We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place in Trondheim”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fem Bord - CLOSED

Fem Bord
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian, Norwegian
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best place in Trondheim”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Having read a lot of good reviews of Fem Bord we were eager to try it out, and I now dare claim this is the best high-end restaurant in Trondheim. They have a slight "modernist" approach to their dishes, mixing classic and more unexpected flavours very successfully. They also have a very good wine selection.
The most memorable dish was probably the dill ice cream with cucumber and meringue.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pål L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    4
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really trying hard to be better than the rest. Not succeeding 100 %...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Been to Fem Bord a few times now, and the first visit was the best experience.

The atmosphere and the interior of the place is very good. Five tables, all with a nice view to the cooking area where the cehfs prepare the food. Even the waitor is wearing a kitchen uniform, strengthening the feeling of closeness to the kitchen.

The staff seems genuinely interested in what they are doing and the wellbeing of their customers, and the service is very good. For me the problem lies in the food. It seems that they are stuck on making things look stunning and nice up to the point that they forget that this in fact is a meal. I've been to seven (or eight) course meals here and left hungry. (And a bit tipsy due to drinking the paired wine with too little food.)

Also the courses vary from (in my taste) nothing special to spectacular. Som of the best food I've had in a long, long time I've had here. Had they not charged premium plus, I'd accepted that and voted this a decent value, but being uneven as they are and charging more than any other restaurant in town, I give them a four out of five.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
207 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Trying Hard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

This is a very pleasant restaurant with yes 5 tables! Service was acceptable but to be honest confusing. The menu had great potential but it lacked that little extra in most areas, it felt as though 2nd class ingredients had been used. It was very expensive compared to other restaurants in the city.

Helpful?
1 Thank RaezoR57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molde, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent and exciting food, that both tastes and looks good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

They managed to combine the food and the wine perfect! And the service was excellent. Very good food with different new flavours, that we had never tasted before. And we dine out a lot! Thats a bonus treat for us. We recomend this restaurant for people who are looking for a new and intimate experience. They only actually have five tables!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmidalaNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

As said in the other reviews the concept is 5 tables only. You can choose between 4 and 8 courses, We chose 5 and were a litle afraid of the fact we would have no idea what they would be. But all were a strange mixture of foods which worked really well. The service is excellent with the waiter explaining each dish as it arrives. A little pricey sure, but well worth with for fabulous food. Woudl definatly return!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngusY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fem Bord also viewed

Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
 
Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing