We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once a grand hotel...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Britannia Hotel
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Certificate of Excellence
Kenora
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Once a grand hotel...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

This was once a very grand hotel. The dining room milieu is awesome, and the breakfast was fit for royalty. Many chefs and servers made the breakfast extra fresh. The hotel room was clean. The bathroom was newly renovated and second to none - large, new fixtures, lights that were on a dimmer switch to enable one to choose from dim to bright. The location, in the centre of the city was very convenient for us, a short walk to the train station. The only negative was that the hotel room itself was small and tired. The bed was in sore need of replacing. The room smelled faintly of cigarette smoke, and the bed linens had cigarette burns in it, even though the room itself was designated non-smoking.

Room Tip: don't choose a business room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula_eyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britannia Hotel M, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear paula_eyler,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel! We are in the process of refurbishing and renovating our hotel to insure its grandeur for many years to come.

We welcome you back during your next visit to Trondheim, and are looking forward to your positive response to our renovation.

Best wishes, Katherine B., Service Manager, Britannia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    218
    106
    41
    16
See reviews for
90
177
45
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

We passed through Trondheim on our tour through Norway, and we are so glad we stayed at this hotel! We booked an economy double, and although our room looked into the industrial aspects of the hotel, the rest of it was great! It had large rooms, outstanding service, and a very grand, yet warm, atmosphere! It is a beautiful building and definitely seems like one of the nicest hotels in town, even though the price was very reasonable! Our favorite part was the complimentary sauna area, which was beautiful and very expansive. We loved trying all the different rooms and really felt like we were being pampered. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoRoamingTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britannia Hotel M, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you for your review! Fantastic to hear you felt pampered, that is our goal with every guest!
We are very pleased you enjoyed the hotel, as well as the Spa, and welcome you back on your next visit to Trondheim!

Katherine B., Service Manager, Britannia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

First, you can’t feel attached to the grandeur of the hotel when arriving outside. It is a huge building with a traditional entrance, large flags outside and perfectly located in the centre of Trondheim like a palace.

However, inside it is very much a different story. The general upkeep of the hotel is highly flawed, with cracks on the walls, stains on the carpets, and paint coming over (even in the lobby!). In addition to this, even their own paper signs around the hotel (for current events) were crumpled. The rooms were also not well maintained, with out of date furniture – they need a refurbishment – and lacking in air conditioning (it was 30oC outside!).

But you come to realise why this is – the staff. I must announce proudly that the hotel’s staff are fantastic. But boy do they work. I would go to bed around 12, and come down for breakfast at 8:30 and the receptionists would still be there! Additionally, the 2-3 receptionists work as event managers (constantly dealing with the events going on), housekeeping (call up housekeeping and a receptionist will come up and help!), and concierge/tourist information. For a hotel of 300 bedrooms, this is not good enough. The hotel seems to be falling apart, physically as well as in its organisation, and the staff don’t seem especially happy (although they try and hide it with professionalism).

Finally, let's discuss the spa. You aren't given the opportunity to change there, so you need to come down from your rooms in your dressing gowns. Maybe I am too British, but I feel uncomfortable walking through a city reception like this! Also, the selection is large but you feel like you are trying them out - far too many. Also, the sauna wasn't hot enough and the whole area just seemed a little bit sad, dark and lonely.

To conclude, if Britannia want to keep its status, they need more staff to run the operations. However, I don’t see this happening as it has obviously been greatly affected by the credit crunch. Sadly, I wouldn’t be surprised if within 10 years, this hotel is downsized and half of it is made into flats. Then maybe then they could increase their profit margins and give their great staff the satisfaction they need!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuceJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britannia Hotel M, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear LuceJack,

We appreciate your review, and your positive words about our staff! We are in the process of refurbishing many rooms in the hotel, as well as several other areas.
When using the Spa, there are elevators on the room floors that take you right down to the Spa without having to walk through the reception area, we are sorry you were not informed of this.
We give customer service and satisfaction number one priority, and thank you kindly for your constructive words.
We welcome you back on your next visit, please contact me directly so I can insure an enjoyable stay.

Katherine B., Service Manager, Britannia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We arrived in Trondheim ex Hurtigruten Coastal Ferry from Bergen. We decided to walk to the Britannia Hotel pulling our suitcases on a really hot day (don't do it) so we were so pleased to easily find our well located, central hotel. We had no energy left to lift the cases up the steps into reception area so used their small valet lift. We had reserved one superior double and one economy single. The rooms were close to each other and very, very comfortable.
Breakfast the next morning was excellent and the hotel staff only too willing to assist with any query we had.
Would definitely return. Really enjoyed our stay.
The Britannia Hotel is an older, well renovated large spread out hotel. If walking was a problem definitely recommend asking for a room near elevator.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen31_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britannia Hotel M, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Britannia Hotel! Guest satisfaction is our number one priority!
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we welcome you back during your next stay in Trondheim!

Katherine B., Service Manager, Britannia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

A ordinary hotel in the city center, I was expecting something else. A good location if you have to spend the evening in Trondheim, 5 min walk from the cathedral. But the room was under average, when the hotel is far under half booked and it is quit, why rent out all the rooms in the backyard? It's not a nice experience to have the view of the roof and the ventilator system. I'm sure the hotel have better rooms for the same rate that was empty this evening. I do not use my energy to ask/complain when this is the policy, I take another hotel the next time instead. The breakfast was very nice, I have to be fair.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britannia Hotel M, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We apologize for your experience with us, if you had informed the Front Desk during your stay that the room was not to your liking, you would have received a different room, and quite possibly an upgrade. Our goal is customer satisfaction, and direct communication is key for us to improve ourselves.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast, if you contact me before you book your next stay, I can insure that you will have a different experience.

We welcome you back during your next stay in Trondheim!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Friendly and helpful staff handled some requests of mine very well. Most hotels these days try to kick you out of the room by 10am or 11am. This hotel retains the old fashioned 12am checkout time. And they give you late checkout if they can which is great. And the breakfast buffet is brilliant in a very stylish (although a bit kitchy) room. Use of the excellent spa was included in the price. The only minus is that our room did not have facilities for making tea or coffee.

Room Tip: It didn't bother me, but there is some night club noise in the southern rooms in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britannia Hotel M, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you for your review of our fantastic hotel. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and were able to receive a late check-out time. Wonderful to hear you appreciated the breakfast buffet as well as the spa!
We do indeed have rooms with facilities for making tea or coffee, please request this type of room when you make your next reservation!
We welcome you back during your next stay in Trondheim!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnö
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

A hotel with special old fashion style. A very beatiful breakfastroom and a lovely breakfastbuffet. The service is excellent. And in the basement you find a supernice Spa. The location is very central.
I really recommmend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on "Dronningens Gate"-side could be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britannia Hotel M, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you appreciated the breakfast, our service, and the spa.
We welcome you back during your next stay in Trondheim!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.4 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#2 of 25 in Trondheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Solsiden
Scandic Solsiden
#9 of 25 in Trondheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel

Property: Britannia Hotel
Address: Dronningens gate 5, Trondheim 7011, Norway
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Trondheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Trondheim
#6 Family Hotel in Trondheim
#11 Business Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Britannia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia closed its doors in June 2016 for a full refurbishment of the entire hotel. The prestigious Britannia Hotel will re-open at the turn of the year 2018/2019. The prestigious Britannia Hotel is centrally located and offers great accommodation when in Trondheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Britannia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Trondheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing