We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor cleaning, good hotel”
Review of Scandic Bakklandet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scandic Bakklandet
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

+ Nice room, decent size and modern interior
+ Good bed
+ Breakfast had something for everyone
+ Decent location

- The bathroom was poorly cleaned (especially the floor in the shower and the toilet)

Overall: easily a 4/5 if cleaned properly, but only a 3/5 from me this time

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Oslolosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (776)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 776 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

A chain hotel that doesn't feel like a chain. That might have something to do with the Scandanavian-only brand (Rica), but as soon as I walked this felt intimate and cosy.

The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly (stored my bags for the day after getting in early from the Hurtigruten), helped with airport bus information and were always attentive.

Location very good - 10 minutes from the station; airport bus-stop right outside (be warned, Trondheim airport is a long way!); City centre 5 minutes walk (so away from the noise). Room was a good size, very clean and all amenities including coffee/tea; free WiFi; different pillows on offer.

Breakfast (free in my rate) was staggering, the choice was simply mind-blowing and beautifully presented. If I hadn't had a plane to catch, I could have grazed for hours! Only thing missing was a fresh omelette.

First time in a Rica hotel and will continue to book with them where I can after this experience - outstanding!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank empathology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

First time in Norway working in the town of Trondheim. Found this hotel on google search. Everything was perfect. Lovely staff and rooms were comfortable. The bed was so lovely - best nights sleep for ages. The big mention though should be reserved for the breakfast which, quite frankly, is the best breakfast I have EVER seen! Worth it just for that.

The only down side was the gym which comprises a treadmill and bike and bizarrely an ironing board! Has a great view though from the 6th floor. You're better off though getting acquainted with the town and going for a jog!

Book it. No hesitation.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Hatbox22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We recently moved to Trondheim and stayed a couple of times at the hotel before we moved.This hotel has everything you need for a comfortable stay in the heart of Trondheim. Short walking-distance to everything.

The interior is modern and tasteful, the view from the restaurant is onto the river and the Merchants quarters. The Breakfast is served in the restaurant, and is the best I've had in a Norwegian hotel.

I recommend this hotel to everybody who is planning a stay in Trondheim!

Room Tip: Book a room With a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aob77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I stayed at Rica Bakklanded for a 5 nights and I could not have been more satisfied with my stay. The room was very inviting, the staff friendly, the bed was almost as comfortable as my own and the breakfast table was very nice. As I was on business I spent some time in my river-facing room doing work and I really enjoyed the atmosphere there. The room was so quiet I never heard anything from outside or the other rooms. The hallways are so quiet you can hardly hear your own footsteps! I was so pleased with the hotel I found myself compelled to make myself a Trip Advisor account to give it a good review.

Room Tip: As for a river facing room, the view is fantastik.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Addinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Smaller and less pretentious than its big brother "Rica Nidelv" further out, but its closer to the city centre and the staff are so much nicer! Don´t be scared by the attached multi-level parking house, the hotel in itself is new, the rooms are quiet and the views from the lobby restaurant and river-facing rooms is actually very good. The breakfast is excellent.

Room Tip: Superior room have better views and better place (but are more expensive).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ingme2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Friendly staff immaculately clean and a great breakfast. Rooms quite small but practical with free wifi. Bathroom modern bathroom with large walk-in shower. Ideally located in the centre of town with view over the river.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skipf32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 25 in Trondheim
1,366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Grand Olav
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#7 of 25 in Trondheim
929 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Solsiden
Scandic Solsiden
#5 of 25 in Trondheim
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Bakklandet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Bakklandet

Address: Nedre Bakklandet 60, Trondheim 7014, Norway (Formerly Rica Bakklandet Hotel)
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Price Range: £90 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Bakklandet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Bakklandet hotel is centrally located in the heart of Trondheim along the river Nidelven by Bakke Bro. The harbour, bus and train station are within walking distance. Our hotel has a restaurant that serves a hearty breakfast, as well as dinner with a wide range of international dishes and local specialities. If you're planning a meeting, conference or event, we can provide flexible facilities for up to 40 participants. We also have a fitness room, as well as a relax lounge and sauna. Free WiFi is available in all our rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Bakklandet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing