We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel close to the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Real nice hotel close to a small beach and to great restaurants "Sjøhuset". Nice personell and training facilities are included in the room prices. Only bad thin is if you travel alot to Scandic hotels the menu is similar on the hotels. I use to eat the "todays dish" that varies.

This hotel has real nice beds, which is important to me.

Room Tip: Far up and away from the elevators, try the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrik_MrCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havard S, Daglig leder at Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Patrick_MrCoffee.
Thank you for taking time to give us a very positive review on tripAdvisor. We hope to see you soon again.
Best regards
Håvard Solum
General manager, Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Super room with a nice bath, beach view and a short walk to the centre of town. Right in front of the building, you can swim in the sea and watch the boats. Breakfast is served as a buffet. The atmosphere is very airy and open, but calm. We walked along the harbor and up the riverbanks of Otra. The area called «Posebyen» is a charming old part of the city. Also Odderøya and Ravnedalen was easy to reach by foot. I liked this hotel also because of the kindness from the staff. They told us where to park the car for free, and looked after our luggage long after we had checked out.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Havogland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havard S, Daglig leder at Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Havogland.
Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards
Håvard Solum
General manager, Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Very nice, modern, hotel in a good location. Walking distance from the main street.

Very family oriented. Good breakfast, nice restaurant for dinner if you don't want to eat the buffet.

Didn't like the idea of paying for parking. you don't have any where else to park and you pay the same amount as a guest of the hotel as just a day visitor to the area (and it's the hotel's parking....)

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room with sea view... You won't get it if you arrive late....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank YaeliGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havard S, Daglig leder at Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear YaeliGr
Thank you for yord kind review. Regarding the parking there are also possible to park in the surrounding areas. The parking in the basemant is not a part of the hotel, but is operated by an other company.
Hope to see you again.
Best regards
Håvard Solum
General manager, Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

With 4 familymembers we styed one night after some days in the montains - the perfect ending; superb rooms, colors, furniture, great outdoor facilities, nice to bring your breakfast out on the roofdeck overlooking the sea and the beach, tasty breakfast, nice atmosphere, grab one of the free bicycles... this is what we have been waiting for in the southern pat of Norway

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torkil t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havard S, Daglig leder at Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Torkil T
Thank you for a fantastic review om TripAdvisor. I am really happy for your kind words.
We hope to see you again and wish you a great summer.
Best regards
Håvard Solum
General manager, Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Perfect location on the beach and walking distance to the main street in Kristiansand. Very nice outdoor area for the hotels guest. Ask for a room with sea view! Good restaurant with great menu. Quiet location. Parking house - easy to park the car. Rooms are big with nice modern bathrooms and comfortable beds! Free WiFi. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havard S, Daglig leder at Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Elisabsk.
Thank you for very positive feedback here at TripAdvisor. We really appreciate it.
Hope to see you again soon.
Best regards
H. Solum
General manager, Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Very modern new hotel near the centre of the city near the beach and marina. Sparsely decorated rooms, mine had a view of an adjacent wall. Bicycles available for the clients to use which is very handy as most arttractions are within cycling distance. Restaurant is good, breakfast is very good. Hotel is rather expensive for what it is.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, not a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Casper P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havard S, Daglig leder at Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Hello Casper P
Thank you for taking time to review us on Tripadvisor.
Have a nice summer.
Best regards
H. Solum
General manager, Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

A nice modern and spacious hotel
Having stayed at the hotel twice over a weeks period we had two different types of room outlook.
The first we had was a rather dark room to the rear of the hotel looking at a walkway or wall, the second visit however (hotel was less busy) we had a room looking out over park and beach- a lovely view. A comfortable bed and we slept very well. Bathroom was clean and the shower was excellent. rooms on both nights were almost identical but the extra light and windows afforded to the room at the front of the hotel makes it feel worlds apart.
Parking (chargeable) was excellent with large spaces and well lit, a lift from the carpark directly to the rooms and reception. Wifi was excellent and reliable throughout the hotel.
The food and breakfast was very good with plenty of space to sit and eat- including outside.
We found the bar service lacking but a note does point you to the reception to get service.
There's a nice selection of snacks and soft drinks, along with a coffee machine alongside of the reception.
Free soup to guests in the lobby was a pleasant surprise as were the bikes.
Email to self checkout was a nice feature.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the hotel offer lovely views and the sunshine makes them seem brighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwp12c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havard S, Daglig leder at Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear gwp12c.
Thank you for nice review. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay here at Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda.
We hope to see you soon.
Best regards
Håvard Solum
General manager, Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kristiansand hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
#3 of 19 in Kristiansand
622 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Ernst
Clarion Hotel Ernst
#4 of 19 in Kristiansand
696 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
#5 of 19 in Kristiansand
357 reviews
5.6 mi away
Scandic Sorlandet
Scandic Sorlandet
#9 of 19 in Kristiansand
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sjoglott Hotel
Sjoglott Hotel
#7 of 19 in Kristiansand
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda

Address: Oestre Strandgate 74, Kristiansand 4608, Norway
Region: Norway > Southern Norway > Vest-Agder > Kristiansand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Price Range: £107 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to hotel Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda Our new hotel in Kristiansand, Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda, is the largest hotel in the city and also in Southern Norway. The hotel opened in June 2013.Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda is located on "Bystranda", Kristiansand's city beach. Only a couple of minutes by foot from the hotel you find the town's main street. From the hotel you have an idyllic view across the Norwegian skerries, from the hotel rooms as well as the restaurant. Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda has something to offer everyone. The hotel forms an integral part of Aquarama, which among its many features includes a water park, a training center and a spa. Our guests use the training facilities for free. Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda has 229 rooms, 814 beds as well as conference capacities for approx 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing