We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trondheim Radisson Blu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Saline, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Trondheim Radisson Blu”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We arrived about 1:00 on a Sunday. The hotel staff was able to let us check in immediately. Rather than stand around with our luggage, we were abl3e to freshen up and begin site-seeing. The staff was friendly and made excellent recommendations for restaurants. On our last day, they let us check out a few hours late and then safely held our luggage--we had an evening flight out of town. The facility is spacious and clean. The breakfast was excellent, and he dining area has a wonderful view of the river.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvaldemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    360
    178
    64
    26
See reviews for
111
247
49
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I've stayed in a few Radissons and have found that while the quality of service is consistently high, there is a clear difference between the older and newer hotels. The more modern ones are great, the older ones are generally very tired and dated. The Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim falls into the latter category.

That said, my opinion is split - I slept well, enjoyed the central location, found the pool and sauna to be of a good standard (there's free coffee by the pool, but not in the rooms) and enjoyed the breakfasts and the helpful reception staff. However, the room décor was extremely dated - 80s-90s, the ventilation/ air conditioning was noisy, the TV reception was poor with sound cutting out from time to time and even the clock built into the TV was about 3 hours slow!! The bathroom was clean and recently modernised, but the shower pressure was a bit low so if I'd been washing long hair in there it would have taken a while!

I have no problem with a view onto the breakfast atrium - I'm not in a hotel to look out of the window and it's quieter than the road - and if you were expecting a view of a Royal Garden, you can forget it. If reception gives you a small room, facing the noisy road I suggest you change it, as I did, for a bigger one facing inwards. But still may want earplugs thanks to the noisy ventilation system.

If you get a good price then it is a decent enough hotel, and the ongoing renovations may target some of the décor issues, although they currently just look to be changing the windows from what I saw.. If you will have time to use the pool, sauna or gym and to make the most of the breakfast (take a doggy-bag and you're good for lunch too!!) then it's worth paying the extra compared to the cheaper hotels nearby, but if you're used to staying in the more modern incarnations of the brand, you need to shift your expectations down a bit for this one.

Room Tip: A very few rooms, possibly all smaller, face out to the road. They are noisier than the inward faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamskiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

This must be the only four star rated hotel in Scandinavia that does not provide coffee making facilities in the bedroom, and this is the main reason I rate it only as average. The major renovations now in progress may result in some improvements. The bed was comfortable, but the floor had no carpet or rug and the furniture was flat-pack in style, including doors not hung properly. Good free WiFi and good breakfast buffet were positive features. The hotel is well located for walking to the station and the many interesting areas of thus fine small city.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanuk6991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Arrived at 9.30 from the Hurtigtuten ferry expecting to leave our luggage for a 2pm check in. None of it, we were, with a smile checked in immediately. Room was new, bright and clean. Excellent buffet breakfast still be replenished at 9.50am for a 10am close. Check out the bear in the public area on the ground floor. Renovation still in progress.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Radisson Blu brand - what could go wrong? Really enjoyed staying with the Group in Galway, Ireland and it was great. Anyway as a wheelchair user I requested a fully accessible room with wheel-in shower and was assured that all would be well...... Well everything was fine about the facilities except for a complete absence of grab rails for the toilet. Apparently wheelchair users are meant to levitate from the wheelchair to the toilet. So you go down to reception and ask for the bathrooms, go down and the wheelchair WC is locked, back to reception, oh yes the wheelchair loo is locked, so here is the key.....get into the loo and the seat is dangerously loose and unusable (Yes, Radisson Blu, I don't believe if either - Making me Blue).......where to next??

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavern, Norway
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

During my visit last year, I found the hotel as tired and outdated. Back in the 80ties, this hotel was one of the best in Trondheim. The hotel has a central and good location next to the river. Finally a renovation campaign has started. The outdated bath rooms have now been with new nice bath rooms, however still with the same low pressure in the hot water system. The rooms have nice beds, but the rest of the room is still the same old style. Hopefully this renovation will also start. The offer some good summer rates which also shows there are some strong competitors in the area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing east towards the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norwegian1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed here during a very busy time - Aquaculture 2013 - but the hotel seemed to manage with the high number of guests. Unfortunately, they are renovating at the moment so there is scaffolding up and drilling during the day. Despite this, the staff were generally good, the breakfast plentiful and delicious, and the fitness area really good (with pool, hot tub, steam room and gym - although I was too heavy for the treadmills to work at 'just under' 16 stone...).

The hotel is handy for the airport bus - make sure you get the right one (the one which drops on the doorstep of the hotel, not at the bus station, which is a couple of blocks away) - and is in a great location for walking around the city. The famous bridge and cathedral are less than 5 minutes' walk away.

The rooms are a bit dated and the views from most strange (as your window looks into the hotel, or if you are on the 6th floor, looks onto the slanted glass roof) but still, for the price - less than £100 per night - this was excellent value in an otherwise expensive city.

If you like to drink, I'd suggest buying your beers from the nearby supermarket (opposite BurgerKing) rather than pay 95 Norwegian for a pint in the bar!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mail4matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.1 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 25 in Trondheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Grand Olav
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Solsiden
Scandic Solsiden
#8 of 25 in Trondheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim

Property: Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
Address: Kjoepmannsgata 73 | P.O Box 956, Trondheim 7010, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Trondheim
#7 Romantic Hotel in Trondheim
#9 Business Hotel in Trondheim
#9 Family Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Trondheim
Trondheim Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Trondheim Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing