We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old fashioned, and not too clean...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Chesterfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Chesterfield Hotel
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Old fashioned, and not too clean...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

And in addition, no aircon and + 30 C in Trondheim! It means little sleep, and the worst thing is that nobody cleaned the room, nobody changed linen and towels for three nights. All that sweat!!! I've experienced worse hotels, but not in Trondheim.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Art2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    58
    69
    32
    7
See reviews for
19
57
30
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
odense, Denmark
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

ok hotel , good location, right in the center of town. just bad lighting in the room, bring a torch if you stay there. good breakfast and helpful staff. aircondition in the rooms that was good , was very warm in trondheim

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morten H, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for the review of your stay at our hotel.

Our guests opinion is very important to us and we value your feedback highly.

I am not sure of the reason behind the bad lighting in the room, but if there was a
light bulb that was broken, it is something our reception staff can help out with most of
the time.

We hope we can welcome you back again (hopefully without a torch), and give you an even better experience of our hotel.

Best regards,
Morten Hegle
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Close to the railway station and within an easy walk to all the city's main attractions. The airport bus stops outside the hotel too. The staff were really helpful, the breakfast was excellent and the rooms and internet were very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank aries22march
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morten H, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for the kind review of stay at out hotel!

We really appreciate the detailed feedback on several of out services and amenities,
which will help us improve in the future.

Hopefully we will welcome you back again some other time!

Best regards,
Morten Hegle
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed in the BW based on the positive Tripadvisor reviews. However, the BW seems not very well maintained. We stayed in a family room (4 in the family) on the second floor and rearranged the beds a bit to get more space. This was a bad idea as it seems the floor was not cleaned for the last years - from socks to tissues, major dust and Q-tips, all was present. And this on a hardwood floor where the beds were easily movable and enough clearing to put a suitcase underneath the beds.
The window was no window. It was a small opening towards a shaft/exhaust which did not offer any fresh air and seems to be used as dumpster for cigarette butts/trash. The was also no air conditioning (at least none that was obvious or operational). The breakfast was not very good. The breakfast room had a strange smell, was also dirty and not cleaned during breakfast.

Room Tip: do not take room 202
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StefanS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Trondheim hotels

Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Very good, for travellers to Trondheim by train. Arrived myself in the evening by train from Sundsvall in Sweden. A very good prize for an economy room. It was quiet, even though the room was placed on the ground level, with only some noise from the fan. The room was clean and comfortable.
The breakfast included one specially nice bread.
From the hotel, one has a five minutes walk to the Railway station and around 15-20 minutes to the harbour wtih Hurtiguten. One passes the Railway station on the walk towards the harbour

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erla841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morten H, Resepsjonssjef at BEST WESTERN Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Erla841,

Thank you for your kind review of your stay at our hotel!

We do believe our location close to the railway station is a big plus for our guests, and an advantage we have compared to other hotels.

We hope you will visit us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinaloa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

The room where we stayed was very bright, so the nights are shorts (4 hours) and are worsen under this conditions of light, and please BEST WESTERN place dark courtains to block the sunlight in those rooms!!

Room Tip: Rent the rooms that face Soendregt street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Familia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morten H, Manager at BEST WESTERN Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay and write us a review!

We are happy that you liked our location, which is convenient for exploring the city of Trondheim.

During summertime in Norway the sun is gone for only a couple of hours, so it can be challenging for a lot of people to get enough sleep because of the light, you are not alone!

We will look into possible solutions for this problem, and hope you will come back to visit us again sometime.

Have a nice summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Only 2 minutes walk from the main bus and train stations and 1 hour bus ride from airport. Airport Bus stop outside hotel. There is no lunch or dinner available but the breakfast is excellent. There are plenty of eating places nearby. The location enables you to walk everywhere easily. The staff could not before helpful. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lottiehelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
towcht, Manager at BEST WESTERN Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Lottiehelen.

Thank you very much for such a nice and warming review of our hotel!

We are happy to see that you enjoyed the breakfast we serve, and we always welcome
tips on how to make it even better.

As you mention, our location is perfect if you want to see everything Trondheim has to offer, as
we are located within walking distance to the main attractions, restaurants and shops.

We thank you again for the review and hope to welcome you back on another occasion!

Best regards,

Morten
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.2 mi away
P-Hotels Brattora
P-Hotels Brattora
#19 of 25 in Trondheim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Living Scholler Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#2 of 25 in Trondheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Chesterfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Chesterfield Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Chesterfield Hotel
Address: Soendre gate 26, Trondheim 7010, Norway
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Chesterfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Chesterfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Trondheim
Trondheim Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing