We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely views, fabulous breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Bakklandet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Scandic Bakklandet
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely views, fabulous breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Trondheim was our first stay in Norway last February. The Rica Bakklandet was a great place to start out. The hotel was comfortable, and the views from our room were gorgeous. The location was excellent, allowing us to walk everywhere, and the staff helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet was absolutely amazing, and we couldn't help trying everything, resulting in our not needing to eat again until evening, which was a decided advantage, given Norway prices. Every Rica hotel we stayed in outshone the other hotels we tried in Norway--worth the cost.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cadbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    272
    68
    21
    3
See reviews for
97
242
45
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caen, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I've been staying at the rica hostel just one night.

The room was really clean and comfortable, the diner was excellent and the break first awesome (only home made stuff) !

The staff is really nice, friendly and helpful.

Best place I've been in Norway during my two weeks trip. It's a bit expensive, but it worth it.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Remi_fu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mane, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Well located in the center of Trondheim, close to harbour restaurant area.
Friendly and smily staff.
Excellent breakfast buffet.
Good seminar facilities.
Not an incredibly gorgeous hotel, but a nice location to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnaud H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I arrived here late due to some changes in my morning drive schedule. I was quite tired and I knew my Norwegian would suffer in conversation. No worries. My reserved room was issued to me quite efficiently and professionally by the front staff whose command of RP English would make a BBC announcer proud. The staff would always acknowledge me when I entered or exited the hotel and at one point even went on line to help me find the drop off point for my vehicle.

The room was absolutely clean and well - designed with a window view of the bay and the dock area. Wonderful shower and bath area. But what really sets this hotel apart and will guarantee that I ensure I come back is the breakfast.

I could write a very large paragraph describing all the items available - fresh fruits and juices, local specialties and other European delicacies. Smoked fish, smoked meats, wonderful cheese, eggs many ways, pancakes, waffles, muesli, cereals, stellar coffee, and yogurts and sweets round out the offerings. I know I am missing things. Some things I probably didn't even see. I was there for three breakfasts and I was hard pressed to try everything AND enjoy items I wanted again. The sheer volume of choices - all of top quality - was staggering. It is served - mostly - buffet style although some of the items (like eggs and pancakes) can be made to order. Coffee, tea, and table service are formal with near German-like efficiency. I would wish I had not so many plans for the day so that I could sit and linger at breakfast. The breakfast area can be a bit crowded. (I guess I did write a long paragraph!)

The only complaint has been registered and it is a very common one and not unique to this hotel. Parking is expensive. But it is easy to access - given the one way nature of the streets - and I felt the vehicle was very safe.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HBSponger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed two nights with my teenage son, who was on his way to a CISV Camp in Trondheim. We loved the peaceful room, great shower, and delicious breakfast - homemade jam, freshly squeezed orange juice (so nice after travelling), excellent bread and smoked fish selection - it combined the traditional breakfast options with a lovely range of new things to try too. We also enjoyed dinner - fantastic chicken and steak, served by the charming and happy Theresa, who greeted us at breakfast and dinner with a warm and friendly smile. She went out of her way to make us feel at home. I agree with other reviews - great location, and easy to get to the airport with a bus stop right outside the front door of the hotel! But it is the people who make a place, and this one was really great - thank you very much! We had a lovely time.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor - nice and quiet away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Family0fF0ur2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is modern, clean and is placed in a very nice location with a connected garage. The garage is quite expensive (175 NOK/24 H) but makes a clean and safe impression; compared to other hotels I visited in Trondheim it' s a real plus, especially when you carry a lot of luggage with you. The hotel staff is generally friendly, professional and helpful. The room was large and the bathroom superb. In the wardrobe almost all space was taken up by an iron board. When taking out the iron board, the iron almost dropped on my feet. Apparently it was not properly fixed. Also, there were no cabinets. This all would still have given five stars in my rating. However, the breakfast area turned out to be far too small, forcing me to eat in the lobby. Also, the staff did not manage to restock food. When I arrive for breakfast at 7:20, this is not what I expect and leads to a substracted star. Worst, the room lock failed. The first day it locked as one would expect when shutting the door. The second day the door would either not lock at all or lock first and a few seconds later unlock again. This erratic lock behavior left me wondering if my luggage would be safe in my room whenever I was out. This must not happen and leads to one more substracted star. When I explained the lock problem to the receptionist, I was told this was a fire safety feature and that the door would lock after one minute. If this was the case, why did the door lock directly on the first day and why was there no information about this? The receptionist gave me no answer and obviously my concerns were not taken seriously. Sorry, but here goes the third star. Concerning fire safety, this is the first hotel where I couldn't see a fire exit plan and emergency instructions visible, usually posted at the hotel room door, but since I don't know if this is mandatory in Norway, it didn't influence my rating. For the room prices, I would have expected more.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
163 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel 3 nights, and we had a lovely experience.
The check-in and check-out were very efficient. The personnel were friendly and informative. The room was clean and fresh, and the breakfast was great.
The best thing about this hotel is its location. It's just close to good restaurants and main attractions in Trondheim.

Room Tip: Ask the reception for a room with a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kangdamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#2 of 25 in Trondheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scandic Solsiden
Scandic Solsiden
#9 of 25 in Trondheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Grand Olav
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Bakklandet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Bakklandet

Property: Scandic Bakklandet
Address: Nedre Bakklandet 60, Trondheim 7014, Norway (Formerly Rica Bakklandet Hotel)
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Bakklandet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Bakklandet hotel is centrally located in the heart of Trondheim along the river Nidelven by Bakke Bro. The harbour, bus and train station are within walking distance. Our hotel has a restaurant that serves a hearty breakfast, as well as dinner with a wide range of international dishes and local specialities. If you're planning a meeting, conference or event, we can provide flexible facilities for up to 40 participants. We also have a fitness room, as well as a relax lounge and sauna. Free WiFi is available in all our rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Scandic Bakklandet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing