We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's a lot going for this boutique hotel!”
Review of Scandic Bakklandet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scandic Bakklandet
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed in this hotel for three nights on a second trip to Trondheim.

This is a hotel located on the river, a few minutes walk from the city centre. It is built to match the older wharf buildings, with good sized, well appointed rooms. Most rooms are situated in parallel blocks running away from the river, so about half only have a view of the other block. Public spaces are well thought out and make full use of the wonderful long days (in June). They also look as if they will be inviting in the long nights of the winter too!

A good compliment of staff, with great food in the restaurant in the evening and breakfast. Free internet (hurrah!). Good sound insulation, and a small gym.

Its hard to fault this hotel - the only tiny niggle: the only ironing facilities are in the small gym! I guess enough ironing will keep you fit too ...!

Yes the restaurant and bar prices are high, but not out of pace with the rest of Trondheim.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keitharrowsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
There are newer reviews for Scandic Bakklandet
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 267 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2012

This time I had a nice private weekend together with my 25 years old daughter. We really enjoyed our stay. Nice and helpful employees, clean hotel, fantastic view from room 616, food excellent. Good security. A pity that airport buses did not stop close to hotel this time. Lots of roadworks in Trondheim. Only approx 10-15 minutes walk to Nidarosdomen. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gulla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This hotel is modernly decorated and has absolutely great beds. We had superior rooms towards the river, and it was great. Good security. The breakfast was wonderful, and so was the fish we ate in the restaurant at night. Nice and friendly staff. Very well located in the middle of the city - a 15 min walk from the Nidaros cathedral.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ragnhild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Let's be honest: Norway is not the country in which you get the lost out of your money with regard to hotels.
Hence, this Rica Bakklandet is a very good surprise: very nicely located, very good decoration inside, from the lobby to the restaurant, but also, corridors and lifts, it all looks cosy and pleasant.
Rooms are nice, very good quality of beds and linen, nice furniture, good wifi easy to use, maybe the bathroom would deserve more attention, but overall, very good, and good sound proofing.
Breakfast was very good and plentiful, staff friendly and efficient.
For various reasons (plane delay among others), I checked in early morning, and checked out just before noon then: without asking anything, my bill was cut by half from the price I booked the room, really appreciated a lot.
In short: warmly recommend Rica Bakklandet to the visitor in Trondheim, it's a good hotel.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
Thank Marc-Philippe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel the past weekend, and were very happy with our stay. The room was tastefully decorated and clean, and allthough we had a room facing traffic we were not bothered by noise. The staff were very friendly, and the location was perfect for exploring the city by foot. The breakfast was excellent!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tea Kristin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The restaurant manager's ability to lead by example is unique. His attentiveness, positive attitude, and ability to make the gusets feel very special is lufting his entre staff to a level which is found only in top hotell Around the would. I surely have stayed in quite a few of these having been traveling more than 250 days a year for more than 20 years all over the world. In my travel I have always paid more attention to staying in the best hotels, dining at the best restaurants, than flying expensively

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulVorkinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Very nice and modern hotel. Great location by the river with walking distance to city centre, restaurants, Bakklandet, Solsiden and most sights. At the same time very accessible by car and no disturbance or noise in the evenings. The staff was friendly and service minded. The restaurant served very nice food, especially the fish dishes was wonderful. But the restaurant prices was a bit high (even in norwegian standards it was in the price-range you'll expect in top-range restaurants).

I can reccomend this hotel for all kind of travellers and I'll use it again the next time I'll be visiting Trondheim.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 25 in Trondheim
1,342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Grand Olav
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
913 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Solsiden
Scandic Solsiden
#7 of 25 in Trondheim
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Bakklandet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Bakklandet

Address: Nedre Bakklandet 60, Trondheim 7014, Norway (Formerly Rica Bakklandet Hotel)
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Price Range: £92 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Bakklandet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Bakklandet hotel is centrally located in the heart of Trondheim along the river Nidelven by Bakke Bro. The harbour, bus and train station are within walking distance. Our hotel has a restaurant that serves a hearty breakfast, as well as dinner with a wide range of international dishes and local specialities. If you're planning a meeting, conference or event, we can provide flexible facilities for up to 40 participants. We also have a fitness room, as well as a relax lounge and sauna. Free WiFi is available in all our rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Bakklandet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing