We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special but the best in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thon Hotel Backlund
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Levanger
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Nothing special but the best in town”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

For those unacquainted with Levanger, the small town has a limited selection of accommodation. However, Backlund is alright and probably the best in town. Decent breakfast. Wireless internet free of charge. A little noise from the corridor and the street, but not really a problem. Somewhat run worn, but acceptable.

If one finds oneself in Levanger, this is probably the best choice. You can walk anywhere in town in about 5 minuties time (e.g. railway station, hospital, Univ. Coll. etc.)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oyvindei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trond M, Resepsjonssjef at Thon Hotel Backlund, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your review! We will strive to make your next stay more unique, and wish you welcome back to Levanger and Backlund!

Kind Regards
Trond Mørkved
Head Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    15
    39
    8
    8
See reviews for
11
20
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed one night at the 3rd floor, room 306. Nice and clean room, but with a view of the backyard. The staff was friendly and helpful. Free internet and a small, but tasty breakfast. If you travel by car you have to pay a parking fee, 12 NOK per hour. The hotel is situated in the town center with many restaurants and bars nearby. Would not recommend the food from No. 39.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiverNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Nothing fancy or pretentious about this place and the view from our room was uninspiring. The room itself was spacious and comfortable, just what we needed at the end of our wildlife trip. Dinner was basic bar food but plentiful and my husband won a free dessert - they leave you mysterious messages with your cutlery (very mysterious if you don't understand Norwegian) and his qualified him for a free pud - nice quirky touch. Breakfast ok.
We were only there one night but it was fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLewises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
294 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

This is a very central hotel in Levanger, the building is old and dated although the rooms are renovated, clean and of a decent standard. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. During my stay there was a new lift being installed which meant i had to walk with all my bags to the 4th floor, not something you would like to do after a 12hr day.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eblac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forde, Norway
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We booked this hotel with the coop hotel deal, so the rate was very good. Upon arrival we checked into a very very dated room with a musty smell from the carpet. We could not stay in such a dated room with a smell. We asked to change rooms. We were then given a renovated room with laminate floors, no carpet, a sitting sofa and two very comfortable beds. Roomservice did a poor job however. Came back to dirt on the floors and beds messily made.
I enjoyed a bath in the tub as well as having large closets to put my clothes in. The room was perfect.

The hotel itself looks like they are upgrading.
So when booking ask for a newer room.
The breakfast restaurant area was also dated dark interior.
The fresh omelette from the buffet was a nice treat on a Sat. morning.
Reception staff were helpful with room changes, using printer, and suggestions about restaturants and things to do as well as directions.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank can-nor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaarina, Finland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Old hotel in the centre of Levanger. If you have to stay in Levanger this is very OK. The train station is just a short walk from here.

For local school student's they seemed to have OK prices - otherwise it's overpriced.

Hotel is old and you feel it - rooms needed upgrading.
On the other hand there was renovating going on...

Breakfast was very basic.

All an all hotel was still kind of cozy.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northerntraveller73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Levanger hotels

Varna, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2008

I was on business in Norway and stayed for 10 days in Norlandia Backlund Hotel.

Norlandia Balcklund is the only hotel in Levanger and claims a 100+ years hustory.

I booked initially for 5 days and than stayed additional 5 days as the job took longer to complete. This way I was in two rooms of this hotel. Rooms are reasonable size, but the furniture seems a bit outdated. Cleanliness was good. The electric system is old and there are only 2 sockets, taken by TV and desk lamp. There is no phone in the room and no room service.

The staff was friendly and willing to help. Due to prolonged stay I had to use the laundry and although the hotel does not have their laundry service they were so kind to send my laundry to the service they use for linen.

The hotel restaurant was split by curtains in two areas - one used for breakfast and the other one as restaurant in the evenings. The menu was short and supposed to be changed weekly, which did not hapen while I was there. Otherwise the food was good and beautifuly arranged. I must say that it seemed on a pricey side as almost everything in Norway.

The hotel restaurant was booked for private parties on the weekends . There was a Chinese restaurant and pizzeria just across the street, so this was not a big problem.

The breakfast buffet was reasonable, although not as rich as in Rennaissance and Radisson for example. There was no brown sugar, so the only option to white sugar was sweetener.

Overall a reasonable hotel for a small town like Levanger, but somewaht spoiled by the lack of competition.

  • Liked — Staf friendliness
  • Disliked — Rooms furniture
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Zed61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Levanger
6.5 mi away
Stiklestad Park Hotell
6.5 mi away
Verdal Hotel AS
Verdal Hotel AS
#2 of 3 in Verdal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
8.8 mi away
Scandic Stiklestad
Scandic Stiklestad
#1 of 3 in Verdal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Best Western Tingvold Park Hotel
19.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Grand
Quality Hotel Grand
#2 of 4 in Steinkjer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
23.8 mi away
Scandic Hell
Scandic Hell
#1 of 1 in Vaernes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Backlund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Backlund

Property: Thon Hotel Backlund
Address: Kirkegata 41, Levanger 7600, Norway
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Nord-Trondelag > Levanger Municipality > Levanger
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Levanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Hotel Backlund 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Backlund is located in the centre of Levanger, close to the city park and in walking distance from the railway station. The closest airport is Trondheim Airport Vaernes, 50 kilometers away by road or train. Levanger has a long trading history and the yearly market tradition called "Martna'n" (The Market) has roots over 500 years back. The hotel has its own history, celebrated its 175th anniversary in 2014 and offers a pleasant atmosphere with emphasis on personal service and comfort. Levanger is located by the Trondheim fjord and the city harbor is only a few blocks away from the hotel. In and around the city you will find attractions and museums such as the Falstad center (WWII monument and museum), museum of cultural heritage, old monasteries and rock carvings dating back thousands of years. Levanger can also provide good areas for fishing and hunting and has many trails for hiking and other nature experiences. The hotel houses three conference rooms with a capacity of up to 100 people. The restaurant "Bistro No39" is a popular meeting place, daytime café and a-la-carte restaurant which draws both guests and locals to its tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thon Hotel Backlund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing