cab in the morning, which we waited 25 minutes for (reception should have told us to book earlier) and, with the extra pick-up, we almost lost our flights!

Room Tip: Make sure that they have a room for you in this hotel!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gudleiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havard S, General Manager at Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Gudleiv.
Thank you for your review at TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear that your colleague had to be moved to another hotel. Bring him/her our appologies. All our windows should be possible to opened, so here there must be a broken one. I will get my housekeeping-departement to check all windows, and my technical manager to fix it. Regarding taxies they are normally on time. All-in-all, I am sorry we did not deliver as we wish.
Best regards
Håvard Solum
General manager, Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I chose this hotel based on location and price. The hotel was located near the home of our cousins. It also offered the best price in town for the weekend. (Scandic Friends price) The nearby Aquarama (Olympic-size pool, workout facilities, rock-climbing wall, etc.) was offered at a reduced price to Scandic guests. My husband wished he had come prepared for swimming and working out in their very complete gym. The hotel offered a nice breakfast on the weekend (served until 10:30), with fewer options on the weekday mornings. However, note that by 9 a.m., both weekdays we were there, dishes of food being served were not replenished, even though breakfast was served until 9:30 (weekdays). Exactly at 9:30 everything was removed. Buffet staff were very quick to remove plates, cups, bowls, etc. from tables where we were sitting, almost before we were finished.

The only reason we would return is if we needed to be at this end of town...or we wanted to spend some extended time in the pool or gym. The rooms were not inviting to us. We are probably too old for dimly lit, darkly-painted cinderblock walls without any softening details (like art) and a tiny closet with three hangers. No kleenex. No bathmat for the shower. I did appreciate two plug-ins available on the desk top, however...and a strange contraption near the closet that became three shelves. Also, the bed could be raised/lowered at the head and foot. A different touch.

The staff was helpful for local details, and there were bicycles and walking sticks available to use. The beach and park area are lovely, and there is a small grocery store across the street. It is a perfectly acceptable hotel, especially for the price we paid,...but I think we need a few more creature comforts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as possible, facing the water.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmnt24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havard S, General Manager at Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear cmnt24.
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
Regarding the breakfast-routines, I have discussed with the hotel's F&B manager, and asked him to check that we keep the opening hpurs for breakfast. I am sorry that we did not deliver on this issue,
Best regards Håvard Solum
General manager, Scandic Kristiansad Bystranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The good: It´s new and it´s clean. They have bicycles in the lobby to use and that was a real plus for getting around and exploring the area. The location on the waterfront is pleasant and convenient. Staff is friendly and they try to be accommodating. They have a well-equipped gym and a decent spa.

The questionable and troubling: I wonder whose idea it was to build a skateboarding rink directly at the back of the hotel? You can hear wheels against concrete and the sounds of skateboards slamming down against the pavement at all hours of the day at night if you happen to have a room facing the water, as we had ;-(
Basic information for hotel guest regarding check-out, use of the phone/internet or any other of the now standard info provided by the hotel are completely missing from the rooms. When we asked reception about this we were told that yes, they are aware of the problem and have been trying to get it addressed for over 1 year...Really?!
Breakfast was ok and there was often an unusually long wait for things to be replaced once they ran out.
Tip: Try to avoid buying anything in the hotel lobby, if possible - or at least try and notice if there´s a wait at reception. You will end up waiting in that same queue to pay for your purchases as there is no separate cashier in the hotel lobby.
Parking in the parking garage at the hotel is available but you pay full price for it.

Room Tip: Buyer beware: Rooms facing the water that receive quite a lot of noise from the skateboarding rink located directly in back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Volkolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havard S, General Manager at Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Volkolas.
Thank you very much for taking time to give us feedback.
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Regarding your questions and comments about the skateboard rink: The skateboard rink is close to the beach. The problem is that some of the skaters, some times use the publuc area close to the hotel to skate. Earlier this week I send a message to the local authorities that they must do some thing to avoid this, because of noise. Hopefully they will fix this soon.
Regarding info on the room, there should be two pages on every room. I willl ask the house keeoing departement to chech all rooms, ad also inform the reception.
Best regards
Håvard Solum
General manager Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We were looking for a budget stay in Kristiansand and found a good one in this hotel. Parking in parking garage under the hotel. Easy to find from E18. You step out of the hotel and you are on the beach promenade. And just a short stroll into the towns center. Very friendly and helpfull personelle. Large breakfast and lots of sitting room. Rooms are spacious, with super solutions if you have a couple of kids and need two more cots. The cots are easily folded out from the wall. Easy access to a large water and spa facility that is just beside, and a rebated price for hotel customers. Playground, volleyball, tennis tables and other facilities in a park just on the backside of the hotel. Excellent outside sitting possibilities. A littlebit noise from the hall.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and a bit high up. No traffic on this side.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vemund F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havard S, Daglig leder at Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Vemund F.
Thank you for your kind review at Tripadvisor. I am really happy you enjoyed your stay at Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda, and we hope to see you again soon.
Best regards
Håvard Solum
General manager, Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews