We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time for upgrade??”
Review of Britannia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Britannia Hotel
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Time for upgrade??”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in fact great, but with things pulling down, mostly due to lack of service or facilities.
Starting with the good:
The breakfast served in Palmehaven is one of the best I had this year.
The food and service at the restaurant Jonathan is also good.
Then the bad things:
The sleeping comfort in the rooms are poor. A good night sleep is expected when staying at hotels with this standard. I was in Trondheim for a training course, and several of the other participants also complained on lack of sleep.
One day when we came back, was many of the rooms only partly cleaned. The towels was still where they was left in the morning (on the floor), the bed was partly done, still garbage in the bin and the curtain was still closed. If it had been one room it would have been Ok, but with several next to each other??

The bathroom in the room I stayed in must have been from another century. With bathtube and poor shower facilities, a hand held shower head and some kind of mallfunctioning massage showerhead on the wall. In fact did it almost scream "I need renovation".

I don't think my next stay in Trondheim will be at this hotel, unless I'm forced by my employer.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank toojens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    219
    106
    41
    16
See reviews for
90
177
45
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Old hotel located in several joining buildings. Quite difficult to find again if you venture out for a walk. We were there for a large party, and it was all right, but very conventional. And they insisted that the whole party cleared the venue for 45 minutes while they rearranged the furniture after the meal, which is most annoying.
The room was nice, but difficult to find through the maze of corridors, stairs and various connected buildings.
Pricey.

Room Tip: Important to inform them if you are disabled in any way, there are lots of stairs and long distances...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingebjorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otta, Norway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My reason number one to return to this excellent hotel is the free use of the excellent spa department! It is a great treat to the body! And it is special to have a room in the Artist's Street, with labels of famous Norwegian painters. And as a wine drinker as I am, I also enjoy my daily glasses of the hotel's own Artist's Wine! I have an ambivalent relation to food, not wanting to gain weight, but have to say that the breakfast is delicious. Salmon with beet was my favourite this time, but also the freshly made omelette as well as the blue cheese tempted me! Good for my weight that I don't have economy to stay there too many days at the time...

Room Tip: I like a room in the street of Norwegian painters, simple but nice rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanja N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

It is an impressive hotel, all classy and huge in the down town area. Very good spot, great breakfast (really amazing variety and quantities in an enormous room with fountains and marble columns-impressing really) but in any case you can tell that this hotel is old. Thumbs up for the heavy dark curtains (you will appreciate that if you travel in summer time)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelover A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed for a night with in a family room. Broken sofa, wall deco torn apart, dark hair (from others) on the white bathroom tiles, poor cleaning. No air conditioning at all, impossible to sleep with screaming seagulls outside the window all through the night. Seriously a big let-down, and certain parts of the hotel is in desperate need of serious renovation. Slow check-in, only one person at the front desk. Main restaurant closed for the summer, without notifying us when booking.
On top of that they charge over 1400 NOK for one night. Without air conditioning at all. This is 2014. Britannia used to be on of the better hotels in Trondheim. Now it is simply poor and worn-down.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the seagulls. And require a room with air conditioning if they event...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EL_Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
159 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located in the center of Trondheim, and is a nice place to live if you are to explore the city. The hotel is old and classy, and offers a great breakfast in a nice environment. Nice staff. Check in was swift - we were having three rooms altogether and our requests in beforehand were well taken care of. The rooms were well-sized and had good facilities. Good sleeping quality. Parking is offered in a parking house close by - not too expensive. The only minus must be the elevators, which are very small. And if you are staying on the very top floor, you will have to walk one set of stairs to get there. However, the rooms up there had a good view - even the ones facing the back yard. We were guests in a wedding there, and it was very professionally handled by the hotel. Very good food, and good capability to serve a lot of guests at the same time. To be recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ragnhild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed three nights in a standard room (two actually because I changed to a higher floor) and I loved it. You can always find minor issues but they were just that - minor. Amazing breakfast!
I would love to return to the Britannia but not sure about Trondheim (sorry but not an awful lot to do).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bs02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
0.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.4 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 25 in Trondheim
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
839 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Park
Comfort Hotel Park
#7 of 25 in Trondheim
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel

Property: Britannia Hotel
Address: Dronningens gate 5, Trondheim 7011, Norway
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Trondheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Trondheim
#6 Family Hotel in Trondheim
#11 Business Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Britannia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia closed its doors in June 2016 for a full refurbishment of the entire hotel. The prestigious Britannia Hotel will re-open in February 2019. The prestigious Britannia Hotel is centrally located and offers great accommodation when in Trondheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Trondheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing