We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good hotel at best location...only one small critic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Trondheim
Reviewed 15 August 2014

we visited this business-style Hotel as Family (parents + a 7-year old daughter). the room was big enough for us and theree couldhave been another Person there. The price was very reasonable if you have in mind that we had breakfast included. The breakfast-buffet was very rich in variety and in Dimension. The only negative thing is that we were bothered by the waitress that we should have to pay something if we should take anything out of the Restaurant (sandwich was prepared). Well as I told beforre, we have a 7-year old Girl, who just only takes a cacao andd some melon for breakfast...but afterwards it takes only 30 minutes and she needs some carbohydrates. Next day we cleared this matter in advance with the reception and an other waitress and everything was alright. maybe it was only a bad day's form.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank teichmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 336 of 972 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel has a great location in Trondheim.
Rooms: Refreshed bathrooms but otherwise quite average in condition. Didn't like the fact that the windows faced an atrium.
Breakfast: Good, missed some options.
Parking: Expensive right outside, but we used it anyway out of lack of easy alternatives.
General areas: Good standard but very hot on the higher floors in the atrium.
Wifi: Worked great in our room
TV: Happy to see Eurosport in the offer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rickard_Angman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Signe K, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the stay with us here in Trondheim.

We are looking forward seeing you back again.

Best regards

Signe Kroknes

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect for a city visit, right in the center of this beautiful town Trondheim. Close to all the city center sights: Bakklandet, Nidarosdomen, Festningen, city center shopping and restaurants.
Room was clean and up to date, a very nice room.
Excellent breakfast!
We experienced some trouble with finding parking. And not the best service I've experienced at the reception desk.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KjetilRau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Signe K, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014
Google Translation

Kjære gjest

Takk for at du tok deg tid til å dele denne erfaringen med oss.

Vi håper å kunne se deg tilbake på hotellet om ikke så altfor lenge.

Med vennlig hilsen

Signe Kroknes

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel was a stop on our tour. The restaurant overlooked the canal. Food was good but they would run out in the evening. Breakfast was replenished better. Rooms satisfactory. Very convenient for seeing local sites, finding restaurants, grocery stores, pharmacies. Less than a half mile walk to Nidaros Cathedral. Path to follow along river/canal on both sides. Short walk to cross Old Town Bridge (Gamle Bybro). I don't know the cost as it was arranged and paid for as part of the tour.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sonia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Signe K, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the stay with us here in Trondheim.

We are looking forward seeing you back again.

Best regards

Signe Kroknes

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Arrived in the afternoon. The receptionist immediately recognized my Gold Elite status and could tell me that our room had been upgraded to a business class room. He also told me that I could ask for a different room if i was not satisfied with the one I got.

The room was acceptable, even though it had no working air condition (and it was really hot that day), but it was a corner room with 3 windows so we could get some real air going trough the room, so it was good enough. The view it self made up for the hot room. We also got a fruit plate and some water - gift for gold members.

The tv/film system had some sound problems. Every minute the sound disappeared for 2-5 seconds. Not a problem for us, we just used our tabs instead. But a shame for those who want to see tv.

The breakfast was above standard, even though they have joined the silly trend of having only one bacon pr fried egg.. I want bacon to my scrambled eggs!!

But all in all a good stay. I just wish all Club Carlson hotels could recognize the status members as well as this one.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TrondM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Signe K, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the stay with us here in Trondheim.

We are looking forward seeing you back again.

Best regards

Signe Kroknes

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We ate good breakfasts here but the choice of teas was not as good as in Stockholm! Our room opened into an atrium so it could get stuffy. The service and the cleanliness were both fine. We were leaving at the same time as the cyclists on the Trondheim-Oslo bicycle race who were staying there too. This made it all somewhat chaotic!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eva Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had expectations of a good Trondheim hotel, but it was a great disappointing from the very start. Poor service, hotel which is not up to the generally very good standard hotels in Trondheim. Very poor air quality due to lack of a/c working, which did not contribute to a good nights sleep. Positive things were the breakfast which was reasonable, a recently refurbished bathroom, and good location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Artemis500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Signe K, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay.

We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services.

In the meantime we will tune our operations in the hope that we can exceed your expectations upon your next stay.

Best regards

Signe Kroknes

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 24 in Trondheim
1,480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.1 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 24 in Trondheim
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Grand Olav
0.3 mi away
Scandic Solsiden
Scandic Solsiden
#6 of 24 in Trondheim
478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#7 of 24 in Trondheim
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim

Address: Kjoepmannsgata 73 | P.O Box 956, Trondheim 7010, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Trondheim
#6 Romantic Hotel in Trondheim
#9 Business Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range: £80 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim boasts an exceptional design and a location next to the city’s beautiful Nidelven River. The central atrium sits under a glass roof, filling the space with stunning natural light. In addition to the sleek decor, the 298 rooms and suites feature amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet, mini bars and the Super Breakfast Buffet (included in each stay). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Trondheim
Trondheim Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Trondheim Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing