We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely OK and convenient hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Grand Olav
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The hotel is located very conveniently within short walking distance to the harbour and the main attractions as the Nidaros Cathedral and Bakklandet and the shopping streets. It is a boutique hotel with a 10+ shops in the same building, mostly with fashion clothes but otherwise the building is fairly empty.

The room was not very big and had a queen-size bed, a television and a few chairs. The bathroom was fully covered in marble with a tub and in-tub showerhead, but looked fairly nice although quite dated (the shiny gloss being worn off the showerhead etc.). The entrance to the bathroom was a squeaky sliding-door and a few items was about to fall apart.

Breakfast is quite decent for this type of hotel with a few hot trays with sausauges, eggstew and potatoes, as well as the common continental things. The negative side is that the breakfast area is small and when we came to eat, there was no table available.

The hotel has a few very nice things like free waffle-machine after 3pm, included light dinner 6pm-9pm (although this is a one-choice only dinner served from trays).

We came with a baby and had a fairly good stay. The most positive was the location, the service (which is excellent with everybody smiling) and the freebies included like breakfast, dinner and free wifi. The value is also extremely good if you get a good offer. The most negative being annoying things like that the bed was extremely squeaky (quite negative when you have a baby that keeps waking up every time you turn), and that also the bathroom door was also extremely squeaky.

Oh, one more thing that the hotel should really fix; the elevator doors closes so quickly, that if you come with four suitcases, a baby trolley and a baby, you risk being chopped off by the elevator door all the time while trying to get things in or out, or alternatively lose your baggage or your baby as you try to frenetically take everything out of the elevator.

Ive chosen to give this hotel 3/5 (average), since on an international level it is not more than average. On a Norwegian scale it is very good (4/5) though, as most Norwegian hotels are not up to international standards.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Collection Grand Olav
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

I've stayed at this hotel 2-3 times, both with my family and during business trips.
The rooms as spacious, and the location is actually pretty good. Close to the city center, but in a quiet district. Walking distance to both the railway station and the city center.
They serve a free light meal (buffet) in the afternoon.
Free DVDs in the reception.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SolidBison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed for one night. Nice room. Nice breakfast. An evening meal was also included but I did not try it. Very convenient located.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PetterGulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Good service, great rooms, clean rooms and walking distance to the city center.
I really recommand this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
1  Thank livet25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We booked this hotel using our Coop Hotel Deal. Two nights for 1498NOK. At this price it was worth it. We were annoyed however that there was a very large ski group staying next to us and even though we requested a quiet room we were kept up with slamming doors and kids running in the hallways in addition to night club music and noise from the street. This aside we ate two breakfasts and two evening meals and borrowed newspapers and books and dvds from the reception all included in the room price. This made the inconvenience of the noise and terrible parking options manageable.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank can-nor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Grand Olav is a very nice and cosy hotel. I always look forward to stay there. It's really "homey". All the rooms are different, and there are books in the room an you can also borrow dvd's for free in the reception.The staff is always very serviceminded and happy.Everday from 3 pm you can make your own waffels with jam in the diningroom. There is also coffe and tea free of charge all day.From 6-9 pm you can have a light evening meal, also that included in the price. It is alway one hot dish and usually salad, bread, ham, cheese, fruit etc. Great option if you are too tired to go out for dinner. The location of the hotel is great. It's just a few minutes from Solsiden where you can find restaurants and shoppingmall. And also just a few steps from the city center where you can find many nice cafee's, good restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TinaOslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

This is not a good hotel. This is not a dirty hotel or a horrible place, but seems to be more of a very poorly-managed hotel that is worth only about 1/5 of what they charge. Now, to qualify this statement so that you can get a clear understanding, I really thought Norway was a bust as a destination... to know more, visit my review of the country. If you must go and support this country, try to find a cabin to stay in -- so much nicer than the hotels, with better value.

Specifically about this hotel, we paid $350 for one night in a tiny room with a/c that was like someone with ice in her mouth blowing a little cool air and expecting it to cool a hotel room. Now, I only liked one of the 5 hotels where we stayed (and I liked the fishermen's cabins and camping cabins where we stayed) in Norway -- hotels are just not worth the cost -- so I don't know how this one ranks with others in Trondheim, but it was certainly not worth anything more than about $70-100 per night. The room was hot and little with paper-towel-thin towels and a bottle of soap hanging on the wall that was supposed to be for hair and body. This seems standard practice for Norwegian hotels. There is a saving grace to this place, which makes it maybe more worth $100 -- that is that they serve a light dinner, as well as breakfast, included in the price. Food is incredibly expensive in Norway, and since we were reduced to eating potato chips and drinking water most of our time there, the dinner made this hotel somewhat palatable, but not for the ridiculous price. And from the minute we arrived at 4:30 pm until we left the following morning, there were about 20-30 laundry carts hanging around in the hall outside of our room.

My suggestion: Stay away from this country. I live in Colorado and have 300-320 days of sunshine a year, but we were in Norway for ten days and had ten days of rain. We have plenty of money to live on in the US but felt like we were throwing it on a fire in Norway. Food on menus (places we never ate since we lived on potato chips and bad pizza) included expensive, expensive entrees of whale, stewed peas, turnips and beets. The people are just okay -- not very compassionate or interested in others. Go instead to Thailand in dry season for incredible beauty and value and loads of sunshine and great food and people (the land of smiles) or come to Colorado and see much of Norway here without the rain, expense, lousy food and hotels. If you must visit this lousy country, I really can't say if this hotel is better or worse than others in Trondheim.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovetoexploreplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
0.1 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 25 in Trondheim
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
760 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#7 of 25 in Trondheim
913 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Grand Olav? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Grand Olav

Address: Kjoepmannsgata 48, Trondheim 7010, Norway
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Trondheim
#7 Family Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range: £114 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Grand Olav 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clarion Collection Grand Olav reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Trondheim
Clarion Collection Trondheim
Trondheim Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing