We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lounge area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Augustin
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely lounge area”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My room was in badly need of a redecoration. Everything was old and worn, flaking paint on the windows. The bathroom was so old it is impossible to clean properly. I thought I was lucky to get a room at the back, but some kind of vent outside made it very noisy. Breakfast ok, very friendly and service-minded staff. The lounge area, however, was great. Far enough from the bar and the entrance to make it a quiet place to read or work when you're fed up with your room.

Room Tip: Probably best to check if they have a newly decorated room at the top floor at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuntsopran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    141
    101
    34
    12
See reviews for
60
117
36
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed for 1 night in a smallish single room on the 5th floor with no view to speak of. The room was nothing special, but the bed was comfortable enough. The best thing about the hotel is probably the location, smack in the centre of town with a bus stop for the airport shuttle right outside the entrance. The breakfast buffet was just about adequate, nothing more.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bulle6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig L, General Manager at Quality Hotel Augustin, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Bulle6

Thank you for your review of Quality Hotel Augustin.
Welcome you back at a later date
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Perfect location in the city, walking distance from the most important monuments. The central bus terminal directly in front of the hotel. However there is not air condition in the hotel so it can be difficult to sleep with open window because of cars traffic on the main road.

Rooms need renowation to current standards. My room 410 was small with tiny bathroom. There was only cheap soap/shampoon from distributor. Cleaning staff probably need some training.

From the other side the staff in the reception was friendly and always helpful. The breakfast was great.

Room Tip: Good for conference and business meetings and has many good equiped conference rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leopold67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig L, General Manager at Quality Hotel Augustin, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Leopold67

Thank you for your review of Quality Hotel Augustin.
Our guests' feedback is important to us.
Welcome you back to us at a later date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I have stayed here twice and been very happy with it both times. I think the first time I was on the refurbished side because this time I was surprised that my room seemed a bit old fashioned, but it was very clean and comfortable. The only problem was the electric sockets weren't very conveniently located so every time I needed to plug something in I had to squeeze between the desk and the window to reach a socket in the corner. Every room is different though so I guess I was just unlucky.

The hotel provides a great buffet breakfast with lots of choice. Usually there is plenty of space in the dining room but don't try to get breakfast at 7am if there is a large tour group of elderly people staying in the hotel! There is also free tea and coffee available in the lobby area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahLouise65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig L, General Manager at Quality Hotel Augustin, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thanks for the nice words from their stay with us.
We at Quality Hotel Augustin look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

A good hotel located near the central square of Trondheim.

Friendly staff, nice rooms and good surroundings. The breakfast is served in nice surronding. Hard to find a better start of the day.

The lobby area with bar is a nice place to relax and meet friends. Unfortunately there is no rastaurant, but there are plenty in the neighbourhood.

Room Tip: I like the rooms 230, 330 and 440 best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gjardar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig L, General Manager at Quality Hotel Augustin, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Gjardar,
Thanks for your nice words about the hotel facilities during their stay.
Welcome back to Trondheim and Quality Hotel Augustin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

There is construction outside of this hotel so if you stay here, ask for a room on a high floor (500's) and the new part of the building. We were told that the left side rooms(as you are facing hotel) were the upgraded room. We stayed on the 5th floor with construction right outside and did not hear the noise. Rooms were small, but very clean and nice. TV was good and no safe in the room. Internet was very good and fast and worked in the room. Parking is a bit of a problem as you have to go to a garage park a little ways from the hotel. This hotel is centrally located and the busses stop right in front of the hotel. Breakfast was a typical Norwegian breakfast and was very good.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GooseSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig L, General Manager at Quality Hotel Augustin, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear GooseSanDiego,

Thank you for the review.
Quality Hotel Augustin has very different room types where the size resenting the rooms range from the small to the largest, which is 116 square meters.
I wish you welcome back at a later date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a standard double. Location is good, in the city centre and the inter city bus from Alesund drops off right opposite the hotel. However this is a very tired and dated hotel with old knocked about carpets and furniture in the room. It had one really old tiny elevator ( 2 people 2 bags were tight) next to reception and a larger one elsewhere. The room was old and looked out onto the roof adjoining where huge air-conditioning type units whirred all day and night so that it was impossible to open the window and sleep at night. That didn't matter because this hotel is used by lots of groups and the party goers made so much noise from 2-4 am we simply could not sleep and some other guests banged and threated the party goers to keep quiet. This was really unacceptable but reception later agreed that they tried to manage party goers and warned them not to be rowdy when returning to their rooms - obviously that made no difference. Breakfast one morning was great, good selection and variety but the other mornings was awful because of the " large bus tour feeding frenzy" leaving no seats, no tables , no hot water for the tea and little food but left-overs. Kitchen staff tried to replenish but it was a battle to clean up quickly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig L, General Manager at Quality Hotel Augustin, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Winwander,

Tank you for the review.
This is important for us in our continuing efforts to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
0.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 25 in Trondheim
1,244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Park
Comfort Hotel Park
#7 of 25 in Trondheim
412 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Augustin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Augustin

Property: Quality Hotel Augustin
Address: Kongens gate 26, Trondheim 7011, Norway
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Augustin 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Augustin is a hotel in the centre of Trondheim with long and rich history reaching back to 1915. The hotel has 136 rooms and is as close to the city center as you get. There is a separate conference department with the possibility of arranging events and parties. Restaurants, shopping and attractions are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel Augustin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing