We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, and venerable”
Review of Britannia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Britannia Hotel
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Charming, and venerable”
Reviewed 4 September 2007

Stayed there one night the last day of august because of business. I really liked the old style, and that the hotel is an independent one, and not a chain- hotel.
I particularly loved the old hotel restaurant/diningarea "Palmehagen" (the palm garden) very exotic and untypically norwegian. The floor was crooked, very charming indeed!!
I got a very spacious nice room, (named after a famous norwegin painter Odd Nerdrum who surely has slept there once). It was nice and clean, but that goes without saying in a Norwegian hotel at that standard. I really would have been surprised and cross if it wasn't. But I also heard that other collegues got tiny, worn out rooms, so I guess I was lucky.
The breakfast didn't impress, it was average (but that is what I need) Location is good, and Trondheim is a beautiful and great city.

  • Liked — The palm garden
  • Disliked — Meetinroom location
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank xiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    218
    106
    41
    16
See reviews for
90
177
45
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sundsvall, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2007

We were two families travelling together and we got two nice, clean rooms next to each other. The children immediately found two work stations with free internet access near the reception. We also had internet access from the TV in our rooms.
In the evening the children joined a "kids club" and we had a hard time getting them out of there for dinner. They had access to movies, an unlimited amount of popcorn, paper and pens, trampoliner and excellent service.
Dinner at Egon, just round the corner, was another hit for the children. They loved it! Childrens menu available and they were free to play, watch TV etc. at special "children corners" in the restaurang. Nice for their parents as well, who could enjoy a dinner in peace and quiet.
The breakfast also had something for everyone's taste, including a kids buffé.
Fantastic choice of hotel for a family!

  • Liked — Children friendliness
  • Disliked — Distance to parking
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TripAAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
199 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2007

On checking in at 1030 in the morning having left the "Hurtigruten" the hotel had no sign of our reservation and we were told that the hotel was full. However a quick phone call sorted it out and we were soon given a room.

I agree with a previous poster about the long trek along a maze of corridors but when we got to our room the trip was definitely worth it. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean and the bathroom was even larger and better than the one at the Thon Opera in Oslo.

Breakfast was superb with the biggest choice of any of the Norwegian hotels that we stayed at.

Trondheim is not a large city and the hotel's location was very convenient for both the railway station, Hurtigruten terminal and city centre.

  • Liked — Everything especially the breakfast
  • Disliked — Long trek along the corridors
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WaltR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
107 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2006

The Britannia is an old hotel, and while it is fully refurbished - on the day we were there, they were putting in flat-screen televisions - it has its quirks. Walking from the elevator to our rooms, for example, seemed like an endless trek through a curious maze of hallways. The room itself, however, was spotless and new, with an extensive collection of free toiletries available in the very clean bathroom.

I also found the service at the Britannia excellent. Whenever I asked for something - an extra Coke for the mini-bar, a quick removal of room service trays I was finished with, help using the remote for the new flat-screen television - the staff took care of, immediately and with a smile. Room service came with a complimentary teddy bear for my two-year old. My room was also fully childproofed.

Breakfast was included in the price of the room, and very good - lots of wonderful Norwegian salmon. But avoid the room service hamburgers. They are shaped like a hockey puck and tasted like I imagine a hockey puck might taste.

All in all, however, this hotel was a positive experience.

  • Liked — Excellent location, good service
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KayDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2005

Room was very good, and the service was polite. The only slight downer was that it's a large hotel that feels like a large hotel. Yes, the staff speak very good English and can answer questions, but somehow it doesn't quite possess the charm that a smaller hotel might. Buffet supper and breakfast were both very good, so I'm probably being a little overly negative - there are certainly far worse places to stay in Trondheim for similiar money

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pmbma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 October 2004

We had an opportunity to spend five nights at the Britannia 9/29/04 to 10/04/04. The room we were given #460, was large by Europen standard, extremely clean, wonderful bright bathroom (heated floor), extremely comfortable bed. Front desk staff was helpful and all spoke English. The breakfast (included with the room) was the average Scandinavian hotel fare. The location of the hotel is great if you wish to explore Trondheim (our favorite Norweigian city) by foot. Close to the train station if you are exploring Norway by train, be sure to plan a day trip to Roros.
Only negative was the bus service from the airport, it drops you off "near" the hotels but not at the hotels.

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
0.4 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 25 in Trondheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Solsiden
Scandic Solsiden
#8 of 25 in Trondheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel

Property: Britannia Hotel
Address: Dronningens gate 5, Trondheim 7011, Norway
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Trondheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Trondheim
#6 Family Hotel in Trondheim
#11 Business Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Britannia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia closed its doors in June 2016 for a full refurbishment of the entire hotel. The prestigious Britannia Hotel will re-open in February 2019. The prestigious Britannia Hotel is centrally located and offers great accommodation when in Trondheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Trondheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing