We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hyggligt centralt hotell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Augustin
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Lund, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hyggligt centralt hotell”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I stayed here three nights for business. We arrived early and were hoping to coax the receptionist into granting an early check in. But while the receptionist was friendly she wouldn’t budge on that point. I guess it didn’t help that none of us had any status with the chains loyalty program. We stored our luggage in a luggage room instead, and headed of for some lunch. When we got back in the evening, the check-in was swift and friendly. The room was a double room with a king size, comfortable, bed. Not very large, but will probably be OK for two persons. It was bright, clean and fresh. However, the room was facing a big street, where a lot of the local bus lines are running. The windows were well insulated, and kept the noise down, however, the AC in my room was out-of-order, which meant I had to open the window, and then the noise became quite irritating.
The breakfast room was well dimensioned, not too crowded. However, it took some time for the staff to clear the plates on the tables. It was a typical Scandinavian breakfast buffet; all cold items were of good quality and a nice assortment. The scrambled eggs however, were substandard, probably made from egg powder. I never tried the bar at the hotel, but the assortment did seem to be impressive.
Check-out was smooth and fast, without any kinks.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mightyhobbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig L, General Manager at Quality Hotel Augustin, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Hi mightyhobbes

Thank you for your review.
We at Quality Hotel Augustin are glad you liked it.
We will be happy to welcome you back in the next journey to Norway and Trondheim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    144
    106
    34
    13
See reviews for
63
120
39
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

We went to the beautiful city of Trondheim during our round trip through Norway. We had a nice spacious room in this hotel. The location was perfect! Also the atmosphere in the hotel wad great, we felt home!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig L, General Manager at Quality Hotel Augustin, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Hi Peter t,

Thank you for your review.
We at Quality Hotel Augustin are glad you liked it.
We will be happy to welcome you back in the next journey to Trondheim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Last week I stayed in Quality Hotel Augustin. Our week included meeting at the community office, trip to Munkholmen, parade and 100 other things you do when you are visiting a new place with students. Teachers had the luxury to stay in the hotel for the whole period and we chose this one.

It has the perfect location for everything - flybus stops in front of the hotel, regular busses too, to the city centre is 50 m and to the cathedral 300m or something like that. Our Norwegian teachers organised all our morning meetings in front of our hotel because it was a good start for every direction.

About the food which I absolutely love. There is too much food :) and it is all well cooked and served. Unfortunately we had a small mishap with one of dinners but it was rectified quickly.

Personel is friendly and helpful with exellent command of English. And yu can get a cup of tea or coffee anytime you like with no extra cost.

With my roommate we found one problem with the hotel - at night all the aircon units or air-air heating systems outside the hotel make so much noise that it makes falling a sleep sometimes quite difficult.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kadri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig L, General Manager at Quality Hotel Augustin, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Hi Kadri B
Thank you for your review.
We at Quality Hotel Augustin are glad you liked it.
We will be happy to welcome you back in the next journey to Trondheim, take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Stayed here for two nights. The hotel is just about average. My single room was a bit narrow, but large enough for me. The bed was good and the wi-fi worked well without any problems, apart from the fact that you will need a new password (provided at the reception or by phone) every day. Breakfast - nice area, not to many hot dishes, otherwise good. There were som road work taking place outside which interrupted electricity supplies the first night (this was announced beforehand by the reception). On the afternoon the second day, there was no hot water from the shower. It worked a few hours later. I thought my room was a bit too hot, so I kept a window open. Traffic outside did cause some disturbance, but I slept reasonably well.

The hotel is 100 yards from the main square in downtown Trondheim, buses passes just outside the door. The main nightlife area is about a 5-10 minutes walk away.

On arrival, there was no towel in the bathroom, and an empty shampoo bottle was left in the shower by the previus guest without being removed. Towels arrived however within two minutes after I called the reception.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arvehj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig L, General Manager at Quality Hotel Augustin, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Hi Arvehj
Thank you for your review.
We will be happy to welcome you back in the next journey to Trondheim, take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Second time here in a year.

As you look at it from the road, the rooms in left side of the building have been modernised, the right side has not. My room on the left last year was modern in an Ikea way, this year I was on the right side but the room doesn't feel tired and is clean. Still, if you like parquet flooring and your furniture with clean, Scandinavian lines, ask for a room on the left side.

Staff are friendly and efficient, internet is fast and reliable, breakfast is plentiful, it's right in the middle of town, the airport bus stops just across the road.

Room Tip: Room 342 is at the right side of the building, toward the back. Very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADInglis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig L, General Manager at Quality Hotel Augustin, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Dear ASInglis

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We hope you enjoyed yor stay in Trondheim
and wish you welcome back to stay with us on your next visit.

Best Rgds
Stig Ludvigsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesund, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2013

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean. There was an awful smell in the stairways and halls, clearly in need of renovation. Aircondition in the rooms were poorly, and we woke up in the middle of the night feeling like we were in a sauna. When we opened the windows, we were unable to close them again in the morning. Poor aircondition and problems with the windows were the same in all three roomes we and our friends booked.

Due to asthma we booked an allergy friendly room. Would not recommend this hotel to people with allergies/asthma due to nonexistent aircondition.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ejlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig L, General Manager at Quality Hotel Augustin, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review!
We will check out the aircondition.
I really hope to seeing you again at our hotel.
Best regards Stig Ludvigsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I travel a lot across Northern Europe - and when in Trondheim, I say at the Augustin. It's in the middle of town thus easy to get to/from, with plenty of nice eating places withing a couple of minutes walk. The morning breakfast is free and of good quality. I love the eggs. The service is friendly and sincere. Some of the rooms could use a bit of a refurb but the beds are comfortable, the showers are plenty hot and the rooms quiet - and the wireless is free. There are now several good places to eat in the area - you can get money-off coupons from reception. Eld just across the street is my favourite restaurant in Trondheim and even better with a discount. All in all, the Augustin is a decent hotel at a good price with great service. Oddly enough, as I was writing this review, I got mail confirming my next visit to Trondheim and my next stay at the Augustin.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tfl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E A, Revenue Mngr. at Quality Hotel Augustin, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Dear Tfl1,

Thank you so much for your generous review! We are very glad you choose to stay with us in Trondheim, and to see that you are coming back soon. I use the oppurtunity to wish you a happy and prosperous 2013!

Best rgds.
Eivind Askeland, on behalf of Stig Ludvigsen (General Manager).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
0.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 25 in Trondheim
1,278 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
719 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Park
Comfort Hotel Park
#7 of 25 in Trondheim
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Augustin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Augustin

Property: Quality Hotel Augustin
Address: Kongens gate 26, Trondheim 7011, Norway
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Augustin 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Augustin is a hotel in the centre of Trondheim with long and rich history reaching back to 1915. The hotel has 136 rooms and is as close to the city center as you get. There is a separate conference department with the possibility of arranging events and parties. Restaurants, shopping and attractions are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel Augustin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing