We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Breakfast”
Review of Scandic Bakklandet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Bakklandet
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Try the Breakfast”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The City Centre hotel was ideally located. A fast booking in service with all the staff speaking good English. The clean lift took us to our floor and the security made good use of technology. On entering the room I was surprised with the size of the room with had a nice size Tv. My window look out onto the river. Service at the bar was prompt with friendly staff. After a good night sleep the buffet style breakfast was superb presenting something for everyone. I had a good stay at this hotel and will use it again.

Room Tip: Have the breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cubicsnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan Christian S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Bakklandet, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Hi Cubicsnot.
Thank you for your kind review. We really appreciate it and are trilled to hear you enjoyed our staff and breakfast. We all hope we can welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    297
    81
    24
    4
See reviews for
108
265
48
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Me and my husband stayed here for a few nights as part of our honeymoon trip and we could not fault anything. The staff are so friendly from the moment you walk through the door to check in. The room we had was 'the best room available for us on honeymoon'. The room was spacious with two balconys overlooking both the road and the river, with a spacious bathroom and two seating areas. This was a suite compared to the upgrade we had in the previous city hotel we stayed in. The room is so quiet at night and the bed is so comfy you do not want to leave it. The breakfast has a good variety of choice, located in a beautiful atrium. The location of the hotel is around a five minute walk to town, 10 minutes to the cathedral. Fantastic stay in a lovely city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiecat80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan Christian S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Bakklandet, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hi Maggiecat80.
Thank you very much for you fantastic review. It makes me proud to hear that our staff made your stay memorable. We are glad that you like our beds and breakfast. We all at Bakklandet hope that we are able to welcome you back the next time you visit Trondheim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night in February, and we really enjoyed it. The rooms are modern and spacious, and it`s only a five minute walk to the centre of town and to Solsiden, the fancy shopping and pub/bar area of Trondheim. There was a wide selection of food for breakfast, and the food was delicious. I am staying here next time I go to Trondheim. There`s a parking house adjacent to the hotel as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vadur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan Christian S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Bakklandet, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hi Vadur.
Thank you for your great review. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in January for business. The best way to get here is by coach from the airport. The coach stops directly opposite the hotel.
Checking in was a breeze. It seems that its a norm that Receptionist in Norway do not tell you things about the hotel, besides the time of the breakfast.
My room was on the fifth floor and facing the main road. It was ok as I couldn't hear the noise from the road. The room is a fair size with a work table and chair. Two single beds joined together to make a double bed and again I think this is the norm in Norway including no toiletries in the room.
My room reminds me a lot of Holiday Inn Express hotels as there is no wardrobe and only a nice little section to hang ones clothes. However at least there is a tea and coffee making facility in my room.
TV channels is ok but could have more English programmes. Bathroom is a good size with underfloor heating.
Now the downside is the gym in this hotel. It's the smallest gym I've ever seen. There is 2 treadmills and 2 cycling machines. There is no free weights, just a full body workout equipment. This is also where one does their ironing.
Breakfast was ample with a wide variety. The hotel is also located in a fairly nice location with 5 minutes walk to a nice big shopping centre. There is a convenient store around the corner where one can get bottle water, etc.
Everyone is friendly in the hotel and they even have a room to store your suitcase after checking out.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan Christian S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Bakklandet, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hi R L.
Thank you for your reveiw and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We do appreciate feedback from your guest, good or bad. We will take a note of your comments and use them to improve our product.
Hope to be able to welcome you back the next time you visit Trondheim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Rica Bakklandet hotel tout itself as a quiet business hotel, which is why I have stayed here, whenever I am in Trondheim. Last night I was woken by a party (and loud arguing), which woke me up around 03:30. Although the noise quited down, I was unable to sleep well for the rest of that night and I therefore ended up this morning at the front desk to make a complaint. The receptionist had a hard time seeing why this was her problem and seemed confused by the concept that the hotel had a problem at all. Also, since she had just started her work and was not part of the night shift, this was not really her problem. I told her, perhaps also reflecting her attitude, that since I had not been provided with the service I had paid for, I at least expected a discount for this night. I have staysuspect that this hotel has grown a rather complacent stance towards its guests.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoulHAndersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan Christian S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Bakklandet, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hi PoulHAndersen.
Thank you for your review and comments about your stay. We are really sorry that you where awakened during the night and weren’t able to go back to sleep. The way you were handled the next morning by one of our receptionist is not acceptable. This is not the way we handle our guests and the matter has been taken up the receptionist in question. We value all feedback from our guest and use them in our work to improve our product and service. We hope you appreciated how we settled the case while you where here and enjoyed the rest of your stay. Everyone at Rica Bakklandet Hotel hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Check in took 30 seconds. They have a machine that gives you FRESH orange juice for breakfast. Staff is friendly. Amazing breakfast. Nice beds. Hotel has a good location. Hotel has a nice overall design. Free wifi.

Nice :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas6858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan Christian S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Bakklandet, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hi Thomas6858.
Thank you for your nice review. We are really glad that your like our staff, breakfast and beds.
Hope to welcome you the next time you visit Trondheim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

There is no doubt that this recently-build four-star hotel is stylish and comfortable. The decor is modern and tasteful (although the 'art' in some of the rooms is at best described as 'puzzling and eccentric'!). Rather than being bowled over by this hotel though, I ended up somewhat disappointed. The standard rooms are stylish but compact and some have views onto a external wall or internal atrium which can be rather claustrophobic. After asking whether it was possible to switch to a 'room with a view', I was given a room with view to the front of the hotel. What niggled? No toiletries in the bathroom apart from a bar of soap and wall dispensers for gel and shampoo. No iron in the room, the only ironing facilities being a single iron in a corner of the health suite on the sixth floor. No sockets near the bed for charging phones, etc. All of these facilities were available when I stayed in a much older hotel of similar standard in Oslo. On the plus side: a comfortable bed, well sound-insulated room, a really magnificent breakfast buffet (caviar for breakfast!) which would take several days to fully explore.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ValH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan Christian S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Bakklandet, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hi ValH.
Thank you for your feedback, we appriciate every comments good or bad.
We are sorry to hear that you where somewhat disappointed after your stay with us.
The amount of toiletries in the rooms is a part of Rica Hotels green profile, but we do offer a good selection of toiletries from the reception if our guests is missing something from the room.
Some of our rooms have iron, please contact us and we will make sure you will get a room with a view and iron next time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 25 in Trondheim
1,280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Grand Olav
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#7 of 25 in Trondheim
875 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Solsiden
Scandic Solsiden
#8 of 25 in Trondheim
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Bakklandet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Bakklandet

Property: Scandic Bakklandet
Address: Nedre Bakklandet 60, Trondheim 7014, Norway (Formerly Rica Bakklandet Hotel)
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Bakklandet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Bakklandet hotel is centrally located in the heart of Trondheim along the river Nidelven by Bakke Bro. The harbour, bus and train station are within walking distance. Our hotel has a restaurant that serves a hearty breakfast, as well as dinner with a wide range of international dishes and local specialities. If you're planning a meeting, conference or event, we can provide flexible facilities for up to 40 participants. We also have a fitness room, as well as a relax lounge and sauna. Free WiFi is available in all our rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Bakklandet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing