We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and cheaper than some in Norway”
Review of Den Gode Nabo - CLOSED

Den Gode Nabo
Price range: US$15 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Den Gode Nabo is a place where it is possible to have a conversation, even if the atmosphere may be a bit noisy at times. An informal pub where you also can get a good meal.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cozy and cheaper than some in Norway”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Fantastic location over the water. We sat inside as it was winter, brrr, but it's extra cozy inside with a range of tables small tiny romantic couples corners to large group tables. The decoration is all brooding and wooden with some great touches like a random old fashioned weighing scale.
The beer is cheaper than some places elsewhere in Norway (if you get the local stuff).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    46
    12
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Come here for beers and laughs”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

A tip: If you're tall, bend down.

Go here for beers. In summer you can sit down on outside. You'll find a huge selection of beers. It's one of my favourite places to go for a few drinks. They do have food but I've only ordered snacks and well, those tasted like... snacks. Exactly what you'd expect, nothing more, nothing less. Minus for unpleasant toilets and no decent place outside to go if you're one of those who enjoy a cigarette or two in between the drinks.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tigerpeluche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Drinks outside with a fantastic view”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We just stopped by here for a drink, which led to 2 because the view is fantastic. you are sitting right out on the water and there is ample room out there. Umbrellas to be in the shade if you desire. The wine was just ok - it was a pub after all - but we highly recommend the outside area for a drink.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandiUKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesund, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent place for enjoying a few beers”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Den Gode Nabo can boast an impressive selection of beers, including lots from small Norwegian breweries. If you're not afraid of paying 15-20 euros for some quality beer, this is most certainly worth a visit. The staff is also more than capable of and willing to guide you in your selection of brew.

The interior of the place is nice, just as dingy as a good pub should be, but at the same time welcoming. Den Gode Nabo is also remarkably crowded at all times during the week, due to its good relationship with the various student organizations of Trondheim. The food ranges from outright mediocre to decent, but should not play a bigger part than as merely something to chew alongside the beer.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank norwegian000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Bad Neighbour”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I went to 'Den Gode Nabo' with a large group of people from a student organisation. The agreement was that everybody would have a 'pizza buffet', NOK 68, and choose drinks on their own. It turned out that 'buffet' meant that all 10 tables consistently would be served insufficient numbers of pizzas for the approximately two hours we were at the place; my girlfriend had two and a half slices of pizza, I had four slices, and I think others had even less. Furthermore, the quality of the pizzas we did receive was appalling - most likely it was simply ready-made pizzas from the nearest supermarket.
The service, then, was just as awful. The teenagers who worked there clearly felt uncomfortable with the situation, and they did not manage to pay any attention to us customers at all. It felt as if they specifically tried not to get in eye contact with us. Moreover, I am impressed that when a group of 10 tables books a place, you do not even put something as elementary as water, plates, or cutlery on the tables - we had to eat the pizzas (that we did not really see much of) from our napkins.
I certainly will not go again, not just for a beer either. With service as inexperienced and poor as this, there are so many other places at Bakkelandet one can opt for. This one, though, is atrocious.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank HP G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Den Gode Nabo also viewed

Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
 
Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing