We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Britannia Hotel
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Avoid”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2008

You CAN have a nice stay at Britannia Hotel, but you may also have an irritating and terrible experience. Normally the staff is very polite and helpful, and the rooms in the new part of the hotel is really nice.

The problem is that you can never be quite sure about what you're getting. I have stayed at Britannia for several occasions in the latest twenty years, and have seen a huge variety in the quality of the services from the hotel. My last stay was just a few days ago (stayed for five nights):

* Very noisy due to construction activities in a nearby building. Off course, not the responsibility of the hotel. However, since there are no AC in the hotel, you need to get air from somewhere. Opening the windows is the only way, resulting in heavy noise from 0630 in the morning till 1900 in the evening. And for the rest of the evening (and night) you have to listen to the music, shoutings and laughter from the pub "Frakken" in front of the hotel.

* Terrible cleaning, especially in the bathroom. Opening the door to the bathroom, I was welcomed with a disgusting scent of urinae.

* Internet access not working. Although the hotel promotes "free internet access in all rooms", it did not work very well in my room. On and off all the time; maximum connection was five minutes. I have spoken to other guests who experienced the same problem; 8 of 10 persons I spoke with. On two occasions I contacted the reception and told them about the problem. First they denied that anything was wrong, then they told me they would check this up. I never heard something.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Explorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hwolander, Hotel Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2008
Beeing a city hotel we are aware of noice problems. To minimize noise from traffic and nearby night club we have recently renovated the facade towards Dronningens gate and installed new windows with sound proofing. Unfortunatly most of our rooms do not have air condition, which we recognise can be a problem on the few days of the year with high temperature in Trondheim.

The cleaning of this room in particular was, as documentet, below our standards. This is not acceptable, and we will go through our cleaning procedures to ensure that this will not happen again. Some of our bathrooms, including this one, are also scheduled for renovation. Immidiate action to rectify the errors in this room has been taken.

We are unfortunatly aware of certain issues with instability in our wireless network. Our service providor is working on improving both accessibility and stability in the network.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    218
    106
    41
    16
See reviews for
90
177
45
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2008

This is one of Trondheims most beautiful hotels. Its charm and hospitality is amazing. I also recommend the basement where there is located a great restaurant. Great food, but the prices are a bit high! Order the beef on the rock! :)

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank adventure_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2008

The room wee stayed in was an old smokers-room on the top-floor, so it smelled a little of old smoke.
But the bathroom was big and the shower was pretty nice.
The bed was also wery nice.

The elevator was old, and almost scary to take.

The best thing was the breakfast. Fantastic place with a lot of stuff to choose!

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank akkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2007

I stayed here for 2 nights. During the month of October a student music festival was going on and it was difficult to find a hotel room. I ended up in the smoking section of the hotel and boy could you smell it. If I take that smoke away I really liked my stay. Rooms were comfortable, location is excellent, service is top notch and the city is fun. I wouldn't recommend a car in town because it is an enjoyable walking city and I cannot imagine parking is easily found or cheap.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TXTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sola Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2007

Arrived late for one night stay at Britannia Hotel. The hotel has ambience, but is this alone sufficent to justify indecent room rates?

My brief stay experience:

a) Checked in at 10:15 pm after some hours travel, and after settling in I wanted to combine a light supper with work - inside my hotel room - before going to bed. Called room service, but - sorry - no room service after 10 pm! And silly me who have believed one key purpose of room service was access to food after restaurants' closing hours.

b) Dull in-room lightening, pretty dark when not close to a lamp and in a direct light ray. The only light sources were low wattage bulbs in a handful floor lamps and table lamps.

c) Big puddle covering bath room floor after shower.

d) Piece of toilet paper spotted behind bedside table when searching for handily available electric socket outlet (there was no easy access above-desk socket, as is now becoming de facto standard).

e) No writing / jotting facilities, e.g. no writing paper/notepad or pen/pencil to be found in the room. Yes, searched all drawers and shelves.

f) No in-room coffee or tea making facilities!

I.e. some very basic features were NOT present - and this in a self proclaimed luxury and high priced hotel.


The hotel's dining and wining facilities (e.g. Palmehaven) were not used, and I would assume these still to be outstanding, just as they were 30 years ago when I studied in town. But for accommodation - I will definitely go elsewhere for far better value for money. On this aspect Britannia must be overrated.

  • Liked — Smiley reception staff
  • Disliked — Lack of after hours room service and unlit room
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank q-lay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2007

Stayed there one night the last day of august because of business. I really liked the old style, and that the hotel is an independent one, and not a chain- hotel.
I particularly loved the old hotel restaurant/diningarea "Palmehagen" (the palm garden) very exotic and untypically norwegian. The floor was crooked, very charming indeed!!
I got a very spacious nice room, (named after a famous norwegin painter Odd Nerdrum who surely has slept there once). It was nice and clean, but that goes without saying in a Norwegian hotel at that standard. I really would have been surprised and cross if it wasn't. But I also heard that other collegues got tiny, worn out rooms, so I guess I was lucky.
The breakfast didn't impress, it was average (but that is what I need) Location is good, and Trondheim is a beautiful and great city.

  • Liked — The palm garden
  • Disliked — Meetinroom location
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank xiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundsvall, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2007

We were two families travelling together and we got two nice, clean rooms next to each other. The children immediately found two work stations with free internet access near the reception. We also had internet access from the TV in our rooms.
In the evening the children joined a "kids club" and we had a hard time getting them out of there for dinner. They had access to movies, an unlimited amount of popcorn, paper and pens, trampoliner and excellent service.
Dinner at Egon, just round the corner, was another hit for the children. They loved it! Childrens menu available and they were free to play, watch TV etc. at special "children corners" in the restaurang. Nice for their parents as well, who could enjoy a dinner in peace and quiet.
The breakfast also had something for everyone's taste, including a kids buffé.
Fantastic choice of hotel for a family!

  • Liked — Children friendliness
  • Disliked — Distance to parking
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TripAAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.4 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#2 of 25 in Trondheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Solsiden
Scandic Solsiden
#9 of 25 in Trondheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel

Property: Britannia Hotel
Address: Dronningens gate 5, Trondheim 7011, Norway
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Trondheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Trondheim
#6 Family Hotel in Trondheim
#11 Business Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Britannia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia closed its doors in June 2016 for a full refurbishment of the entire hotel. The prestigious Britannia Hotel will re-open at the turn of the year 2018/2019. The prestigious Britannia Hotel is centrally located and offers great accommodation when in Trondheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Britannia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Trondheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing