We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible place stay away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I made a booking 1 month ago, first i arrived at the hotel 2 pm , was meet buy a rude lady in the reception told me to early for check inn had to come back later. 3.30 PM i tried again, a new reception lady told me the hotel was full, could not give the room i asked for and promised inn booking. The was helped to get a room by the manager he was ok. The room had a stranged old smell, like old smoke i had allergy but anyway survieved the night. It was a big hole in the wall in the room, everthing look old, worn down, the shower cabin door was broken. Noisy all nigh innside and outside.The food brekfast was 1 star only good thing well the coffe.

Room Tip: take other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sebastian007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2013

Bakeriet Hotel used to be the standard for friendly homely feeling away from home, in Trondheim. With the midtown location, and friendly staff it has a lot cooking.
But where Bakeriet Hotel (the name means Bakery) used to be high class, the hotell has lost it´s flavour. I got an upgraded room, wich was nice, but my smile evaporated when I got into my ”home away from home”. The floor was so dirty I had to ask the staff whether the room was under construction. It felt like walking on sand some places. On one side of the bed the wall had a hole, and on all the walls the paint was torn thru. And as long time as I spent in the shower, I never had warm water. And on the detail side of the dissepointed stay, the only unoccupied el.sockets had no eletricity.
All in all my worst hotell stay I have had in Norway in years.

Used to be a favourite of mine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor. They say that those rooms has newer paint og doesn´t look as shabby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We use this hotel at least four times a year. There is a very low turnover of staff and we pretty much get to see the same faces on each visit. In turn, we too are remembered. They will really put themselves out for you and seem to have the perfect balance of friendliness and professionalism.
On one occasion, we turned up at the hotel to discover that our reservation had not been made. (It was not the fault of the hotel. We were all surprised to make this discovery!) This happened in a week when a major event was happening, and it was really a case of "no room at the inn" in the entire town. (We tried!) Bakeriet staff worked out how to help us. They managed to find rooms available for one or two night stays, but there were still two nights where no rooms were available. The solution? they set up very comfy camp beds for us in their fitness room and delayed morning opening time by two hours. And all done with good humour and courtesy. What an amazing place!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ski212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Centrally located in Trondheim on a lovely side street. The staff were very good. The food was plentiful and good. Waffles and buffet available if you want them. The room was small but very clean. My room was quiet but it was on the second floor at the back. The building has great character. I would much prefer to stay here rather than some of the other modern chains nearby. I hope to come back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tell-it-as-it-is47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

The lokation and the hotel itselves, is ekselent. The service was good, but as a Choce Club member with a Silver Card, I asked for a upgrade room, witout get any. There was no newspaper in the morning, witch they say all Club members shall have. The price for sutch a small room with noice from people smoking and talking just outside my room, is too high!
This is my last night on a Choce Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ulf b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This is an excellent hotel with character, being a quant old building with interesting references to its past use as a bakery - good location and very helpful staff - lovely receptionists!. The food was excellent and the evening buffet included in the room price. Highly recommend this hotel instead of any of the large conference hotels in Trondheim. I stayed for 5 nights in September.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Location (approximately 15 minutes walk from the center) - on a quiet street, covered parking area hotel (check in the parking lot but on the other street parking and hotel sector is located in a separate section of the city park - not just figured out), the number is quite comfortable, friendly staff (helped deal with the parking sector, the hotel).

The old plumbing (as, indeed, the whole hotel), very bad food (both breakfast and dinner - does not meet even the Continental Breakfast in the other Nordic countries). So eat in the city (next to the hotel are many cafes and restaurants)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tor89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Grand Olav
0.2 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 25 in Trondheim
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
795 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
0.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Park
Comfort Hotel Park
#8 of 25 in Trondheim
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet

Address: Brattoergata 2, Trondheim 7010, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Trondheim
#10 Business Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range: £101 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a peaceful haven in historical Trondheim. Hotel Bakeriet with its 109 rooms is located in the charming old parts of town and the house is inspired by its former history as a bakery. Included in all our rates are breakfast, and we even offer complimentary waffles during daytime, and a complimentary light evening-meal in the evenings. Coffee/tea is always free, and of course internet wi-fi access as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Trondheim
Clarion Trondheim
Trondheim Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing