We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, good food, super location”
Review of Britannia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Britannia Hotel
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Beijing, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming, good food, super location”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Stayed there over a weekend in early february, a pearl in Trondheim, very good service, good food in the Steak House restaurant and a fantastick Spa, a complete and joyful stay, thanks.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tess h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britannia Hotel M, General Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for you feedback from your latest stay with us, it is great to read that we managed to live up to your expectations
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    219
    107
    41
    16
See reviews for
90
177
46
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Arrived at the hotel after a disappointing trip on Hurtigruten "Nordnorge" and were very pleasantly surprised. Room ready at 9.30am. Big, bright and airy with free wireless internet access but BEST of all - free use of the Spa. Incredible experience. This should be marketed so much better. This facility alone is worth staying at the hotel for. Staff very pleasant, breakfast ok, location good. Can't complain and would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone going to spend a few days in Trondheim.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rover5262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britannia Hotel M, General Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for you kind words and feedback which I can assure is of great help to us,
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Straengnaes
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

my second stay for a week. good room,well kept,clean,good bathroom . Bed could be better.Breakfast could be really good,however when I showed up at opening time it was never ready at that time ,the whole week .

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seagullStraengnaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britannia Hotel M, General Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments which were very constructive, rest assure that this will be followed up by my team,
I hope you will soon return to our hotel and experience magic changes,
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The hotel has supposedly everything: location, spa, restaurants nice rooms and more.....Unfortunately one note that it is tired, the rooms are small, safety deposit box is too small for your PC, service is in general slow by unexperienced personell....And during weekends the noise from the parties can be annoying

Why can't an international renowned hotel chain pick up this hotel and make it what it should be?

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geir s, General Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your comments. Should you return to Trondheim in a not too distant future, feel free to contact me direckly and I shall find a great room in our hotel, perfect for your needs and far away from the noise.
kind regards
GS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forde, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We booked this room after seeing it on the internet when looking for a stay in Trondheim. We actually got the room cheaper just walking in off the street and booking as opposed to the price online. We needed a three person room so we got a double bed and a hide a bed. The room decor was very dated and in need of upgrades. We knew this ahead of time and went mostly because of the spa. We had free entrance to the spa included in our room rate. We enjoyed the amazing pools, steam rooms, sauna, ice shower, cold pool and quiet rooms. It was a great end to a long shopping day. We woke early so we could use the spa one more time before checking out. It was nice to do this. We showered in the spa afterwards and used the nice spa products on our skin and hair. On the down side, we rented bathing suites for the whopping price of 100 kroner each, ouch.... Fruit and water was provided in the spa along with robes.
The service at the hotel was great. We asked for more towels and house keeping came at once. We called down to say that the hide a bed was a very thin mattress and would not provide enough support and house keeping came with two matresses right away.
The breakfast needs improvement. The food from the steam trays, ex. eggs, bacon, beans, etc. Was not hot. We witnessed breakfast staff coming with more food and piling it on top of the older colder food. The table linens on serving table were dirty and slopped on still from the Christmas party the night before. This isn't a welcoming site in what is to be a top hotel. The breakfast selection was nice. Some Christmas specialties such as pastries or fruit bread could be a nice touch but was no where to be seen.
The piano player in the lobby was a nice touch.
In all go for the spa and the service. Rooms are OK, food so so........

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank can-nor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geir s, General Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your feedback from your latest stay with us. It is in particular nice to read about your postive experiences in our hotel but also very useful to read about where and how we can improve. Once again, thank you for your comments and looking forward seeing you back as our guest in a not too distant future.
Kind Regards
GS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Clean room but noisy into wee hours due to bar close by, especially ally rooms. Needed to keep windows open bc of warm weather, no ac.

Great buffet. Pool had Very limited hours and closed unexpectedly for holiday. Kids were heart broken.

Poor, rude service at front desk. We arrived very late due to severe flooding along train route. My children were exhausted. Man and woman behind the desk just smirked. Didn't offer to help with luggage or anything. I met many wonderful native Norwegians on our trip but this hotel needs a shake up in customer service.

Only reason I'd return is if I could get a great rate. We stayed for 3 nights for price of 2.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expat_London_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I have stayed here 3 times it simply gets worse every time, so much so I had to leave a review. This is a shabby overpriced hotel not suitable for children, the staff were rude and lazy, I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frenchie1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geir s, General Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Dear Guest,
first of all thank you for your honest feedback. We are always trying to improve our service delivery and your feedback is important to us. On your eventually next visit to Trondheim, I would like to meet with you in order to learn more about your latest stay with us Pls. feel free to contact me directly if you decide to travel back to Trondheim in the near future.
Kind Regards
GS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.4 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 25 in Trondheim
1,317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
0.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#7 of 25 in Trondheim
894 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
747 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Augustin
Quality Hotel Augustin
#15 of 25 in Trondheim
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel

Property: Britannia Hotel
Address: Dronningens gate 5, Trondheim 7011, Norway
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Trondheim
#3 Luxury Hotel in Trondheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Trondheim
#6 Family Hotel in Trondheim
#11 Business Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Britannia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia closed its doors in June 2016 for a full refurbishment of the entire hotel. The prestigious Britannia Hotel will re-open in February 2019. The prestigious Britannia Hotel is centrally located and offers great accommodation when in Trondheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Trondheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing