We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in the heart of Trondheim”
Review of Britannia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Britannia Hotel
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Had an excellent weekend at Britannia hotel. Spacious familyrooms, a fantastic SPA and very nice breakfastbuffet. Great localisation in the middle of Trondheim.

Room Tip: Artist rooms are very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guro J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britannia Hotel M, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your compliments on our family rooms, the breakfast buffet and the spa. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable weekend at Britannia. Welcome back to Trondheim and the Britannia Hotel.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 574 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Trondheim
1
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Good service, excellent food, wery central location, beautiful room. We loved everything, except for the extra bed, it was wery hard.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Had to travel to Trondheim on short notice for a business trip, and because of this I had to bring my family with me. The hotel offered both my family and I an pleasant stay. When I was at meetings during the day, my wife and kid enjoyed the hotel's nice spa and swimming area - and at night time we could go out the door directly to the downtown streets for a nice family dinner in one of the city's noumerous restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OveBrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britannia Hotel M, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind feedback. We are glad you and your familiy enjoyed your stay at Britannia Hotel. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Already when entering the lobby you get the feeling that you've come to stay - and never want to leave! The staff are very serviceminded and makes you feel like you're THE special guest! Very smooth checkin, and after taking one of the elevators to my floor, I easily find my room. I find the room pretty excellent actually, very high under the ceiling, All the standards, and a bath robe & slippers I can use if I want to take the elevator STRAIGHT down to the SPA! (Which I can enter for FREE since I'm living at the hotel.) Pools, saunas, relaxing rooms, ice cold pool, foot bath... ALL FOR FREE!! Imagine sitting/lying in one of the pools, relaxing with your wine - ALL day if you want :-)

My room also had a bath tub and a shower, flat screen TV of course and a very good big double bed. When entering the room I noticed that the room next door (the door was open) housed a couple of noisy kids - but as soon as I shut the door, I didn't hear them at all!!

I was going to one of the town's disco's - and since the hotel is in the center of the town, I didn't even have to think of calling a cab. When coming back to the hotel I entered my room, and didn't hear a sound from the disco right above the street. After a good nights sleep, I feel like a king at the breakfast buffet. I was told I could get my breakfast served at the room if I didn't want to get up so early, but I chose to try the buffet - and LOVED IT!

I have tried all kinds of hotels in this city, but now I've found my home!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sortomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britannia Hotel M, General Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for you feedback and constructive comments, I very much look forward seeing you again on your next trip to Trondheim,
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Good points: Rooms are very spacious ; location, being very central; SPA center with nice sauna jacuzzi pools and different saunas!
Less positive points: breakfast room a little bit rundown; the breakfast was ok but not a 5* hotel buffet; not many newspapers/magazine in other languages other than Norvegian.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mao75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This hotel is only my choice in Trondheim when no one else is available.
Need to be refurbished. Stylish outside. old fashioned and how it can be a 5 star I do not know

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank geirNorway22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

What makes this hotel magical is the history you can smell when entering the lobby and the modern luxury you can touch and feel. Its also amazing how the staff is trained to pay attention to the details. Maybe best of all, the location - right in very heart of this historical city, just a stone cast to everything.

Your stay is not complete at this property with having experienced the Spa and their restaurants.

I hope this hotel keeps it's identity for generations to come.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade. If they have one they would propably give you it for free or just for a few buck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foolisimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.4 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 25 in Trondheim
1,425 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Augustin
Quality Hotel Augustin
#14 of 25 in Trondheim
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Scandic Solsiden
Scandic Solsiden
#5 of 25 in Trondheim
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
0.3 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel

Address: Dronningens gate 5, Trondheim 7011, Norway
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Trondheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Trondheim
#11 Business Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range: £80 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Britannia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia closed its doors in June 2016 for a full refurbishment of the entire hotel. The prestigious Britannia Hotel will re-open in February 2019. The prestigious Britannia Hotel is centrally located and offers great accommodation when in Trondheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Trondheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing